We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slow food in the karoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon's Restaurant

Gordon's Restaurant
100 Cradock Street | Andries Stockenstrom Guest House, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
+2749 8924575
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rijswijk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“slow food in the karoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Slow may have a negative connotation but I mean it in a very positive way. Gordon takes time to cook and explain his cooking to all his guests. Your wine can then be chosen. The menu is fixed and consists of two choices for every entry (three to four) - on the menu. Expect two hours to dine and enjoy yourself. It is not cheap but I think one of the best places to eat in Graaff Reinet. Service relaxed and adequate.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    9
    5
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What to say?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Graaff Reinet has not got good eating places. If I say then that this is the best there is, it doesn't say much.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Karoo restaurant with a difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Gordon's was an interesting and pleasurable experience. It is certainly different to most other restaurants in the Karoo - with an emphasis on quality rather than quantity. We had an excellent three course meal and spent some time talking with Gordon, who was not in the kitchen that night, but he dropped by to cast an eye over things. It was slightly disconcerting to find we were the only people eating there that evening - but I can only say that it was the absentees who lost out. It may be that Gordon's is struggling to win over against a pervasive culture and expectation of massive, meaty portions - but he satisfied our hearty appetites without overloading the plate/presentation and this is an establishment that deserves to succeed.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not as good as it thinks it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

If we had one complaint about food all over SA it was that the portions were huge, this is certainly not true at Gordon’s. Advertised as a 4 course set menu, the main course was decidedly small and nothing special. The other courses were good enough, but I wouldn’t count an amuse bouche as a 4th course (other equivalent restaurants across the country serve this as a matter of course). Service was good, but we were the only people in the restaurant so there was a lack of atmosphere. It’s not that Gordon’s was bad, it just wasn’t the standard I’d expected and actually counted as one of the poorest meals we ate on our trip (which to be fair is partly because other food was so good!)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Decidely average and what exactly was the 4th course?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The 3 of us were the only ones in the restaurant that evening and as a result service was ridiculously quick - all done and dusted in 90 mins - not exactly what we had expected.

The food was decent, but nothing special (except for the pancake dessert which actually was sublime), portions were very small and as a result very pricey for what we had. The waiting service was by the chef (not Gordon, who was no where to be seen) and was pleasant.

We never had a choice from a wine list, simply a choice of bottle of red or white and in fairness it was good and at 150 rand similar to what we'd paid elsewhere.

As we left, the discussion was not about how good the food had been and what a nice eveningit had been, but all about what was considered the 4th course we had been promised by Gordon when we'd booked earlier that day - was it the 'Amuse bouche' or the glass of sherry? Either way we felt short changed for our '4 courses and it wouldn't be somewhere I'd recommend to others.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leftywright, Owner at Gordon's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for your feedback
I am truly sorry to hear about your bad experience at our establishment.
As we are open 7 days a week, 365 days a year, it's is not possible for me to be on the premises at all times and to hear that the service was not up to our expected standard whilst I was not there, is deeply distressing.

We take all negative critique very seriously and I have addressed this tardiness with my staff in the severest possible manner. If you deem it fit to give us another opportunity to make good, next time you are in our lovely town, I would be truly gratefull for the opportunity. Please contact me personally if you would like to do so.

Regards,

Gordon Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon's Restaurant also viewed

Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Gordon's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.