We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money- run like a governmenthotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruhengeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Save
You added Mountain Gorilla View Lodge to your Saves list
Volcanoes National Park | Kinigi, Ruhengeri, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Poor value for money- run like a governmenthotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First: the gorilla-region is very expensive. too expensive! This hotel has the same problems: if you pay 250$ for a room/night one can expect something.... The entrance is very dark, there is no light, old furniture, the hotel looks 25 years old from the inside.
the staff runs the place like a governmenthotel. if you enter the garden, this is reaaly nice: big views on the vulcanoes and garden. The biggest part of the rooms are quite far away (if it is raining). The rooms are big, there's a fireplace and again old-fashioned furniture. Outside you can sit (2 chairs, but again very dark and unatractive); The bathroom is very big, soo big but there is nothing in !! Not even a chair or a table. We wanted to wash the hair and there was almost no water, just a small stream of water. In the mornig there was no electricity (generator only works copule of hours a day) and the bathroom has a very small window, so everything was dark (again!). Also the sanitary cleanness.... (see picture of the bath) Not a very attractive place (again: for the price of 250$ !! );
Food was buffet , ok but nothing more. Really nice were the small fireplates around the tables, cosy.
In the bar: if you ask a gin tonc: you get only the gin, no ice, no lemon. After asking, we get. Only one cold beer, the rest was out of the fridge and warm!
No wifi, only 1 old (!) computer in the bar, and, with the generator off...no computer....
So this was really not a nice, cosy place to stay . Also; when booking: they automatically put full board, we wanted to change it (on arrival) and they did it but...not amused.... No, not for us agian!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    135
    59
    18
    8
See reviews for
32
147
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stay for two nights here in the lodge and the organisation is very good. Everyone knows excact what to do and they are also very friendly. Rooms are great and special the fireplace in the evening we like. The food is a buffet and it is good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This property was a huge disappointment. It is set in the mountains surrounded by beautiful landscapes. TLC is long overdue. The food... Not great. The staff... A pleasant surprise. They are amazing! So friendly. Always smiling. Our fire was started every night by a charming man. He arrived at our door with a shovel loaded with hot charcoals and an armload of wood. Poof... We have fire. It does not keep the room warm, but removes the dampness. The icing on the cake... The trek in to see the Gorillas!!

Room Tip: A room with a view that faces the Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Number 1, being in Rwanda is cool, as a spot and the weather. 2, seeing a lovely city so clean, as Kigali is, enroute to the gorilla trek, is incredible. 3, the Genocide Museum was inspirational. 4....the Mountain Gorilla View Lodge was nearly located in the mountain tops. I loved the music from the village tribe. Yes, we were able to get a fire started, and one need a boy scout around to do it. Chilly area...take some warm clothes. And, throughout these stays, make sure you have a kazillion $1 bills for tipping. I took $50 worth and wish I had taken $200. $1 tip is certainly appreciated. I will say one thing...the trek for us for vertical and exhausting...and we two 65 year olds were placed in the trek with 6 20 somethings who I think did extreme sports. I swear they did for they didn't even draw a deep breath. We huffed and puffed but our hearts kept pounding. We were grateful to walk downhill at the close. And really enjoyed those gorillas. Then we were off to Uganda to repeat it. I think one gorilla trek is just fine.

Room Tip: I don't know...ours was the last room, closest to the gorillas. I don't know if 36 is there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at mountain view lodge in order to be near the Volcan National Parc for a couple of days trekking to see the gorillas in September. The lodge is relatively basic but charming. Comfy bed, wood fire in the room, hot showers available for around half of the day when the generators are on. The food is decent and the bar has beer. If we returned to Ruhengeri we would happily stay at Mountain View again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here three nights to see mountain gorillas, golden monkeys and to climb Mount Bisoke. At first glance the lodge was impressive. We had room 3 which was really a really big room with an equally huge bathroom and a great volcano view. At second glance you can see that the rooms are a bit sedated, especially the bathroom, where the toilet was running and the sink did not work properly (which is not funny when you try to wash cloth. They did offer to dry some of our close for free and without us about it so no complaint about the service level). Dont expect privacy because the staff will pop in several times during the evening to make fire, to maintain fire, to give you a heater for the bed etc. And you will need all help provided to keep you warm (including a warm fleece and long underwear). The lack of power supply and hot water during predetermined hours is a bit annoying but maybe it is us europeans being a little to used to comfort not really needed. And the service is great. The first night the outdoor light was out just outside our room. We did not bother reporting it but next day it was fixed. And in the restaurant they are very busy bringing you heaters etc. So you feel warm and cosy during dinner. All in all I think the view is 4 star while the lodge is probably closer to 3 stars. And I forgot my purse which had slipped into a chair or something. They immediatly called us and send it with our travel agency to Kigali so I had it the same day. I was really grateful for that since we were moving on to Tanzania the following day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We only stayed here one night which was a shame as we had an early start and long drive to the first gorilla trek. The hotel is located near the meeting point for the gorilla trekking and has beautiful views of the volcanoes. The staff are very welcoming and attentive, especially the men who come to tend to your fire as it keeps going out and bring you lovely hot water bottles for the cold nights. The room was huge with an enormous bed and immense bathroom. The electricity goes off during the night when it is pitch black,- a torch in the room would have been useful. The food was good,- buffet lunch and dinner, but a wide selection considering the remote location. The hotel seemed quite empty when we were there ,- the number of people seeing the gorillas is restricted and there seem to be quite a few hotels to choose from. The reception staff were helpful,- we left a camera case by mistake and drove half an hour away before realising, but after a phone call it was retrieved, looked after and brought out to us. This hotel is set-up for catering for the needs of the gorilla trekkers and is a good base.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Gorilla View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Address: Volcanoes National Park | Kinigi, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Northern Province > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ruhengeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge stands amidst real wilderness with panoramic views of Rwanda’s volcano mountains and located just 1km away from the Volcano National Park, making it the desired location for Gorilla Trekking enthusiastic guests. Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is surrounded by an exciting and rich biodiversity of shrubs, trees and various bird species among them the Grey Crowned Cranes or Balearica regulorum. The Hotel has an eco-tourist approach whereas Natural Conservation is a priority and the local community is empowered. The Intore (local Cultural dancers) will spice your stay and your days at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge will always be memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Gorilla View Hotel Ruhengeri
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.