We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muhabura

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruhengeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Muhabura
Save
You added Hotel Muhabura to your Saves list
Avenue Du 5 Juillet, Ruhengeri, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruhengeri
IRELAND
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel was absolutely fantastic. The staff were so helpful and the bedrooms were clean and tidy and there was lots of hot water. The breakfasts were great, a selection of fruit, eggs, toast, tea/coffee and pack lunches were available. From the hotel you could see the 5 volcanoes. There was a beautiful quiet garden to sit in and there were a wide variety of flowers, just beautiful. The meals were large and the food I ordered was beautiful, if you are a follower of the work of Dian Fossey stay in no 12, her room when she came down from the mountains. You need to admire the great work she did to appreciate so those people who know what I am talking about will understand the great privilege in staying there. For anyone who writes that this is not a good hotel obviously lack any kind of cultural knowledge and have gone to the wrong country. It was perfect and I would very highly recommend it

Room Tip: Dian Fossey room if you admire her work
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
25
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I really liked this hotel. It is in a good location with a lots of tourists hanging out on the restaurant patio. You can walk to the market (it is a little far) and there is a good restaurant across the street called Volcano Lounge for pizza. The food at Muhabura is adequate. The chicken was not good, but their pasta dishes are fine and I had really good vegetable soup. If you can find Alberto's restaurant downtown for Italian food you should definitely go.

The rooms at Muhabura are very spacious and clean, but not fancy. The "door" to the bathroom is actually a curtain so may not provide the level of privacy most people are used to. The shower is a hand-held shower head attached to the faucet of the bathtub, so washing hair is a little bit difficult. The tub was huge if you want a bath. The bed was okay with a mosquito net, but really creaked every time you moved. There is no fan, but it cools down at night so is not necessary. The best thing about the hotel was it was very quiet and the rooms surround a really pretty garden filled with birds. Even though the hotel is a little "worn" it felt comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The accommodation was simple, but very roomy. The rooms are set around a central grass area with the restaurant at the front of the property facing the road. The staff were very helpful in booking transport for the gorilla trekking. Overall, if you are not expecting luxury, but would like a bit of local character this is a good place to stay when visiting the National Park.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We did not stay at this hotel but only ate at the restaurant. We stopped at this restaurant for lunch and would not recommend it. My husband and our Rwanda driver had the chicken and peanut sauce, and they both described the chicken as inedible. My aunt ordered champignons on toast - the mushrooms were plain and not seasoned in any way and the toast was dry. My uncle ordered the Russian Salad, which he described as tasteless. I ordered the vegetarian pasta, which was adequate. We felt that the restaurant was relying on its Dian Fossey reputation to get customers and not on its quality of food. The service was fine - no complaints. If you are looking for a place to eat, we do not recommend this restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We used the hotel for training and accommodation. The hotel is much better than it looks on the web. It has a charming atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and caring. I stayed at a basic room but clean and with good hot water shower. It is a reasonable and good place to stay at a rural town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Nice, but basic lodging. Good location for being picked up to go on gorilla trecking. Meals rather boring with noting really special. Plus for wifi and a rather nice garden for sitting with an evening beer and summaries your wildlife sightings during the day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for a night with a larger group of family and friends. My wife and I paid a slight premium for "Room 12" (Dian Fossey's old room), which while it was a bit outdated (by design - they keep it as much the way it was when she stayed there), was a lot of fun.

The best part about staying here is the restaurant, particularly the verandah out front where you can enjoy great "people watching" as you eat your meal, since the main boulevard in Musanze runs right out front. (There is a quieter inside dining room if this is not your thing.) The folks that stayed in the more modern buildings farther out back had no complaints -- good water pressure and clean rooms.

Good wireless internet connectivity too.

We'd stay here again, for sure. Fits nicely between the pure budget places (like Fatima) and the higher-end, more expensive places in town (like Hotel Gorillas across the street). And also has that nice "nostaligic" vibe that comes along with being the oldest hotel in town.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed VERY quiet at night, and everyone slept well. Choose Room 12 (slight premiu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Muhabura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muhabura

Address: Avenue Du 5 Juillet, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Northern Province > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruhengeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 127
Also Known As:
Hotel Muhabura Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muhabura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.