We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a little outdating interieur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Kivu Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 7469, Gisenyi 00100, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gisenyi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good hotel with a little outdating interieur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stay here for only one night but the receptionpeople are very friendly and also the people in the restaurant are friendly.
The room and bed are good with a old sign of interior.
But everything is working very well. The restaurant is serving good food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
17
49
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We previously stayed atSerena Kigali which was beautiful and great...so we had some idea of the standard of Serena.

Im very sorry to say that the hotel did not live up to its name.
We onlystayed there one night while travelling.

The grounds outside are absolutely beautiful...private beach, gardens,and the room had a really nice little balcony overlooking the gardens where you can see lotsof birds and the water.

Unfortunately, there were big problems with the room and the food. First, we each ordered a pasta dish...which tasted good, but there was a big roach in the food! :( We mentioned it to the waiter and they offered us a new meal but of course we lost our appetite. They seemed genuinely apologetic and said its not something that happend...ok if that was te only issue we could have gotten over it. But....

Our room had roaches!! UGH..babies, adults, walking around the carpet, underneath the things in the bathroom....really gross. Again the general manager said he willlook into it and apoloized. HE offered us a meal ina different serena,etc.We didnt want/need anything...we jus wanted them to know the conditions. Room did not feel clean at all. We were very disappointed. We rarely have complaints about places we stay but this was just not good :(

They did serve me a birthday cake at breakfast which was nice and delicious

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great location, on the lake with a beautiful private beach, with lovely white beach sand and sun lounges to enjoy the afternoon sunset from. We had a huge storm over the lake the one night, so it was amazing to watch the lightning strikes over the water, very magical.

The hotel is very comfortable, nicely laid out, with all rooms having a lake view (just check). We stayed on the first floor and had a small balcony from where you could sit and enjoy the beautiful views. The rooms are nice, but are just starting to age a little, but a nice size which is great. Bed not the most comfortable. We spent 3 nights here. The food in the restaurant (in the evening - we never had breakfast) was very good and most enjoyable. However do get there early if you want to eat quickly, especially if you have an early start in the morning, as it can take a while.

Staff where all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Double check that it has a lake view, nice to be on the 1st or second floor.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small and the food was cold, overpriced and not acceptable for a hotel of this standard. The receptionist was rude and dismissive when we complained that we had been forced to eat in the bar and suffer the very poor buffet. For the price this is appalling. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Excellent hotel - service is quick and efficient, the rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The room I was in had a balcony that overlooked the garden and the lake. The private beach is clean and quiet, with lounge chairs and service from the restaurant. At night, they have traditional dancers put on a show by the pool, absolutely incredible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice place very nice to see such a good hotel at this border town,service was excellent food was average,room was also ok but i think best in this area. I recommend travelers to stay here while visiting Goma or lake kivu

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night only. Rooms are nice; pool is great; breakfast is above average - although it lacked selection for a low-fat diet; and the beach front area is a really nice place to sit back and chill. I was particularly looking forward to a hot shower - so I was disappointed that showers in the room were only luke-warm. Apart from that, staff were extremely friendly and extremely helpful and I think the staff made my staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Kivu Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 7469, Gisenyi 00100, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Gisenyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gisenyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Kivu Serena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel is located in the resort Rwandan town of Gisenyi, on the shores of Lake Kivu, the sixth largest lake in Africa. The hotel is ideally situated on a sandy palm lined beach, with the nearby Virunga Volcanoes providing a spectacular backdrop on one side and a panoramic view of the lake on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Lake Kivu Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Kivu Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.