We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy kasbah but in the middle of nowhere.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Tizimi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kasbah Tizimi to your Saves list
Kasbah Tizimi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 94 Route De Jorf, Erfoud 52200, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Erfoud
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Cozy kasbah but in the middle of nowhere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed in room 223 as part of a large tour group. This room is located in the suites block, and our tour guide said Kate Winslet slept in this block when she filmed Hideous Kinky (you can see a framed photo of her with the owner and her comments in the hotel guest book in the lobby).

The L-shape room was huge. We had a queen bed in one area, a sitting area with TV and fridge and 2 single canopied beds in another. There were 2 ACs and no in-room safe. Because of the size of the ceilings and the tiny lamps, the room was not well-lit. The floor is tile with a few Berber-design rugs.

The bathroom is huge! The sink does not drain too well and has limited counter space. The shower, thankfully, drains good and had good water pressure. However, it's annoying that it's a hand-held showerhead. The hairdryer was quite weak.

It's a nice place to get lost in for a short period but don't come here looking for active nightlife or things to do at night. It's located about a mile outside of Erfoud or close to anything interesting.

Beware the mosquitoes that hang out by the pool area.

Breakfast consisted of stale croissants and breads with very bad coffee.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    54
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
11
40
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Hotel was easy to find by car as described by the descriptions I received. The hotel itself is set up like a kasbah, the staff in general was friendly only the "wanna go to desert me touarag"-guys are getting on your nerves. They are able to spot out that you are not belonging to a tourist group (as it seems typically arriving there for one night) and therefore you are their only hope for business (5 of them within half hour!).
Dinner took long because of the big tourist group, room was clean but big downside was the cost/perfomance ratio...for 60€ a double with breakfast far too high...still a good stay in erfoud if you want something which is easy to find and simple good stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I spent 2 nights at this hotel and it was different than other international chain hotels. It tries to provide an authentic Moroccan feel through the style of the hotel (kasbah), bright colours used, the lighting in the rooms. The rooms are airconditioned and they need as it is so hot. Sitting around the pool you would think you are just in a normal hotel. It is not near shops so you will need to get a taxi to the main area so it is in an inconvenient location. In the evening, there are strong winds. Food was plentiful and delicious. Breakfast was a buffet and it is served in the restaurant. Dinner for our group was a set menu. The staff were very pleasant but don't expect 5-star service or facilities. Rooms have a TV mainly in Arabic, French, and the BBC news channel. The beds has traditional Berber bed spreads / carpets. The bathrooms are small but the basins are made from copper and the basin benches are made from the fossilised marble (which is polished and cut to size only down the road from the Hotel). Water pressure wasn't particularly good and the water in my room did get rather hot so be careful not to get burnt. From memory there was no minibar. The hotel has one computer in reception to use if you want to the internet. You can purchase souvenir and postcards from a stand in reception. The pool is large and is rather clean and there is poolside bar where you can order snacks or cold drinks. It is a good place to relax by the pool or just chill out doing nothing after visiting the sand dunes or Rissani.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

This hotel is isolated and therefore there is an expectation that as it is on the edge of the Sahara you should expect some deprivations. Most people we were with loved it and so did we but I am going to downgrade it a little because the isolation is used as an excuse for a drop in some standards. For example there were not too many people in our group of 27 who had a decent water pressure thus cold or scalding shower and in some cases it was nowhere near as clean as it could be. We once stayed at an outback hotel in Australia which used it's isolation as an excuse for terrible standards. This hotel was the only one in the region and charged whatever they liked and provided terrible service. There can be no excuse for this and this hotel may be in some danger of doing the same if it does not watch it's performance closely.
In Erfoud this hotels owner is now building an upmarket 6 room guest house just down the road. I would bet that this new expensive boutique hotel will have good water pressure and will be sparkling clean and also provide exemplary service. It can be done despite the isolated location. There is no barrier to this hotel spending some money on adequate water pumps and a few more staff to clean adequately. Having said all that this hotel is quite charming and probably one of the better hotels in Erfoud. It just irks me that the location is used to make excuses for the hotels deficiencies. We loved our short stay here and you will too just don't let them get away with being slack it is too good a place for that. I have taken points off for this view that near enough is good enough. I am reliably informed that the more expensive hotels are probably not as good a standard so don't hesitate to stay here I just think that this hotel has the potential to be perfect hopefully a review such as this will assist them to lift their standards.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Our stay here was delightful. The staff was very helpful and they found us a wonderful guide , Mohammed, who took us to the dessert one day. Kake sure if you want to go to the dessert that you ask for him. The rooms are quite spacious and the pool area is very nice. We listened to some music and the manager gave us a copy of the disc as a gift. You can't ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

This beautiful kasbah-style hotel was a 2-night base for us while on a Cosmos tour of the country. From the moment you enter and step on the antique Berber carpets, note the beautiful lanterns and rustic fountain, this place just has to be adored. Once in the reception area, the staff were efficient and polite.

Past the reception you enter a fantastic courtyard filled with colourful foliage. In the centre is a water fountain. Around the edges are a few tables and chairs and a small but adequate bar. The airy restaurant also lies of this charming rustic central courtyard.

The decor is traditional Moroccan and after our somewhat generic hotels such as a couple of Ibis' and other city hotels, this was an appreciated breath of fresh air - literally! The winding open air carpeted passages led to our large and spacious twin room, (off an upper courtyard also blossoming with flowers and plants) ordaned with lovely iron beds, Berber carpets, local fossil-stone sinks with copper basins and great air con. The only iffy bit was the shower which seemed to stick at scolding hot but staff came immediately to investigate when we informed them, by which time the water was ok so I think it was just down to so many guests off our tour all showering at the same time.

The pool area was beautiful and lit with candles in the evenings. So charming.

Everywhere is immaculately clean. Food wasn't bad, prices not bad compared to other places we went to. Breakfast buffet slightly on the basic side - very little choice but adequte for a day or two.

I would recommend this place to everyone for a couple of nights to explore the local highlights such as the dunes. Please take a look at my pics, they begin to give you an idea of how nice this place is but can't really do it justice!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

I stayed here whilst touring Morocco, we were staying in what the company described as 'comfortable 3 star hotels' . This has to be the best, what a wonderful little gem. From arriving into the ornate reception area and stepping into the courtyard to discovering my pretty room was lovely. The staff were helpful in all areas. The food was good, we were on a set price menu but it was good basic moroccan fare and very tasty. The rooms were very traditional all off pretty court yards in true kasbah style. When we arrived my friend went to her room and found it not ready, when she went back to reception they immediatley appologised and upgraded her to a suite for the trouble. This room was out of this world with four poster bed and marble bathroom.

Thr hotel has lovely public areas, with a nice swimming pool, bar and lounge area, all very traditional moroccan. There were various nationalities staying here, English, French and Moroccan appeared to be in the majority.

This hotel is a true gem for a hotel of this class and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Tizimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tizimi

Address: BP 94 Route De Jorf, Erfoud 52200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Erfoud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Tizimi 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and HostelBookers so you can book your Kasbah Tizimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tizimi Erfoud
Kasbah Tizimi Hotel Erfoud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Tizimi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.