We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ammonites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macro Fossiles Kasbah

Macro Fossiles Kasbah
National Street, Erfoud, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Attractions in Erfoud
Type: Specialty Shops, Museums
Attraction Details
Leominster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing ammonites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Saw workers actually dealing with the stone. They can make anything for you. The ammonites are all polished, and they look great. When you saw the tools they were using, it was amazing what they produced. Tools were made up of whatever they could find, one man had a nail on the end of a piston he was using as a hammer!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    19
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carcassonne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEWARE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ammar Bouaich is the owner. The fossils are beautiful and the salesman an expert. I bought £800 worth of goods and was promised delivery in 6 weeks with a new base being made and photos sent for me to OK it. Firstly they tried to palm me off with the base I had refused saying all was already en route when I asked why no photo. After many phone calls (Ammars Mum was ill, he was ill....) and emails I eventually received a photo. Hassan in Paris who is their transporter never phones you back or answers texts. Low and behold 6 months later when I had given up and asked for my money back (ha ha) the goods appeared at my door. They are lovely but in the heat of the moment I paid too much and maybe should not have paid the full amount. Tread carefully.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“GREAT FOSSIL FIXTURES but you need to understand the process”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We loved the sinks in the Riad where we spent the night and Rough Tours (Youssef) made sure we got a good look at where they were made. We got to visit the actual manufacturing area where they were cutting and polishing the stone (with out any safety gear of course). Inside was a treasure chest of different bath fixtures, trinkets, etc. We found two fairly matching fossil sinks and decided to lay down the $1000 for the pair, which included ground shipping (air was more). Found similar sized sinks in the US for much more. We can confirm that we DID receive our sinks, but not in the 2 months + 1 week as per our invoice. It took a total of 4.5 mo and many, many calls to both Macro Fossiles, Rough Tours, and the US importer - Luca at Elen Importing (New Jersey). The challenges seem to be on this side of the pond with Luca as once they were shipped from Morocco and in the US, we got one excuse from Luca after the other.

So if you take our Moroccan friends up on offer to ship your purchase home via ground, be ready to deal with Luca to move on the inventory once it clears US Customs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Sydney
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
189 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“A Devonian Delight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Why visit another shop? Well this one is packed with 300 million year old fossil remains of what was once the Sahara sea. The Sahara is now mined exclusively for these fossils to sell to the tourist trade. You can buy a piece of unique jewellery, a plate or a fossil ornament. This is a very different shop and prices are very reasonable. Most tourists buy a small piece and some have tables and furniture items shipped home.
It is interesting to see the raw material advance from the block stage to finish as a glossy, piece of decoration

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not sure why we went there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a kasbah that was being restored to supposedly attract young people back to their place of origin. There was not a lot to see and we had to drive out of our way to see it at the end of a long day. Don't think I would recomend making the effort.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macro Fossiles Kasbah also viewed

Erfoud, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Erfoud, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Rissani, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Rissani, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 

Been to Macro Fossiles Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macro Fossiles Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;