We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but lacked warmth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ksar Assalassil

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ksar Assalassil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P: 251, route Errachidia, Erfoud, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Erfoud
Bahamas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, but lacked warmth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for only one night, and arrived late in the evening and left in the morning, on our way to the desert. So please keep this in mind for this review.

Of all the places we stayed in our 2 week trip, this was the least favorite. Positives- the room was clean, and very large. The hotel itself is a very nice property with a lovely pool area. There is even a library where mementoes outlining Morocco's history are nicely displayed.

Negatives- We staying the end of January, when it was cold. We found the bathroom to be extremely cold. Even though most beds in Morocco are hard, these beds seemed to be exceedingly so. Rooms were large, but there was no warmth in the decor. Staff members were efficient, but there was no warm welcome there either.

Perhaps because our stay featured mostly smaller riads, this made a difference in how we felt about this place. All in all, one night was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

employee to spoil a hotel experience. We loved the setting of the Hotel Ksar, the gardens, the breakfast (dinner, not so much), the room, and having cable tv (a rarity in Moroccan riads) to catch some world news on CNN. A very kind man made us cafe au lait whenever we wanted it and it was fantastic. All the staff was lovely...until we met the young woman with the black ponytail who dressed in tight jeans and boots. First thing in the morning, she wanted us to settle our bill for three bottles of water that had been in our room refrigerator (actually, we thought they were complimentary). We paid the 30 dirhams and went on about our business. Whenever I needed help from this person, she was on the phone and not inclined to help me. Then again, when we were getting ready to leave she called us over to the front desk and insisted we settle our bill. For what? The bill for a fourth (mythical) bottle of water. We reminded her that we'd only had three in our room. She insisted that was not the truth. Then she shouted upstairs to the very nice lady who cleaned our room, apparently asking how many bottles of water had been left in our room. This does not make for happy guests, especially when ten dirhams is about $1.20 and most hotels readily give you bottled water for free. As hard a time as we had getting this young woman's attention when we needed something, a couple of men who were checking out had no trouble whatsoever; she flirted with them and hooked arms with them and walked them to their car. Maybe she's a relative of the owners. If not, they need to consider getting a new and friendlier face at the front desk.

Room Tip: wifi is available only from central courtyard or restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Fantastic customer service, excellent food, service and selection for dinner and breakfast. The open grounds and pool area have rich landscaping. Our group was very happy there and we would gladly recommend the Assalassil. We traveled with a group and it is often difficult to get rooms that are equal or close to it for all and the Assalassil offers all nice rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I found people our there are very responsive, I personally enjoyed my trip. It was a Business trip to the region of Tafilalet. Everything in time. The administrator is very polite person, whenever I need any I get it.

For me, it was unforgettable experience, and I will definitely return back.

By the way Moroccan people are great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfoud, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I spent in this hotel 2 nights / 3 days, a bold atmosphere, calm, with French gardens, spacious rooms, swimming pool, friendly staff , an architectural structure that makes you feel in a true K'sar as its name indicates

Room Tip: All rooms are similar with the exception of suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at this gorgeous Ksar for one night on our way down to Merzouga. The communal areas are really beautiful - open terrace, pool, gardens.

Our room was lovely as well - we had one of the suites, which was huge. The bathroom had a big bathtub which was wonderful to soak in after the day's travels. The bed was comfy, but quite firm. The tv, aircon and wifi worked well.

The food wasn't extravagant - dinner was a choice of two dishes, and breakfast was the usual bread and jam, and we paid extra for drinks.

All in all, a nice place to stay, but the food doesn't really live up to the expectations raised by the lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The suites are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was near the end of our tour. The suite was nice. The hotel was not very busy. On a busy road but only a 10 min. walk into town. The supper was horrible. I had the chicken which was a deep fried cutlet, french fies and frozen vegetables. My travelling partner has the chicken tagine. Well it had about 1/8th of a chicken with a few vegetables. We did complain and the owner did apologize but did nothing'extra' to say he was sorry.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ksar Assalassil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ksar Assalassil

Address: B.P: 251, route Errachidia, Erfoud, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Erfoud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ksar Assalassil 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ksar Assalassil (Riad) in Eroud renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant, Andalous. With spectacular views of the oasis of Pameraie and desert, hotel Ksar Assalassil is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ksar Assalassil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ksar Assalassil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.