We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lux Tents are the way to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xaluca Bivouac La Belle Etoile

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Erfoud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Xaluca Bivouac La Belle Etoile
Save
You added Xaluca Bivouac La Belle Etoile to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route d'Errachidia Km.5 Bp, Erfoud, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Erfoud
new york
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lux Tents are the way to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We are a family of three and stayed for 2 nights in the Lux tents as part of a 4 days tour through the desert organized through the Xaluca Tour. The lux tents are 100% better than La Belle Etoile and not much more expensive. They are very large, have private bathrooms and showers, a fireplace and a covered dining room. Beautiful spaces, right on the dunes (La belle etoile is not on the dunes and is huge, not a desert experience). Food was really good and the service was excellent. Could not ask for more. The Xaluca guide who drove us from Marrakech was one of the best guides we have ever met, very knowledgeable. His name is Ahmed. My daughter is 10 and will never forget this very unique experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the lux tents, they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent 1 night here in a deluxe tent during our 4 day Sahara Tour. It was better than we expected! Although pretty pricey, it was worth the experience. We were there in January and it was FREEZING at night. They provided us with 8 blankets which kept us warm but was a little hard to breathe under all that weight. They also gave us 2 hot water bottles which helped greatly.

In the tent, we had a sink, a flushing toilet and a shower but with very little water. I did not even bother washing my hair as there would be no hair dryer but I did take a quick shower.

The tent was within a little compound of 3 other Deluxe Tents but at the time, we were the only ones there and we had a couple of people serving us exclusively. They also provided us with the camel trek for sunset which was a lot of fun but when the sun sets, it is cold. I did not want to get up in the early morning for the sunrise so we opted out of that.

The next morning, we had breakfast and walked around on our own. What great fun! And it was so quiet. Just you and your thoughts and the desert.

I was pleasantly surprised with our stay here. It was very good considering you are in the middle of the desert!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed for two nights with a grup so I did not have time to enjoy the hotel to its fullest.
It is a big hotel used to catering for big tour groups and other desert travelers. The rooms are spacious nice desighned and situated in blocks set up to look like Berber houses.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed here for work so I did not have time to enjoy the hotel to its fullest. It is a big hotel used to catering for big tour groups and other desert travelers. The rooms are spacious and situated in blocks set up to look like Berber houses each with a big courtyard. Mine was the furthest away from reception so I had a long way to walk.They are nicely decorated and comfortable and cool. There were a lot of mosquitoes and a distinct smell of drains, but what can you expect in a desert. The restaurant was buffet style and almost the same every night but it was good food. I did get very sick but it could have been from anything. The bar around the pool was very relaxing and they played some good music. There was a gym as well but I did not have time to use it. On the whole it was a very good hotel and I enjoyed the desert style architecture of the place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed there only for 1 night before going on an overnight camel trip to Erg Chebby. I wanted to stay there for at least one more night but we didn't have the time.

It is a great indulging hotel with amazing amenities and great pools. Everything is well designed and the rooms are fantastic.

A recommendation: use this place to have a 1-2 day in your trip if you do a round-Morocco trip. It is a great place to have a good time, rest and recharge.

Another recommendation: the prices for the trips to Erg Chebby in the hotel are overpriced and too touristic. If you have an access to Erfoud or plan in advance, look for a guide that will take you to Erg Chebby not by a 4X4 but by camels and not for a few hours just for the dawn but with a sleepover in the tents in the desert - it was one of the picks of our trip.


The only thing

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I was already 3 times in Xaluca and everytime its a great surprise. Great, great ! No words enough. I'm a travel agent in Algarve/Portugal and I always include this hotel in our tours. Can be jeep or minibus tours but we always stay there one night. Our guests always feel in paradise. Amazing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

And I could go on for another hour. The only bad thing was that the hotel was big, but it didnot bother us at all. The rooms are huge, beautiful tiles en bathtub with fossils in it. The hotel is in a few branches, two stories high, we had a room on the ground floor. The room is compleet with a sitting area, a big open bathroom, seperate toilet and a big walking in showr. The breakfast was huge and well kept, we also had dinner and that was a good and various buffet.
Very pretty swimmingpool, but there is so much to do and see in the neighbourhood we had no time to swim. Be sure to be there for two nights.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xaluca Bivouac La Belle Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaluca Bivouac La Belle Etoile

Address: Route d'Errachidia Km.5 Bp, Erfoud, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Erfoud
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xaluca Bivouac La Belle Etoile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xaluca Bivouac La Belle Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.