We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Treehouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cove Treehouses
Diani beach Road | Galu Kinondo, Ukunda 5016, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty lodging in Ukunda
Hitchin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We have just returned from two weeks at the Cove Retreat south of Mombasa and are in the depths of depression at having to leave. It's a good 20 minutes drive past the last hotel down an ever diminishing track. After the flight and the trip through rush hour in Mombasa I was envious of the couple getting out while we still had a bit of a drive ahead of us. However, when we finally went through the little wooden door into the Cove I was envious no more! Just a small pool, dining area and tree houses - that's all there is! It's just unbelievably quiet and peaceful. No banana boats, jet skis etc - just the sound of the reef and the local fishermen in their dug out canoes. The staff really helped make the holiday - they can't do enough for you and are so friendly and funny. I hope they get to read this - thanks to Doris, Rafa, Philip, Richard, Rosie, Alfonse, chef and the others in the background who keep the grounds looking so neat & tidy. We miss you! The food was great. I've read reviews that said it was too salty but I didn't find that at all and there was certainly more than enough choice for us. At times the chef was catering for just 4 of us! Not all the treehouses had occupants for a lot of our time there so when we were leaving and there were 8 other guests it felt quite crowded! There is absolutely no entertainment in the evenings and the staff leave as soon as dinner is finished so if you prefer some sort of entertainment it won't be the place for you. There is just the fabulous setting and the sound of the sea. Do go and see the local village. It's all legitimate and very interesting. We went with Boris and Seiff who you are bound to meet on the beach. Seiff lent me a Swahili phrasebook for the whole holiday. They were very genuine and funny and keen to tell us all about their lives. I would recommend the Cove to anyone who enjoys peace and quiet. It's just a fabulous place and we hope to get back there one day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Just got back from an amazing stay at the Cove. We weren't sure what to expect and after a long day travelling after safari the doubts began to kick in when we travelled along the bumpy road to the cove. As soon as we arrived we were completely blown away! The cove truly is a very special place. If you want to go somewhere peaceful, quiet and relaxing this is definately the place for you! The relaxed atmosphere is maintained by the fact that there are no strict meal times and you can have whatever you want to eat and drinks are bought to you while you spend a hard day by the pool looking out to the ocean. The food was superb and cooked freshly for you and I would definately recommend the lobster platter as a little treat on your last night! The treehouses are gorgeous. Photos really don't do them justice. We were in treehouse 4 which meant that we didn't have a spot next to the beach but it meant that we had lots of monkey company and we would often wake up to monkeys on our balcony. It was lovely having a private jacuzzi as well and the way that they prepare the jacuzzi is auite novel and very eco friendly. Raphael, Phillip and the rest of staff couldn't do enough for us and they truly are a credit to hotel. We hope to be able to go back one day to what I can only call paradise!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stunning location, completely unique concept and genuine lovely people. Totally not your average 5 star resort but worthy non the less of its rating. Arrive open minded and just relax and you won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Dear reader, In case you are thinking twice about spending your honeymoon at the cove, DON'T!. We have just got back from 7 days there and it was fantastic.
The treehouses are trully unique and very comfortable. The jaccuzi which you can have every day is definitely a highlight..
The service at the hotel is fantastic. The food is great. I am vegetarian and really enjoyed the food. Also great that there are no set times for food.
The beach is amasingly secluded and there is a fantastic beach community who can organise day trips..they do charge but the trips are totally worth it and the money you pay goes back into the community.
All in all, not a single complaint If you want, secluded, great service, romantic, then could not recommend this enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Myself and my fiancee stayed at the cove for 10 nights after an exhausting 5 night safari, I had read the reviews before going and was confident that it would be amazing but it surpassed all my expectations (and as a former travel agent i have a lot!!).
On the drive from Mombassa airport I did get a bit nervy as the "off-roading" seemed to go on for a long time and as the bigger resorts gave way to nothing but jungle type landscape I was a little worried where we were being taken. Upon arrival at the gates we were greeted by 2 Masai Warriors (this did little for the nerves) however the moment i stepped into the resort and saw the familiar pool area etc....i felt instantly relaxed. We were greeted by Richard, one of the butlers, who sat us down as we filled in our details and had our welcome cocktail - they had alid a table & were more than happy to give us a 3-course meal but we had been travelling approximately 15 hours by this point and just wanted to go to bed, they were very understanding and ushered us to our treehouse.
Treehouse No1 - its all that people say & more!! The view from the pillow is literally the indian ocean as far as they eye can see its like sleeping in an infinity pool. The outdoor bathroom took a bit of getting used to although there were a lot fewer bugs in there than id imagined, the jacuzzi was fantastic and we used it several times. All the staff are truly amazing and do everything they can to make you comfortable and welcome, with never a hint at a tip -which after safari was a welcome change.
Unfortunately 4 days before coming home i got a stomach bug, i do not believe for one moment that it was the food, however the orange juice was a little odd one morning and over-ripened fruit is a killer for bouts of sickness/diarrohea. The staff did everything they could to help me, the moment i came into view they would usher over a glass of water and even offered to make meals additional to the menu without cream, cheese etc.....amazing service above and beyond their duties!
There was only one negative about the whole trip & unfortunately its a big one!....coming home!!!! we cannot wait to return and hope it will be very soon!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Me and my new wife came to the cove after 5 days on safari, we arrived at 21:30 and were greeted by very nice staff with a drink waiting for us and a 3 course meal, the staff were amazing from the start and they are great people we would go back just to see them!
We were so tired from all the early mornings on safari but we picked the perfect place to relax and get back to normal. The treehouse (no2) was out of this world my jaw doesnt drop but it did when i saw this , the views are brilliant it was heaven clear water and blue sky the sun was as hot as i imagine it could get great for just chilling by the pool and if you get to hot there was a hammock bed under our treehouse in the shade.
I had not got on with the food on safari so it was great to come here the food was very good and very fresh and if you dont fancy whats on the menu the chef will cook you whatever, they really do treat you like royalty (the tuna is amazing). the juguzzi is a great change from relaxing by the pool we did it 5 out of the 6 nights we were there, and they offer massage and other beauty treatment that all women would love.
Everyday Monkeys would walk through the area just proving how unspoilt the area is.
from day to night this place is paradise (Dinner on our treehouse under the stars was amazing) i recommend it to every couple in the world, We are already saving to go back there again to see Rapheal and the staff. this is the best place i have been in my life and my new wife agrees.
CANT WAIT TO GO BACK

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We got married at the Cove after a 9 day safari. The Cove is truely a little bit of paradise! Our treehouse was amazing! The staff were fantastic! All the staff at the Cove made our wedding a perfect stress free day. The food was lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. We are thankful to them for making our wedding very special & thank you very much Doris for being my witness. The other guest there were also very nice & we hope they will keep in touch. Thank you girls for strapping me into my dress & thank you Vince for being Marks witness.
Thank you to Seif & Boris for the trip to your village & the snorkeling & all the time you spent teaching us your language & showing us this bit of paradise

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cove Treehouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Treehouses

Address: Diani beach Road | Galu Kinondo, Ukunda 5016, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty lodging in Ukunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Treehouses unique by design but also with its complete commitment to the local fishing community who use the Cove as its continued fishing point which ensures the culture and habitat is maintained. The all-inclusive Cove Retreat leaves all your expectations of a hotel behind, offering rather the seeker a touch of ecoism, romance and history before you. This retreat with a strict no under-18 years policy, can only but touch your soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove Retreat Hotel Ukunda
The Cove Treehouses Kenya/Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Treehouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Cove Treehouses to your Saves list