We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but sour after taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Treehouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cove Treehouses
Diani beach Road | Galu Kinondo, Ukunda 5016, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty lodging in Ukunda
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent but sour after taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

This was a wonderful quiet location.

All the good bits have been mentioned in other reviews however I just wanted to warn anyone going not to give your email or telephone number to a member of staff - he will email and telephone you begging for money with all sorts of stories - which leaves a bit of a sour aftertaste

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Wow Wow Wow. Pure paradise......... After booking 2 weeks at The Cove and reading all the reviews posted I honestly can't understand some peoples views of the accommodation.
I'll get the very few and minor negatives out of the way first, but please do not let these put you off of travelling here.
Ok....well...the food!! Not that great, hardly any choice and absolutely everything smothered in salt! But didn't make us ill and all the salads are washed in mineral water and ice in drinks etc... Also the chef would try and make dishes not on the menu if we asked, although not hugely successfully. And when I asked for brown bread with my breakfast I was told that the bread is white to begin with but after they put it in the toast machine it will be brown!!!! (Still makes me laugh now.)
Oh and the portions are HUGE, too HUGE, and even asking for much smaller amounts on numerous occasions to save wasting food in such a poor part of the world, they still came out massive.

Also the service can be a little slow, but do remember you are on holiday and it is so relaxing that it would seem too regimented if everything was timed to military precision.

Other than that, it is one of the most idyllic and visually beautiful resorts I have ever been to. You are in the middle of a local community, with fishing boats on the water in front of the resort and can watch and even help them bring in the daily catch!
The staff are lovely, friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay as pleasurable as it can be. And as the hotel is the only one for at least half an hour you never see hoards of tourists or irritating beach sellers! Which all amounts to a really authentic holiday where you actually feel like you are experiencing Kenya and living amongst the local people, not just another hotel with lots of tourists, entertainment and water sports.

The breeze off the sea ensures it never gets unbearably hot and also means there are NO mosquitoes!! (We never saw one on the whole trip, even whilst on safari!)

The Cove is truly a piece of paradise.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester,England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stayed here for a week with my husband after a weeks safari.
We wanted a quiet relaxing place to stay after a safari and this seemed to be ideal.We liked the idea of a treehouse as we are very much into natural and rustic types of places to stay. Having said that we have stayed in some beautiful 5* hotels on our travels over the years (we are in our 50s) so I suppose we have experienced some excellent service and places.
We realy enjoyed the cove and it was more or less what we expected it to be. Extremely quiet, treehouses are lovely,and staff were realy friendly and helpful. We had some excellent food,but at times limited for choice, more so in the evening. We were shown a menu with a small selection on it and had to choose from that. Lunch had a more varied choice and breakfast was from a menu, but there again I asked for yoghurt 3 mornings running but they never had it so I gave up asking.I didn't always want cooked breakfast. I appreciate that for a small number of guests, 5 in total at the time you cant stock a huge amount of food as a lot would be just wasted but yoghurt does keep in a fridge.
Our mini bar also stocked with 2 beers, 2 waters and 2 cokes. We were never asked if we wanted anything else, I suppose if we kept asking we would have got other drinks but we didn't bother.
The beach was nice and natural with just a few fishermen and locals who didn't realy bother you.We got to know a few and they are realy nice guys. We had a look round there village and went snorkelling on the reef but didn't see a huge amount.
The staff were all nice in particular Phillip who always had a smile. The ground staff also worked very hard.
All in all we realy enjoyed the cove and think it would be a nice place for honeymooners. Its very natural and peaceful but if you want loads to do and 5* style then I don't think it would be the place for you.

  • Liked — the treehouse
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Please visit Kenya it is a beautiful country, we at all times were safe and saw no trouble at all
Location - Perfect, the private beach and setting were so peaceful, a definate piece of paradise.
Accomodation - Treehouse NO1 was better than can be described, massive bed, jacuzzi, outside bathroom not as scary as you would think! Spacious and airy with views you could look at forever.
Food - Superb, fresh out of sea, everything homemade, requests taken without fuss, seafood amazing. Salads in amazing designs and shapes.
Staff - Polite, friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Stephanie (the manager) and Doris win the award for best wedding planners in the world!
Wedding package - More than we could of dreamed of, flowers amazing as was food and all the details like cake and the way our family were treated

  • Liked — Location and accomodation
  • Disliked — Bumpy road to get there
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We have just returned from The Cove where we had a fabulous wedding with our family and I really can’t put into words how fantastic it was.

The wedding was absolutely perfect and exactly how I had always imagined. The venue was beautiful, gorgeous arches which we watched being made, informal ceremony, the food divine and we had a band that was fantastic. Dancing under the stars with a full moon, listening to the waves - it really could not have been better.

It’s a very natural beautiful place and the treehouses are fantastic. Lying in bed watching the sun rise over the ocean, having a Jacuzzi looking out to sea, star gazing on the deck, snoozing on the swinging double bed under the treehouse – all perfect!.

We were supplied with endless amounts of food and drink, just could not eat all that was on offer. The lunch menu was particularly good with a very extensive range.

Being a group we took over all 6 treehouses which was really special. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Without the group I found it a bit too small to be with strangers.

A huge thank you to all the staff, in particular Stephanie the manager and Doris the Wedding Co-ordinator who ensured the wedding was exactly as we wanted. Also to Philip and Raphael who looked after us so well.

Regarding any unrest in Kenya, we saw no signs at all and we travelled through Mombasa, to Tsavo East and West and to the Masai Mara. We felt totally safe at all times and would encourage people to visit Kenya.

  • Liked — Unique treehouses
  • Disliked — Not being able to swim in the sea
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

We have just returned from Kenya, where we spent one week on safari in
Amboseli/Masai Mara and the second week on the coast at the Cove Retreat.
We had the most wonderful experience, a real once in a lifetime trip. Both the safari and the Cove where deserted due to the troubles that Kenya has recently been having!!! We saw absolutely no trouble and never felt at risk.

We flew into Nairobi and out of Mombasa - both apparent high risk areas - but we saw no violence. It’s a shame that so many people are cancelling their trips to Kenya, thousands of Kenyan's are out of work as a result yet the tourist areas are unaffected by the problems.

The Cove was perfect location for our wedding and honeymoon. Everyone was unbelievably friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and fresh, we stayed in no. 1 tree house and the views were breathtaking. Each morning we woke up to the sounds of the sea and the local fisherman setting out for the morning catch. We will remember this trip forever.

Thanks to; Doris, Steph, Saidi and everyone one else at the Cove. Can't wait to come back

  • Liked — Rustic and romantic
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

We stayed in The Cove for seven nights for our honeymoon. We found it extremely relaxing and laid back, at times a little too laid back! Akuna-matata! The staff were lovely, but one day we were sitting at the pool side and Stephanie the manager started shouting at the staff about working harder in front of everyone!
The staff there couldn't do enough for you.
The place was fabulous. we stayed in two different tree houses one set back slightly in the garden area but you could still see the sea and the second one on the beach front. When we were there they were having a few technical problems, the jacuzzi's would take ages to fill and they weren't very warm and the sun chairs were very uncomfortable and had a tendency to collapse!
It is Kenya so bear in mind that standards are a bit different!

  • Liked — Secluded and private totally unique
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cove Treehouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Treehouses

Address: Diani beach Road | Galu Kinondo, Ukunda 5016, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty lodging in Ukunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Treehouses unique by design but also with its complete commitment to the local fishing community who use the Cove as its continued fishing point which ensures the culture and habitat is maintained. The all-inclusive Cove Retreat leaves all your expectations of a hotel behind, offering rather the seeker a touch of ecoism, romance and history before you. This retreat with a strict no under-18 years policy, can only but touch your soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove Retreat Hotel Ukunda
The Cove Treehouses Kenya/Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Treehouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Cove Treehouses to your Saves list