We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot form me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galu Beach | P.O.Box 90521, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ukunda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect spot form me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

most memorable holiday of my life made even more special from the service I received. I couldn't resist leaving gifts for the monkeys just to watch their cheek. If there is a power cut be sure to get to the beach and look up. Most amazing sky I have ever seen.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    82
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
95
338
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Top notch service! We wanted for nothing. From check-in, dining, sleeping to check-out - the staff was attentive and very helpful. The grounds are meticulously maintained. Dining room service was beyond reproach, Amani Spa was luxurious. We enjoyed the pool, the bars, the beach, the tranquility. A slice of heaven for sure! Pamela was phenomenal.... FREE TUSKERS TOMORROW!

Room Tip: Keep balcony doors closed. I'm a monkey lover, but I don't need them in my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at Pinewood for the New Year's, as a group of 2 families with children.
The new year eve party on the beach was great fun.
The beach is very quiet and due to the remote location of the resort, there aren't much sales pitches on the beach.

The Dive Camp next to the resort, actually doesn't belong to the resort, therefore payments can't be done via the hotel, however they don't really tell you that before you've book the dives.
The hotel could do something about the bad service from the diving camp, as it is fully integrated into the resort's space...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipGM, General Manager at Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Josie,
Thank you for your kind comments on this page they are always appreciated by the Pinewood Team. I am glad you enjoyed yourself and if the Dive team let you down please accept my apologies. That situation is in hand and they will no longer be present at the hotel.
Please do come and see us again and it will be a pleasure to look after you.
Kind regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I got married at the Pinewood Beach Hotel three years ago and while we didn't get around to doing our review at the time we wanted to tell our story in-light of the current worries for tourists. We could not say enough about the hotel, the facilities, the great spa, variety of food, helpful and friendly staff topped off by the beautiful white sands of the beach, the clear blue sea and even the friendly beach sellers - low pressure smiley sellers who take no for an answer (just be firm and polite and some of them do have some interesting wares). Our wedding was organised so professionally and all the staff went that extra mile to make it the most perfect day for us. These guys know what they are doing so if in doubt ask. We understand the perceived concerns re travelling to parts of Kenya but this area is not said to be at risk, and with the extra security attention it's probably as safe as ever. If you are going to Pinewood then you'll have a wonderful time and be looked after by some of the most amazing helpful and professional staff you'll ever meet in Africa. Enjoy, as we did. Thank you Pinewood Beach Resort and Spa.
Note = Our travel date was end of April 2011

Room Tip: Go for a sea view for all the obvious reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a more perfect stay and the most perfect wedding on the grounds of the hotel. Everything was perfect.

AMAZING.

Thanks to Moses, Justice, Nimrod, Mr C, Raphael, Mary, Bernard, Mohammed, Duncan and the list goes on.

Thank you. xxxxxx

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvidovre, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This Hotel is so fantastic and quiet. We loved our stay in room 151. All the staff are so helpful and sweet, we really felt welcome at Pinewood.
The beach is very nice and there are not many beach-boys.
So if you like a quiet hotel and just relaxing this is the place for you...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipGM, General Manager at Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ply7,
Thank you for your kind comments I know the staff love to see these on the noticeboard it certainly motivates them to keep improving..
If you made friends with any of the staff whilst they looked after you feel free to interact with them through the Pinewood facebook page.

Kind Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I absolutely cannot fault my stay at Pinewood, it was beyond exceptional.

I booked 3 nights here as a last minute decision through my tour operator Gamewatchers after a safari, and I truly wish I had stayed longer. Upon arrival I was greeted by a fruit cocktail and shown to my room by the manager, who informed me I had been upgraded to a suite free of charge. It was absolutely stunning. I was travelling on my own looking for a few days to sit in the sun and relax and that is exactly what I got, in the most beautiful setting.

The rooms were simply beautiful and a lot of thought had been put into ensuring guests felt at home. The food was wonderful, the beach, simply stunning but what made the stay for me were the staff. They really are special, so friendly and ready to attend to your every need. I simply couldn't help but to have a chat with them, they clearly love what they do and really want to please without making guests feel awkward.

The resort is exceptionally maintained and a true jewel. This is a place to go and relax, which was ideal for me after 2 weeks field training in Kenya. I was travelling alone and didn't feel at all out of place. The resort is quiet but I was there at the end of the season yet if you wanted to do things you had plenty of opportunity. I went snorkelling and it was wonderful.

I have travelled all round the world and this place was just so wonderful. To me it was 5* without the pretentiousness. I couldn't recommend it more highly. Thank you so so much for a truly memorable stay, it was simply perfect and I really didn't want to leave. I will, without a doubt be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipGM, General Manager at Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sam D.
My apologies for the delay in replying we have just been through the annual shut down to tidy and paint the property for the coming season. Your comments were a tonic to my ears and made me feel I was part of something special. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to comment.
We would love to see you back at Pinewood in the future and we would delight in making you comfortable.
If you want to check on the people who looked after you from time to time please do have a look at our webpage or better still our facebook page which you may interact with.
Kind Regards
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Galu Beach | P.O.Box 90521, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#4 Family Hotel in Ukunda
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinewood Village is a small boutique beach and water sport resort. It is situated on the stunning deserted shores of Galu Beach, one of the finest beaches in Kenya. It is relaxed and informal. Personalised and friendly service is at the forefront. The resort is set amidst heavy tropical flora and palms and attracts the endangered Colobus Monkey and over 100 bird species from the surrounding forest. Hotel newly refurbished jun 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Beach Hotel Ukunda
Pinewood Beach Resort And Spa
Pinewood Village Beach Hotel
Pinewood Village Beach Ukunda
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.