We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect second half of our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galu Beach | P.O.Box 90521 Mombasa 80100, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 hotels in Ukunda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect second half of our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a suite and had a personal chef for the week. What can I say, that chef can certainly cook! We had a wonderful massage in the spa area. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were spoilt. Wonderful honeymoon and a perfect compliment to our Kenyan safari on the Masai Mara.

The only point I would make is that the hotel is very quiet. This was perfect for us and just what we like but, this may not be everyones cup of tea.

Room Tip: We had a suite and the size was perfect. The veranda was lovely and where we ate our private meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    79
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
90
330
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Pinewood from 16th to 30th August, after a 5 night safari. We have holidayed in Kenya on 10 occasions (various safaris and beach hotels) and can state that Pinewood Village was by far the best that we have experienced (this bearing in mind that we have always stayed in 4 or 5 star accommodation on Kenya coast).
We were upgraded to a suite, but both rooms and suites are clean and tastefully decorated. Having experienced a very difficult year, we needed a peaceful and relaxing beach extension to our safari and that is exactly what Pinewood Village supplied.
The food was excellent. Every night has a 'theme' - Mongolian, Chinese, European, Swahili etc. and the food is always fresh and hot and, very importantly is very hygienically prepared.
All of the staff are very amiable and friendly - everyone greets you with a 'Jambo' and a smile (far friendlier than most hotel staff in the UK).
It was my birthday whilst on holiday and the Managers (Evans and Raphael) arranged a personal chef in our suite for my birthday dinner, they even made a birthday cake. This was a very nice touch and is a prime example of how friendly the place is.
Entertainment is very low key, but we picked this place because we wanted a relaxing time.
If you want a peaceful, relaxing holiday in a beautiful location with clean and hygienic accommodation and friendly staff who will do whatever they can to ensure your stay is a memorable one, I would suggest you go to Pinewood. You will definitely want to return, as we will.
Dave and Mo

Room Tip: Accommodation is on two levels. Rooms on first floor, Suites on ground floor. This hotel is in a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A nice enough beach resort, rather expensive though and the food was pretty ordinary.

Right at the end of the beach strip, so very private and not too many beach boys to trouble you. Unfortunately there was nothing at all outside the resort, no nice local shops to browse, no markets to visit, nothing at all.

We felt a little stuck there for our visit. There are a couple of cars for hire but the rate is awfully high.

At the recommendation of the hotel driver, we did visit Mombassa, but it really wasn't very interesting. Cost USD$100.

On our second to last day we discovered there was an inexpensive tailor's shop, great little boutiques and some lovely galleries only 20 minutes drive away. That was a great accidental find, wish we'd found it earlier.

However, the staff were lovely and the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, and it was a peaceful location. Food was excellent, staff
was excellent, greeting you on arrival with a drink, which was a nice touch. Would visit again.

It is great for couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at Pinewood resort for 3 days either side of our safari for our honeymoon.

Is a really lovely hotel with amazing staff, in particular Husain who organised activities, Bernard on the beach bar and Nixon who was our fantastic chef. Nothing was ever too much for any of the staff.

We had a suite which was really spacious, immaculately clean and well finished.

There are plenty of comfortable sun loungers by the pool and beach and it was never difficult to get one.

The food in the buffets was good for buffet standards but the real highlight was having Nixon cook for us in our room. There was a varied menu and the food was fantastic.

We had a couples massage in the spa and it was a great experience. Other than the spa and the waterspouts centre there isn't a great deal to do other than relax.

The beach boys were not a problem at all, they had some nice souvenirs and were all good guys just trying to make a living, if your not interested in anything they are selling all you need to do is tell them and they will leave you alone.

It's a really quiet, peaceful hotel, if you want lively nightlife it's definitely not for you, the bar is usually empty by 10! However if you want somewhere to relax after a safari and experience some exceptional service this really is the place for you.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel has a great location and could be five star but it needs money spent on bathrooms ( shabby) food ( evening buffets very disappointing and no fresh fish) . The staff are trying their best but corners are being cut and it shows, there is no hair conditioner and body lotion supplied which you would expect. When we complained the management bought it from the extremely expensive shop for us. Also our room maid had to be constantly reminded to replace shower gel and shampoo.
The pizzas are the best thing about lunch rand breakfast is ok. Our service went down dramatically once we had tipped waiters. The little gym was fine, weights, bench, bike , x trainer and treadmill. The beach area belonging to hotel is very clean, sprayed every morning, no mozzies.
A few pestering beach guys infiltrated volley ball game , difficult situation there as beach is public.

Room Tip: Get a room with side window, balconies virtually unusable because of monkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week, and wish we could stay longer. The employees always greet you with a big JAMBO. The rooms are spacious. The shower is good. The bed is quite comfortable.
Unlike many beach resorts, the hawkers do not come and bother you. They stay off the property, and if you want a souvenir you must go to them.
Beautiful birds and cheeky monkeys are fun co-inhabitants!
It is a long drive out of Mombassa but tthat means you are a long drive from any madness.
A wonderful place to chill.
Do the all-inclusive option and do not worry about anything.
They also have an excellent spa.
Yes, I will probably return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Galu Beach | P.O.Box 90521 Mombasa 80100, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#4 Family Hotel in Ukunda
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinewood Village is a small boutique beach and water sport resort. It is situated on the stunning deserted shores of Galu Beach, one of the finest beaches in Kenya. It is relaxed and informal. Personalised and friendly service is at the forefront. The resort is set amidst heavy tropical flora and palms and attracts the endangered Colobus Monkey and over 100 bird species from the surrounding forest. Hotel newly refurbished jun 2006. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pinewood Beach Resort And Spa
Pinewood Beach Hotel Ukunda
Pinewood Village Beach Hotel
Pinewood Village Beach Ukunda
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list