We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“voi and saltlick safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Safaris Day Tours

Marco Polo Safaris Day Tours
P. O. Box 733, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
254 722 696 533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 Activities in Ukunda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours and safaris in Kenya Tanzania accommodation in best camps and lodges, Hotel Booking and excursions.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“voi and saltlick safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

we booked our safari independently with marco polo safaris,the service was excellent ,we were picked up from the hotel by a lovely driver called sam .he was a very careful driver and very attentive,he made the whole safari an absolute delight .the man had the eyes of a hawk and ensured every drive was memorable . both of the lodges were excellent and the water holes breathtaking .Marco is also very competetive with his prices all in all a fab safari .gel and rick 27/10/13

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Prague
1 review
“2 days in Tsavo East National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spent with my friend 2 days in above mentioned National Park. It was or first time on safari and I have to say, that we were not disappointed. We were picked up in front of our hotel and safely taken to the park.
The driver was was very villing to show us as much as possible and also explained us our questions about animals.
Our accomodation in VOI Wildlife Lodge was very comfortable and the food was excellent. Particularly the restaurant, where you can sit and observe the drinking elephants and birds.
So in general, I can´t but reccomend this trip with this travel agency.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melle, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“2-day safari in Tsavo East”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We (papa and 4 kids) went on safari on July 20-21 and we had a good safari with Marco Polo. The owner delivers what he promises and the driver does a real effort to make you see as many animals as possible. Nothing bad to say about the company, besides if you have some negotiation skills you will be able to cut off quite a big chunk of the original price.children are half price.

Do not be afraid to book outside of your hotel. Competition is extremely strong on the safari tours trip offering and people will do their best to give you a nice safari so you can write this kind of good review. A minimum of negotiation skills will knock you off 20 to 30% of the original price easily and even more from the hotel price. Remember to be very explicit on everything you want and expect so there can be no misunderstanding.

A word on the lodge where we stayed (VOI Wildlife) it is quite nice, the swimming pool are a bit small especially compared to my hotel at the beach (Netptune Palm Beach resort). It is pitch dark at 7 PM and there is absolutely nothing to do in the lodge in the evening, so foresee something to be busy. One excellent recommendation on the food that was actually better than in our hotel (as foretold by Marco Polo).

On the safari itself, one piece of advise: Tsavo East is big, really big, (1/3 of Belgium!!!) so do not expect a lion behind every tree, you can drive for hours without seeing anything but elephants (hundreds of them everywhere) be realistic in your expectations (no rhino, no hippo in Tsavo).
If you really want the abundance of animals then go to Masai Mara it is much more expensive but believe me, it is a different kind of safari you are doing...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldegem, Belgium
1 review
“In doubt? Choose Marco Polo Safaris!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in the Sentido Neptune palm beach resort from the 22nd of June to the 1th of July 2013.
We really wanted to go on Safari, but couldn't choose who to book with. Our travel agency warned us about booking outside the hotel, but none of the reviews online mentioned horrible trips.

Eventually we went to listen to the offer of Marco Polo Safaris. We arranged a 3 day safari, 6 game drives, one night in Salt lick lodge (Tsavo West) and one night in Manyatta camp (Tsavo East). Our driver was Patrick (really great guy!) and we had the safari van to ourselves (me and my girlfriend).

In short: all our expectations were met. Everything that was promised, was there. No hassle, no problems, no extra costs and a great experience.

We saw elephants (nice photos from the drinking well in the Salt Lick lodge), lions, gazelles, cheetahs, giraffes, leopards, and many more. Unfortunately no rhino or hippo.

Just remember to tip the driver of the van, the guy is 3 days away from home and does everything he can to make sure you see the animals you want!

Final quick tip: know which animals you want to see before you go and check in which park you have the most chance of seeing them.

I recommend Marco Polo Safaris!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
“4 days safari tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our holiday in Mombasa, Kenya in late April 2013 was a vacation that most people dream to accomplish. Enjoying traditional African gestures and cuisine culminated with Indian Ocean wind and flair.

We travelled as a family of three and chose to book our safari trip with Marco Polo safaris. It was an amazing experience and the service offered by Marco Polo Safaris made us felt even more safe and relaxed. The driver “Patrick” took upmost care to ensuring that our visit to Tsavo East, Tsavo West and Amboseli went smoothly as planned.

We are looking forward to enjoying the same service and professionalism on our next visit to Kenya, going on a Safari drive with Marco Polo Safaris.

I recommend Marco Polo to anyone visiting Kenya, especially a drive with Patrick.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo Safaris Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Marco Polo Safaris Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Safaris Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.