We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is all true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julius Safaris - Private Day Trips

Julius Safaris - Private Day Trips
Next to Diani Sea Resort(500Metres) | Diani Beach Road, Ukunda, Kenya
+254 721 769771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 activities in Ukunda
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: JT(Julius Tact Safaris) organises day trips,safaris and tours from Ukunda, Mombasa and Nairobi.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It is all true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor about Julius, I could not entirely understand how one company can have so many positive comments, almost all excellent. After a 4 day safari adventure with Julius Tact I can now see the reason.
It was very easy to get in touch with Julius (via email) and always got very quick responses. Either on the day or a day after. I was a little bit suspicious about transferring the deposit to someone I have exchanged few emails with but decided to put my trust in Julius and was not dissapointed.
We saw Julius for a quick meeting a day before the safari and he filled us in on the details of the trip and what should we take with us. His office is located in Diani Beach very close to Diani Sea Resort and it takes 5 minutes to walk to from the hotel. On the day of the trip we were waiting impatiently for our driver by the main gate not knowing what to exactly expect.
All of a sudden we saw huge 4x4 Land Rover parked outside a hotel. It was our safari car with a driver Joseph (Yusuf). We were really excited about the car especially that it was all just for us. We saw cars of other companies, for example Pullmans (you can book their trip from the hotel) and were expecting a mini bus with a bunch of other people. Our expectations were already exceeded. Our driver was very polite and must say patient, we asked lots of questions during the trip! He always engaged in the conversations and we found out lots of stuff about life in Kenya and of course animals. It was a 4 day 3 nights safari to Tsavo East, West and Amboseli and it was a long and bumpy drive, especially on the way to Amboseli however it was all worth it.
Our driver was very knowledgeable in terms of the flora and fauna in all the national parks and had a very good sense as where to park the car to see the animals cross the road. We saw plenty of lions, some of them passing by our car! It was absolutely amazing. Joseph always knew where to stop to take the most amazing photos! Lots of beautiful views of sunrise and sunsets. It is really a driver who makes your safari experience and Julius has the best ones! Joseph made our trip the best trip we have had so far. Thank You. We chosed our lodges by ourselves and were not dissapointed. Every single one of them had something different to offer.
Tsavo East - Voi lodge (situated on the hill with beautiful views on savanna and watering hole for animals), Tsavo West - Lions Bluff (amazing place, beautiful views, real gem in the middle of nowhere), Amboseli - Kibo safari camp (unique tented camp).
At some point in Tsavo West we spotted 4 female lions hunting for zebra. It took some time to see some action, but our driver was very patient and he did not rush to go back to a lodge. This game drive turned into night safari as after couple of hours of following the lion family it got already dark. Superb adventure.
On the last day of safari we got a call from Julius who inquired about our experiences and asked if everything is as planned. I thought that was very nice of Julius and you can tell that he cares about his customers. After the safari we went to settle the bill and even got couple of really nice souvenirs from Julius. He knows how to make their customers happy.

I would definitely recommend JT for your Safari experience. Enjoy!

Karolina and Jarek

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“JT Safaris TOP QUALITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from safari with our 8 year old grand daughter and we used JT Safaris for a two day trip to Tsavo E and W. We had a land cruiser and driver all to ourselves. the driver could not have been safer or more considerate. the lodges were excellent and we saw masses of game. Julius met us afterwards he is delightful and we can't speak highly enough of his whole outfit. We were picked up from the Boabab hotel Diani Beach, and by going with JT we did not have to vacate our room.

Michael Browne CBE

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Safari to Tsavo East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

As we came out of our hotel complex (Diani Sea Resort) JT Safari's was located just 100m to the left in a fairly modern building. The safari we booked was 2 days 1 night in Tsavo East , staying at the Voi Lodge . We thought the price was reasonable originally but later came to realise it was a complete bargain :) Our guide TITO was so friendly and professional and helpful and straight away we knew we were in good hands. Our vehicle was a 4x4 landcruiser and it was probably the best vehicle we saw in the 2 days at Tsavo :). JT's had made sure our room in the lodge was the best possible and it over looked the watering holes (1 of which a pride of lions had just taken an adult buffalo down in). The safari itself was something truly unforgettable and after seeing some incredible sights on day 1 we were blown away on day 2 . After an early start (6:45am) we headed out and within minutes had seen a Golden Eagle perched just metres . Tito then spotted were lions had been lay at the side of the tracks during the night and this got us really excited, 5 minutes later and we were snapping buffalo feeding right next to our jeep paying no attention at all. We headed on and had a rather scary but amazing time arguing with a herd of elephants over who's right of way it was (we were no match in the end) then as we were moving on Tito our guide spotted the previously seen buffalo running across the road behind us and into the brushland. We spun round and headed back in that direction and WOW a pride of 7 lions were stalking across the grassland on one side of the road towards the buffalo in the brush on the other side , we were right in the middle :) I managed to video wild lions just feet away for almost 10 minutes before they finally crossed into the brush and out of sight, something we could never have even dreamed of had just happened. All i can really say is thanks Julius and thanks Tito what an amazing experience we really are privileged to have seen those and many other things and it was down to you guys at JT Safari's :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“JT Safari's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

JT Safari's are the best operator in the area, they are insured, don't let the hotel or tour company tell you anything different.
JT's cars and drivers are the best and you need these when you see the state of the roads and driving habits of the locals.
Our driver was Peter who was excellent.
We sent JT 40% deposit 6 weeks befor we came out via on-line banking and there was no risk, the operation is good and you get personal service from JT. The remaining money is not handed over until after the safari when you confirm you were satisfied.
I would recommend VOI lodge for the views and animals, the rooms are 2* but you only get a few hours sleep, I would also recommend Saltlick, a truly amazing place.
JT's air conditioned office is about 200 yards to the left of the front gate of the Diani Sea Lodge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tsavo East/West Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you want the best possible safari experience, then you have come to the right place with JT Safaris! We very recently completed the Tsavo East/West Special and had an amazing time! There is a lot of driving, so we hired our own private jeep (which I would thoroughly recommend) and our guide (Ken) was simply superb and made sure we were entertained all the time. We managed to see a host of wonderful animals and took many amazing photos! Julius was a pleasure to deal with right from the beginning when we found him through Tripadvisor. We stayed at Kilaguni Serena Lodge and found ourselves upgraded to a presidential suite! We simply opened the window and had a watering hole with elephants to view all to ourselves! JT Safaris are not the cheapest, but they are the best!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julius Safaris - Private Day Trips also viewed

 
Tsavo National Park East, Coast Province
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Julius Safaris - Private Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julius Safaris - Private Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Julius Safaris - Private Day Trips to your Saves list