We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but food was a bit salty and poppadoms were stale” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shan e Punjab

Shan e Punjab
Diani Beach Road, Ukunda, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 25 restaurants in Ukunda
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ok but food was a bit salty and poppadoms were stale”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was hoping this would be a great find, but the food was just average and I probably wouldn't rush back. The stale poppadoms didn't make a great start and we had chicken tikka masala which was ok but a bit salty for me. The staff were helpful and the restaurant was not busy. It is located near the Diani hospital, which is close to Leopard Beach Resort.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    4
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great food, but often very quiet...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you staying in a B&B this is probably one of your best options. Good Indian food. Not the best location and often very quiet.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It was across from the resort we where staying at. Great Indian food. Yum yum

Curries where not to spicy. Recommend the chicken tikka masala.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Under New Management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have visited the Shan e Punjab many times over the years and it is good to see it back in the hands of the of people who know about Indian food. The food is excellent, well presented and extremely tasty. Lovely, Preety and his staff are very welcoming.

We wish them every success.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurminder s, Owner at Shan e Punjab, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you very much for liking the food,we promise to deliver the same in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shan e Punjab also viewed

 

Been to Shan e Punjab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shan e Punjab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.