We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
Save Saved
You added Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Ukunda
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

There is no other place i can go to if i want a great holiday in mombasa and for everyone to be entertained.
The Animation team is absolutely amazing and they work very hard to entertain the guest, the hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful, we went over easter break, the hotel many guests but the staff at the bar, restaurants and reception always catered to serve all in good timeframe.
I miss the pizza's at the kole kole, only one thing is they could add more items or choices for the pizza.
JUST PERFECT

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    75
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
82
146
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Wonderful ambience, friendly staff...many staff went out of their way to help. Just beware the beach boys and try to ignore. Food was amazing and plentiful. The bar staff never smile, but are helpful. Asante sana (thank you, very much) and karibu (welcome) are used in abundance. :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Food
For a three night four day stay we for served fish on the buffet two days in a row. No chicken!!!
Bed linen and towels are old and needs a change!
The shower have lost their power and seem clogged.
Showers are not cleaned daily! I know this because I carried sea weed in my swim trunks and it stayed in the shower for three nights! Yuk
Animation team : good team
Kids will be busy all day!
All inclusive drinks choice : basic and no bottled beer. Only keg.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Having been to numerous resorts in Mombasa, this is one of the best. Variety and quality of food, room size and comfort was excellent. Staff went that extra mile to make you feel special
The entertainment team were amazing - thank you for kick starting our exercise routine.
See you next year Kole Kole.

Room Tip: Kole Kole superior rooms were spacious. Mattress was a bit hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I think it may be best to start as the holiday started as there is alot to cram in.
After a long 9 hour flight in Premium, which was not worth the money on a standard aircraft but definately worth it on the Dreamliner which we had on the way back, we arrived at around 9am in stifling heat, it was a serious shock after leaving behind 4 degrees in London. You have to go through a rigorous check at the airport with fingerprints taken etc but then only a short distance to the coach (the boys WILL ask to take your luggage to the coach, let them and TIP THEM).
The journey to the hotel is long, bumpy and one heck of an eye opener, a serious culture shock and extremely humbling, the poverty puts everything back home into perspective.
The arrival at the hotel was stress free and no queing as you have your bags taken straight to your room where you can freshen up before your Arrival Meeting the following morning.
The comlex is huge, 3 seperate sections, The Baobab, The Kole Kole and The Maradidi, we stayed in the Kole Kole.
Our room was very large and we had a 4 poster bed with stunning Indian Ocean views, double sink and shower and lots of storage space. Rooms decorated to a minimal but beautiful standard, lots of authentic bespoke furniture, very classy.
We only had 2 nights at the hotel before we went on our 4 days Ndogo Safari but I will review that seperately.
The Restaurants all serve the same dishes but we stuck to the Jadari as it was much quieter and closer to our room. Food had an Indian flavour and was very tasty and hot, can't fault it at all. All the bars served local beer and spirits, the beer is only ever served in halves so keep your eye on your consumption, it is lethal at 45 degrees!
The Animation Team are just fabulous, they serve up daily and nightly entertainment and become your friends if you get involved in the activities, a credit to the Resort for their sheer hard work.
We braved the beach one day, not as bad as everyone thinks, just be prepared to get swarmed, but a polite and firm "No Thanks" gets the message across.
Monkey's......everywhere and such characters, if you come across daddy baboon, walk round him....you will know what I mean we you see him.....huge.
I have to say this is the best holiday I have ever experienced, I never wanted to go initially but I would go back time and time again, a very humbling experience, especially a day out at Footprints Orphanage, gorgeous, wonderful kids and Kerry is an inspiration

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in September for 10 nights for our honeymoon couldn't fault it at all just perfect.
We opted to stay in the Kole Kole part of the Baobab resort it didn't disappoint, the food was lovely with fresh pasta station at lunch and dinner.
The setting is unreal complete and utter paradise apart from the beach boys though we just ignored them and they didn't bother us at all.
Our room was lovely they had a bottle of wine for us upon our return from Safari along with rose petal turn down, a nice little touch.
The staff were unbelievably friendly as was everyone we met in Kenya, we took the 3 night/4 day safari through pollmans and we couldn't have been luckier with our safari driver syed his knowledge of the animals was second to none.
I would definitely stay here again as it is such an idyllic setting and I totally fell in love with Kenya and Africa as a whole!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Deifinetly worth visiting !!!! We stayed at Superior room on the 2nd floor . We had a lot of "monkey guests". which was a super attraction to us. There are three different kinds of monkeys living in a hotel. They are very friendly but you have to be carefull because they can break into your room (they look for food - especially the sweets) You just have to make sure you closed the balcony doors properly :)
Anyways, the hotel is great and becautiful. Rooms very spacious and clean with beautiful open bathroom. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Great swimmingpool with perfect Indian ocean view. You can also enter the hotel Baobab And Maridadi (and use its restaurants and swimming pools) because these are all the parts of the same hotel. Main hotel is Baobab but Kole kole and Maridadi are its parts. Kole Kole is definetly the best part. !!
Excellent foond in restaurant.
Just perfect !!!!

Hope to come back there again :)

Room Tip: Superior Room in Kole Kole part
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#6 Family Hotel in Ukunda
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani 4.5*
Also Known As:
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Hotel Ukunda
Kole Baobab Hotel Diani
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Kenya/Ukunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.