We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Day 9 & 10 our final days in Kenya. Following a long drive from Massi Mara through the beautiful Rift Valley we arrived at the country club. Our room was cool & relaxing & food was to a high standard. The club had many guests with children playing ball games that thankfully didn't go on all day which allowed the wildlife to return to the grounds. Highlights were relaxing outside our room watching monkeys having fun in the trees & watching zebras graze just meters alway from us. Wifi was available so was able to Skype & share with our family the surrounding views & wildlife. We didn't find the pool area inviting & there wasn't much to do in the evening. We woke on our final day & took a boat ride to Crescent Island where we were able to walk amongst the Giraffes. Several hippos surfaced when our guide knocked on the side of the boats & there were many birdlife surrounding the lake. A nice place to relax before our flight home.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    90
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
69
79
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in naivasha for 12 night due to business travel. I must say i wanted to stay even longer.. The food was great! The staff is so nice they gave us the feeling that we are at our home..
The manager help us with every request we had. It is defenetly an amazing place and i will come back again.. Thanks!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent four days with the whole team for a planning workshop. Just an hour away from nairobi access is easy and you are soon in a different world. Nairobi stress will just be bad memory after an hour in this place.

All of us got upgraded to some even better rooms-thanks again. The rooms are nice and you will have everything you need including a nice private porch which allows you to see all the animals in the garden. In the evening there is a good chance to see hippos crossing the garden. During the day zebras, giraffes, and plenty of other creatures will show up right in front of the window of the conference facilities. Fantastic, we even interrupted some meetings just to see some animals in the beautiful garden.

The hotel staff is always friendly and polite, always trying to go the extra mile that makes a stay outstanding. The food is good and they're is a little hidden tented restaurant which is worth mentioning. Try it, they create miracles if asked for and it faces the water. Really romantic.

Only critique point is the wine menu. There is one but they never have all the wine in stock. A bit disappointing but ok.

Overall, a beautiful place for both private and business stays. Try their boat trips to get closer to the hippos . The island is an interesting experience. I have never been as close to a giraffe. Really cool.

We will come back.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at Naivasha for 4 nights and wanted to stay longer! This is a lovely resort that seems to cater to many small conference gatherings or meetings. The surroundings are lovely, the rooms are spacious and clean, the food (mostly Indian) is quite decent, and the service is exceedingly friendly and courteous. I can't think of a nicer place to have a meeting when you can look over the grounds and see zebra grazing and monkeys running around. If you're lucky you might also see hippos (early in the morning) or the occasional giraffe (late at night). Splendid place to take long walks and the lake is really quite spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our stay at the hotel was overwhelmingly positive. The grounds are very beautiful, lush, there is a lot of wildlife and nature, and easy access to the lake. It's a very serene, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. The staff were all very competent and friendly, and the quality of the food was excellent.
The room was, again, very high quality and comfortable, but was slightly let down by the fact that the bathroom window didn't really close properly so was insecure, was cracked in places, and really didn't fit in alongside everything else which was great.
One other relatively minor negative, whilst at lunch my partner and I witnessed one of the managers speaking to the chef about the wrong king of bread being used, and something not right with salad, this was done within our earshot and made us feel uncomfortable as the chef was clearly getting a bit of a telling off. Not professional to do this in earshot of customers.
Overall though, really love this place and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lake Naivasha Country Club is a combination of awesomeness. From the reception, to the restaurant, to the rooms.. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The environment is very homely. You get to see Zebras, Water bucks and hippos at close range. The compound is very clean. Lake Naivasha Country club can NEVER be regrettable.
Thank you so much for hosting the ICRC team. We sure will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stopped here for lunch only and ate at the fine dine restaurant. The view was beautiful and it was very calm. The food service was awesome but food taste, quality was mediocre. I would recommend to eat at the buffet restaurant if you stopping here for quick lunch only.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the top of the escarpment of the Great Rift Valley you can see Lake Naivasha sparkling in the sun thousands of feet below. Just an hours drive from Nairobi, Naivasha is one of the gems in a necklace of Rift Valley lakes. Perfect for both active and leisure travelers, Lake Naivasha Country Club offers an abundance of activities to please all visitors to Nairobi, Kenya. The resort dates back to the 1930s and has since been transformed into a sprawling 55-acre property with a variety of accommodations and guest facilities, including cottages, a swimming pool, and sumptuous gourmet dining. For adventurers, the nearby Crescent Island is a haven for zebras, wildebeest, gazelles, and giraffes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Country Hotel
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.