We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
nairobi
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bit Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Sigh... This place to me has a huge potential, BUT, just after coming from Sarova Lion Hill lodge, we found a gulf in the service factor and food.

The Key card for my door for starters was not working! We had to get the repair guy to come fix it. Dinner was disappointing too. The chef was from India, and when we tried to converse with him, his English was pretty bad. He was not helpful either unlike Lion Hill where they truly value the customers!

It rained the next morning, so, there is not much one can do there.. Other than that, scenery is fantastic and the boat ride.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    52
    17
    8
See reviews for
60
75
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luyksgestel, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It was a good hotel with a nice garden and lake.
The food was good. Buffet with lots of choices. The only thing I did not like is that this is more a hotel for big groups. At the time we were here there was also a big group and then it's busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have been coming to this hotel for several years hosting an annual meeting. This year, due to some miscommunication between our office and theirs, we were double booked for the final night of our stay, however the hotel made it up for us in upgrades both here and at a sister hotel.

I love this place, it's probably not the most luxurious hotel in Naivasha, although the new Kiboko Tented Camp and bar has lifted standards quite a lot, but it has a fabulous location and very friendly and helpful service. We were upgraded to the luxury tents on stilts at the bottom of the gardens at the lake edge. They were lovely although why have TVs in them? One morning the resident of a neighbouring tent started watching MTV at 6am, so the tranquility of this lovely location can be ruined by the noise of someone on only a thin piece of canvas away.

The service was excellent, the staff all lovely and helpful. We had hot water bottles in our beds at night, and were escorted up to the main house and back again after dark just in case the hippos were around. I had a veranda over the lake and each morning an amazing array of birds visited including Pelicans just feet away, Fish Eagles, and a pair of malachite kingfishers (and plenty more I don't know the name of…)

There's a new conference centre, however I'm not a fan of corporate conference centres, preferring the meeting room at the bottom of the garden, or the Hippo Lounge in the main house where we met on our final day. Lots of natural light and fresh air, very nice. Occasionally our coffee breaks had to be moved indoors due to the monkeys. There are water buck and a lone wilder beast that wander through the gardens and in previous years I've seen herd of zebra pass by the bar, and been unable to get into my room when a mother and baby giraffe duo decided to graze on the bush outside.

The food is a little tired - I'm not sure the menu has changed much in the 5 years I've been coming here, but it nice and well-prepared.

Room Tip: I often stay in room 17 which I think is a 'deluxe room' (perk of being the organiser) but g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to the Masai Mara and found it very relaxing. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the food of a good standard.The staff were very helpful and obliging. We were lucky to see the grazing Hippo's on the lawns as we walked back to our room from dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a night, The service is lovely, staff are very kind and helpful.
The food is good, a lot of variety for breakfast,lunch and dinner. The hotel has a big and nice grass field with few kinds of animals there, and is right on the Lake Naivasha shore.

One big problem for us was there was no air conditioning so it was pretty hot and stuffy . Apart from that everything was average. Te boat ride on the lake is pretty good you get to see the hippos and other birds and animals

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

wonderful hotel with spacious grounds, peace and amazing view of the lake! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!! the food is good esp the breakfast spread!, the staff are friendly! big thanks to Avin George, Anhar Essajee, Chumo and the rest of the team!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location is great; awesome grounds the service received from the front desk to waiters was great. One thing they should change is the security guard at the entrance, asking in-coming and out-going guests irrelevant questions. I doubt one drives all the way down that road and not be going to the hotel.
The dinner variety is average for what one is paying for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the top of the escarpment of the Great Rift Valley you can see Lake Naivasha sparkling in the sun thousands of feet below. Just an hours drive from Nairobi, Naivasha is one of the gems in a necklace of Rift Valley lakes. Perfect for both active and leisure travelers, Lake Naivasha Country Club offers an abundance of activities to please all visitors to Nairobi, Kenya. The resort dates back to the 1930s and has since been transformed into a sprawling 55-acre property with a variety of accommodations and guest facilities, including cottages, a swimming pool, and sumptuous gourmet dining. For adventurers, the nearby Crescent Island is a haven for zebras, wildebeest, gazelles, and giraffes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Country Hotel
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.