We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

wonderful hotel with spacious grounds, peace and amazing view of the lake! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!! the food is good esp the breakfast spread!, the staff are friendly! big thanks to Avin George, Anhar Essajee, Chumo and the rest of the team!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    52
    17
    9
See reviews for
60
75
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location is great; awesome grounds the service received from the front desk to waiters was great. One thing they should change is the security guard at the entrance, asking in-coming and out-going guests irrelevant questions. I doubt one drives all the way down that road and not be going to the hotel.
The dinner variety is average for what one is paying for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived late and departed early the next morning, so we didn't really get to know this hotel very well. For the most part we liked this hotel. Our rooms were ready and clean. The buffet food was alright, not our favorite, but fine. The grounds looked very lovely but we didn't have time to enjoy them. Our bed was comfortable enough.

There were a few things that bugged me. First was the shower. There was hot water, which was good, but it was impossible to keep the water temperature constant. The temperature pulsated between lukewarm and scalding hot. It made the shower experience a disaster.
We also had some problems with the staff. This is the only place we stayed where the porters were a little obnoxious about the tip. I understand that these guys make most of their money from tips but I was very surprised at how expertly the porters made sure they got their tips. This was made more irritating by the fact that we didn't have far to go, our bags were small and they brought more people than was necessary to carry the bags. Like I said, this was the only place we stayed where the staff was like this.

We also had a bad experience with one of the "security escorts." You are supposed to have a security escort to and from your room at night. One of the guys offered to wake us up and take us to see the hippos that come in from the lake at night. We said no, but the guy woke us up anyway at about 1:30am. After a long day of traveling, I was not happy about this. But I will share some of the blame in this situation. We were not very explicit or emphatic with our “No”, so maybe the guy did not completely understand us. Add this to his obvious hope that we would pay him, and I can see how we would get the 1:30 wakeup knock at the door.

So overall this is not a bad place, but I was not overly impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The whole trip was great and exciting. Food and facilities were excellent. The support staff were very kind and friendly. The hotel location was quite good. The garden was quite big and children were able to play in the evening. It was very nice when we ventured out early in the morning for a walk towards the lake just behind the hotel. Overall

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was the weak link in our accommodation during our Kenyan trip. The boat tour on the lake itself was lovely although our guide spoke nil English (rather odd, as this was the only time we encountered this?) and worth the trip. At water level up close and personal to a bunch of hippos was great.
The place needs a few bucks spent on it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with a friend who was visiting from the States. I have to confess, perhaps my expectations were too high for what we got. We had just come from Nakuru and had such a lovely stay there that I suppose I was expecting similar which was unfortunately not to be.

We drove and left the car for a few minutes while we were unloading our bags. After we had checked in, I went to park the car and one of the men by the front told me that our car was leaking and needed to be repaired (of course he knew a guy...). Having just had our car serviced prior to departing on this trip, I knew there was nothing wrong with it. So I meander over to the room and it's on the small side (no big deal). However, the whole place has really seen better days. It's a bit run down. For example: everything in our bathroom went to pieces when I touched it. The toilet seat, the garbage can, the towel rack, etc. The food is not so great - and we had paid for full board. The first night we were there, we went to Enaishaipa for dinner and drinks which was really good. The breakfast buffet was fine but the lunch and dinner ones were not so fantastic. They do have a menu you can order off of but it costs extra.

I also felt like the staff was either completely ambivalent or really frantic. I felt bad for some of our waiters who were stuck with 20 tables at a time and I could tell they were trying their best to keep their clients happy. The pool is really filthy and if you're not a Kenyan resident, you have to pay to use it!

When we got back from dinner late, we did get to see some of the hippos hanging out on the lawn which was really awesome. Just make sure you that you don't get too close as they are not to be trifled with! There is also a lot of wildlife just roaming around, which is one of the few advantages of this place.

Also, it should be noted that because there are tourists coming and going constantly if you are in one of the rooms towards the main building, you will get woken up by annoying tourists at 6am screaming at each other outside your room. Not very relaxing at all.

Overall, we will stay elsewhere next time we are in Naivasha.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights on September.
The service is lovely, staff are very kind and helpful.
The food is good, not a great one but quality is ok and there is some choices to make.
We had a full-board and didn't have a choice to choose other option. We think lunch was a bit unnecessary.
Laundry service is good but expensive (around 30$ for 18 items)

At night there are hippos outside the rooms! If you want ask the guards that escort you at night to wake you up when the hippos are out and to see them from close and safe range!

The hotel has a big and nice grass field with few kinds of animals there, and is right on the Lake Naivasha shore.

One big problem for us was the location. It is a nice place and located on the lake, but.. the things we wanted to do (Hells Gate - 15 mins drive, Lake Oleidon - 45 mins, Crater Lake - more than 1 hour) were far from the hotel, and the transport to there was very expensive. The hotel offered us a very expensive taxi, so we had to find by ourselves through the Internet...
For example - for Hells Gate the hotel offered us a taxi for 5K Kenya SH, while we found in 1.5K (One way).
For Crater Lake the hotel offered 7K (two ways I think), while we found in 4K (two ways).
Just look around and ask people... you will find cheap price.

Overall, if you look for a western hotel close to the lake, and a good place to relax, it is a very nice place.
If the location is important to you and you want to do the attractions mentioned before with less money to transport (or even renting a bicycle!) - there are other hotels/camps with same money or less on the south side of the lake.
The price is too much for the things we offer, and we think that we could go to a much cheaper place (maybe less quality/style) but much closer to the South side.

Room Tip: Most rooms are located at the same place, not much difference between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels

Address: South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the top of the escarpment of the Great Rift Valley you can see Lake Naivasha sparkling in the sun thousands of feet below. Just an hours drive from Nairobi, Naivasha is one of the gems in a necklace of Rift Valley lakes. Perfect for both active and leisure travelers, Lake Naivasha Country Club offers an abundance of activities to please all visitors to Nairobi, Kenya. The resort dates back to the 1930s and has since been transformed into a sprawling 55-acre property with a variety of accommodations and guest facilities, including cottages, a swimming pool, and sumptuous gourmet dining. For adventurers, the nearby Crescent Island is a haven for zebras, wildebeest, gazelles, and giraffes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Country Hotel
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.