We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Naivasha
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So much better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Our only regret was that we only booked in for 1 night on our way from Maasai Mara to Amboseli. This hotel is quiet and beautiful, situated in a large garden filled with antelopes with other game over the fence. Its the ideal spot to 'chill' for a couple of days between long drives and a busy schedule. Great rooms, with a little lounge area, TV, tea making..the best room we had on our 2 week trip around Kenya. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Stay longer than 1 night! You can stay here rather than in Nairobi to be close to the airport. Allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    50
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
33
50
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had gone there as a family to celebrate my Husbands birthday... :)

the property is so beautiful that it totally takes your breath away... there are water bucks strolling around.. a little further down post the fence of the property you would see zeebras and giraffes running and playing... birds chirping... trees whistling... its so serene that you would be at peace instantly...

I had not requested for anything special as we like to generally keep it a quiet affair... but they knew that it was my husbands birthday (had mentioned it while booking). But the way they celebrated it with so much happiness and excitement that we were all blown away! The care they took was so touching we will never forget our stay there.

The only thing I did not like was the rooms... they were too big for my taste... I like cozier and
more comfortable rooms... but then again no one else in the group complained! :D

PS: there are so many trees... dont forget to carry something warm for the evening/early morning stroll!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Popped into this hotel for my recent short stay in Kenya, in fact, for lunch. It was awesome. The food is amazing and enjoyed every moment of it. It was worth the drive all the way from Nairobi. The whole environment is tranquil and relaxing. Cannot wait to sleep here in 2014. Loved the setting, within the bushy areas of Naivasha.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our tour company relocated us to to the Simba Lodge from the Sopa Lodge because of the Rally, so my expectations were not high. However, it was on lovely grounds, the staff was great, food just fine & giraffe, water buck & hippo were present & gorgeous. Room lovely, tho we couldn't open the window because of a huge beehive on the second floor eaves! Lots of hot water, too, for bonus points. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I just returned home from our 11 day safari to Kenya and Tanzania. We stayed at the Simba lodge on our 3rd night and enjoyed every minute of it. It is set on many acres of forest, right on the edge of Lake Naivasha which is in between the Masai Mara and Nairobi. The grounds are beautiful and there are many animals roaming around. We saw all types of gazelle, dik dik, flamingos, hippos, giraffes and many birds too. The public areas: restaurant, bar, pool, gym and the hotel buildings are very nice and in good shape. Our room was very large, with a separate sitting area for watching TV and pretty much was a mini suite. The rooms are also very nicely appointed with African themes and all have a view of the beautiful grounds and the animals are right out the window. One of our favorite things was, we had a ground floor room that had a small, private courtyard with an outside shower that we used a few times and that was a really nice treat! Overall, this place was on of the best we stayed at on safari and the food and the staff was top notch as well. We even made friends with a security guard who took us on a mini, night safari on the grounds where we saw several hippos and other animals too! ( I think his name was Samuel?) I would highly recommend staying here and would stay here myself for sure on a future trip!

Room Tip: Try to get an end, floor unit so you will have an outdoor shower with a private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

When we drove into this resort right next to Lake Naivasha, we were eager to go for the safari walk . It was touching evening when we reached but the staff obliged us with coffee and tea on the house. The rooms were clean and had a sunken living area and the windows afforded a view of the waterbucks grazing just outside! Walking to our rooms when dusk had settled , we were thrilled at catching sight of a herd of waterbucks that had decided to adopt this resort for camping/ grazing at night!
Our adventure started there and then! We booked our Early morning Walk Safari and our boat ride as well at the reception.
We let the staff know that we were there to celebrate my so in law s birthday!
Dinner time when the food had been cleared away, the lights were dimmed and a candle lit procession of the staff swaying and singing weaved towards our table . They made the occasion so memorable! Even some guests joined in!
I mentioned that we were not beef eaters nor v fond of pork so they went out of their way and our table had an extra chicken dish courtesy the chef every time!
Next day the walk safari ( right next to the resort) had us spot hippos, giraffes, water bucks , zebras , etc etc and a number of birds!
The boat ride was awesome. The boat itself was a good one and we saw a number of hippos and the national bird of kenya steadfastly guarding its eggs! Herons and cormorants were in abundance! The weather was perfect with just a little chill. When we reached back, we saw five six giraffes, a number of zebras and waterbucks canter past and frolic in the dust! Awesome! A must Visit! And only about three hours by road from Nairobi!
This hotel is recommended for its Staff, Its cleanliness, its food, its service and its location.And Yes Do Not forget to tip generously everytime. They expect it but they are worth it!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the corner having an extended outdoor shower area. Its a unique experience to bathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in September on a weeks safari in Kenya. We were not originally supposed to stay here but our original accommodation was fully booked, but we did not mind at all as this was a lovely place. The rooms are fantastic and had a great little sunken living area, and with view of waterbucks in the grounds, absolutely amazing! Would definitely recommend anyone to take a boat trip on the lake, its still a little way by car from the lodge, but so worth it, we were told most of the flamingos had migrated already, but there was still thousands to see, along with hippos and all types of birds - cranes, herons, pelicans, etc. Wonderful scenery with the mountains in the background. The hotel has a nice restaurant and a late opening gift shop!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.