We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge on Lake Naivasha” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great lodge on Lake Naivasha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in September on a weeks safari in Kenya. We were not originally supposed to stay here but our original accommodation was fully booked, but we did not mind at all as this was a lovely place. The rooms are fantastic and had a great little sunken living area, and with view of waterbucks in the grounds, absolutely amazing! Would definitely recommend anyone to take a boat trip on the lake, its still a little way by car from the lodge, but so worth it, we were told most of the flamingos had migrated already, but there was still thousands to see, along with hippos and all types of birds - cranes, herons, pelicans, etc. Wonderful scenery with the mountains in the background. The hotel has a nice restaurant and a late opening gift shop!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    62
    22
    9
    0
See reviews for
38
54
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

the hotel has a beautiful garden and the setting and location was good. there were wild animals walking in the garden. it was the only place we stayed where there is tv in the room and tea making facility.

but the room is a bit dated. the mattress was not as comfortable. our key concern was there were more than 10 mosquitos flying around with blood when we walked in the room. the other hotel all provided mosquitos net but this one doesnt.

be very careful with mpsquitos..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recently returned from a Best of Kenya Safari booked through REAL AFRICA in the UK (a company we would highly recommend).

What a lovely place the Navaisha Simba Lodge is. The accommodation, set in large and lovely maintained grounds, is first-class with a nice swimming pool area to relax in when not taking in the sights of the lake areas. Among many other plus - points was the food which was varied and of excellent quality.

As a game viewing location, Lake Naivasha is of course a completely different experience where flamingos and hippos and bird-life in general take the place of elephant, rhino and the big game of reserves such as Amboseli, Samburu and the Masai Mara. To enjoy it properly, you really need to take a boat trip although it is also possible to take a short guided walk beyond the lodge perimeter an join the warthogs, giraffe and other species. (Don't forget to tip the lodge guide a couple of hundred shillings).

We stayed two nights here and on the second day our itinerary included a 90 minute trip to the nearby Lake Nakuru reserve which was well worth it. Had this not been included, then two days at Naivasha alone might have been too much for us - unless we had intended to take a break from “safari-ing” by spend a relaxing day just chilling out by the pool etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for just one night as part of our safari experience booked through 'the Big Journey Company'.

The room was large and comfortable with a sunken sitting area and large patio doors overlooking the ground and out towards the lake. We were lucky to have a waterbuck who'd recently given birth to a calf about 12 foot or so away from our balcony, watching the baby's tottering steps was a joy.
We also saw giraffe wandering about and monkeys, from our room, and when we walked down to the lake saw numerous other birds and animals.

The food was good with plenty of selection, and despite being close to the lake we weren't bitten or even saw / heard any mosquitoes.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the grounds beautifully kept.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The rooms were amazing, with sunken lounge area and a king size bed. The food was delicious and the staff welcoming. The trip to the lake was enjoyable too. We boated around lazy hippo's; walked with giraffe on the lake side! A plethora of birds to view as well. Wandering waterbuck and playful monkeys were viewed as well. Just watch out for the outside showers! (an optional extra in some rooms-the proper indoor showers were more than enough for most of us)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

As part of our safari, this hotel was as close as we got to a British hotel. To sit in the sunken "lounge area"' and watch wildlife wandering just a few metres away. The biggest animal on view in this area was a hippo, so we kept indoors, and wandered toward the lake with some trepidation the next day. There were hippos in the lake, but they did not venture too close to our boats. The small walk from our room to the dining area was safe, as the free to animal area was fenced off from us. Food good, and service excellent. No sign of beggars here, and a good experience was the order of the day.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel and grounds - peaceful and relaxing. Food was good, room was great!

Take advantage of a guided nature walk on the grounds. My guide and I were able to quitely walk up within 15 feet of giraffe's and water buck. This was the highlight of my one night stay.

Room Tip: Don't miss the nature walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.