We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel and grounds - peaceful and relaxing. Food was good, room was great!

Take advantage of a guided nature walk on the grounds. My guide and I were able to quitely walk up within 15 feet of giraffe's and water buck. This was the highlight of my one night stay.

Room Tip: Don't miss the nature walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    57
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
35
53
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way to the massai mara. Food was average and buffet style. A chef was avaioable at mealtimes to coook things to order: stir fry in evenings, eggs for breakfast. Accommodation was clean but large population of mosquitos due to the lake (they spray your room each evening but ask them to leave the spray as they get in later). View when opening curtains in morning was fab - a heard of antelope were walking passed the window. Animals were very close as they were free to roam the grounds. Signs were in place reminding guests to be careful as the animals are wild and can be dangerous.
Overall, this was not the best of the three lodges we stayed at but was fine for the one night and as a starting point for the day trip on the impressive lake it was great

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed with my wife for 1 night at Lake Naivasha and were surprised by how close we could see the hippos and the giraffes. The lodge is located meters away from the lake and the staff is helpful to take you on a walk to see the animals. The food was delicious and varied. The room was comfortable and had a nice terrace to sit and enjoy the sounds and sights of the wild with a nice coffee.

Room Tip: I prefer the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We only stayed here one evening en route to the masai mara, picuresque lodge with lovely paths and landscaped gardens, rooms were clean, large and adequate, lovely view from the room overlooking a park with water bucks and other wildlife roaming the grounds.
Food was OK, buffet style but was the worst of the 3 lodges we stayed at, as was the hospitality on arrival.
Staff were however very obliging and helpful, but there didn't seem to be many guests for such a large place.
For some reason we didn't feel as secure here as at other lodges, one thing we didn't like was the patio door and windows in the bathroom that were completely glass from ceiling to floor, the door leading to a small patio surrounded by a high wall (but not high enough that 2 people couldn't help each other over)there was no curtain to pull across and we felt very exposed when using the bathroom/toilet, we kept looking to see if there was someone lurking in there !!
We felt that the room was easily accessable from the outside, I think we would have been happier had we not been at ground floor level.
Having said all that our stop over here was one of the best uninterrupted nights sleep we had whilst in Kenya, and we both commented on that the next morning.
I would recommend staying here again but only as a stopover maximum 2 nights would be enough for me.

Room Tip: You may feel not feel so safe with a room at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Unique, serene and quite location away from the hustles and bustles of towns. You can view some of Kenya's rich wildlife heritage just from your hotel or restaurant window. Internet and mobile phone connection :(. Great and diverse choice of food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this lodge for one night before a safari. The rooms were done very well and your needs were for a sleepover were satisfied. The staff was average, the food was so-so, but the garden was beautiful. They have wifi and they do not charge for it! This is pretty cool!

If you just want to sleep somewhere before a safari, this is an okay place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here for a night with my family of 6. the rooms were cozy and well appointed, with water bucks grazing outside the room.

You can spot a hippo or two beyond the electric fence. Good cottages but generally a cold feel to it, no warmth of hospitality as I experienced at other locations in Kenya. Yet a good place to stop over between hectic road trips to and from Masai Mara (of course if you happen to take the Masai, Naivasha Nairobi Route).

All the bird lovers out there - do not miss a boat ride in lake Naivasha. Good bird life to be seen there - cormorants, darters, pelicans, pied king fishers, fish eagles and many more!

Barring the hospitality aspect a good place. I would not say that it is a place not to be missed, but if you need a stop over at Naivasha, this place is not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.