We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, OK place for a stop over” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average, OK place for a stop over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We only stayed here one evening en route to the masai mara, picuresque lodge with lovely paths and landscaped gardens, rooms were clean, large and adequate, lovely view from the room overlooking a park with water bucks and other wildlife roaming the grounds.
Food was OK, buffet style but was the worst of the 3 lodges we stayed at, as was the hospitality on arrival.
Staff were however very obliging and helpful, but there didn't seem to be many guests for such a large place.
For some reason we didn't feel as secure here as at other lodges, one thing we didn't like was the patio door and windows in the bathroom that were completely glass from ceiling to floor, the door leading to a small patio surrounded by a high wall (but not high enough that 2 people couldn't help each other over)there was no curtain to pull across and we felt very exposed when using the bathroom/toilet, we kept looking to see if there was someone lurking in there !!
We felt that the room was easily accessable from the outside, I think we would have been happier had we not been at ground floor level.
Having said all that our stop over here was one of the best uninterrupted nights sleep we had whilst in Kenya, and we both commented on that the next morning.
I would recommend staying here again but only as a stopover maximum 2 nights would be enough for me.

Room Tip: You may feel not feel so safe with a room at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    69
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
43
58
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Unique, serene and quite location away from the hustles and bustles of towns. You can view some of Kenya's rich wildlife heritage just from your hotel or restaurant window. Internet and mobile phone connection :(. Great and diverse choice of food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this lodge for one night before a safari. The rooms were done very well and your needs were for a sleepover were satisfied. The staff was average, the food was so-so, but the garden was beautiful. They have wifi and they do not charge for it! This is pretty cool!

If you just want to sleep somewhere before a safari, this is an okay place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here for a night with my family of 6. the rooms were cozy and well appointed, with water bucks grazing outside the room.

You can spot a hippo or two beyond the electric fence. Good cottages but generally a cold feel to it, no warmth of hospitality as I experienced at other locations in Kenya. Yet a good place to stop over between hectic road trips to and from Masai Mara (of course if you happen to take the Masai, Naivasha Nairobi Route).

All the bird lovers out there - do not miss a boat ride in lake Naivasha. Good bird life to be seen there - cormorants, darters, pelicans, pied king fishers, fish eagles and many more!

Barring the hospitality aspect a good place. I would not say that it is a place not to be missed, but if you need a stop over at Naivasha, this place is not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights during a 2 week safari/beach holiday. By far theworst accomm we stayed in and food was quite poor. Hotel has moved into the Kenya Corporate market and we were in the middle of a training day for Safaricom which didnt make for a relaxing stay, Staff seemed to be focusing on the company not private guests and overall it felt like a very impersonal experience where we were second class guests.

Rooms a bit dated and lots of Mossies so care about opening windows as the rooms have no nets.

Lake is so full at present that boat trips not possible and you cant see the lake from the Hotel.

If you can I should avoid this lodge

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I don't know how to explain it but both me and my fiancé felt this lodge had a cold ambience and feel to it.

We went to several lodges for our safari in Kenya and all of them were warm and inviting, but this one gave us a different feeling.

Perhaps it was the fact that the reception felt like a military sign-up office, the staff uniform looking a bit like military gear, the white straight lines of all the rooms and restaurant or maybe the fact that the rooms were freezing cold. We just didn't feel at home and I know that sounds stupid, but maybe someone finds it useful anyway.

The food was ok, but not great. I did like the fact that one of the chefs seemed to be proud of his cooking, that is great for improving and getting even better.

Service of the security personell was great and one took us to see the hippo at night.

i liked the fact that you could see zebras and water bucks from your room every day.

it was an ok experience staying here, i am unsure wheter we would choose this place again.

We stayed two nights and booked through a travel agent so I don't know how much they paid for the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you want a nice quiet place to get away from the Nairobi hustle and bustle – this is it ! Only an hour drive from Nairobi nestled by Lake Naivasha

The grounds are lovely and gardens perfectly manicured and expansive, the walk around was very pleasant.

We got a triple room which was a wee bit small – we kept getting into each other’s way :-( The beds were small as well :-(

They have a small cozy couch inform of the TV which was pretty cool – split level. And the kettle / coffee / tea bags were set here. Came in handy because it gets really chilly in the night!

The food is good – buffet - with lots of options to choose from. The mousse was divine ! Oh and the waiters are very helpful and attentive. Liep (I think that was his name ) was exceptional ! He seemed to appear when you needed something and offered alternatives when he did not have what you wanted. Good Job !

Power on the other hand, kept going on and off which was a bit irritating

Overall - pretty good :-)

Room Tip: Avoid the triple room it you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naivasha
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#15 of 33 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.