We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property for a nights stop over from Masai to Aberdare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good property for a nights stop over from Masai to Aberdare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here for a night with my family of 6. the rooms were cozy and well appointed, with water bucks grazing outside the room.

You can spot a hippo or two beyond the electric fence. Good cottages but generally a cold feel to it, no warmth of hospitality as I experienced at other locations in Kenya. Yet a good place to stop over between hectic road trips to and from Masai Mara (of course if you happen to take the Masai, Naivasha Nairobi Route).

All the bird lovers out there - do not miss a boat ride in lake Naivasha. Good bird life to be seen there - cormorants, darters, pelicans, pied king fishers, fish eagles and many more!

Barring the hospitality aspect a good place. I would not say that it is a place not to be missed, but if you need a stop over at Naivasha, this place is not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
37
53
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights during a 2 week safari/beach holiday. By far theworst accomm we stayed in and food was quite poor. Hotel has moved into the Kenya Corporate market and we were in the middle of a training day for Safaricom which didnt make for a relaxing stay, Staff seemed to be focusing on the company not private guests and overall it felt like a very impersonal experience where we were second class guests.

Rooms a bit dated and lots of Mossies so care about opening windows as the rooms have no nets.

Lake is so full at present that boat trips not possible and you cant see the lake from the Hotel.

If you can I should avoid this lodge

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I don't know how to explain it but both me and my fiancé felt this lodge had a cold ambience and feel to it.

We went to several lodges for our safari in Kenya and all of them were warm and inviting, but this one gave us a different feeling.

Perhaps it was the fact that the reception felt like a military sign-up office, the staff uniform looking a bit like military gear, the white straight lines of all the rooms and restaurant or maybe the fact that the rooms were freezing cold. We just didn't feel at home and I know that sounds stupid, but maybe someone finds it useful anyway.

The food was ok, but not great. I did like the fact that one of the chefs seemed to be proud of his cooking, that is great for improving and getting even better.

Service of the security personell was great and one took us to see the hippo at night.

i liked the fact that you could see zebras and water bucks from your room every day.

it was an ok experience staying here, i am unsure wheter we would choose this place again.

We stayed two nights and booked through a travel agent so I don't know how much they paid for the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you want a nice quiet place to get away from the Nairobi hustle and bustle – this is it ! Only an hour drive from Nairobi nestled by Lake Naivasha

The grounds are lovely and gardens perfectly manicured and expansive, the walk around was very pleasant.

We got a triple room which was a wee bit small – we kept getting into each other’s way :-( The beds were small as well :-(

They have a small cozy couch inform of the TV which was pretty cool – split level. And the kettle / coffee / tea bags were set here. Came in handy because it gets really chilly in the night!

The food is good – buffet - with lots of options to choose from. The mousse was divine ! Oh and the waiters are very helpful and attentive. Liep (I think that was his name ) was exceptional ! He seemed to appear when you needed something and offered alternatives when he did not have what you wanted. Good Job !

Power on the other hand, kept going on and off which was a bit irritating

Overall - pretty good :-)

Room Tip: Avoid the triple room it you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed there for just one night. Great place to stay, the double storied buildings are scattered around a large property with well maintained lawns and gardens where waterbucks roam about grazing on the vegetation. Just beyond the electric fence one can see giraffes, zebras and an occasional hippo.

Very peaceful and serene, just beside the lake.
Good, well furnished rooms.
Great service and food too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very comfortable place to stay, great staff who make sure your well looked after. Waterbuck in the grounds with plenty of marabou storks paying a visit, and a kingfisher fishing in the ponds. Giraffe and zebra just beyond the fence which are easy to get close to, with the hippo's coming out at night! Breakfast, lunch and dinner all hot buffet style with food to satisfy all tastes and to a high standard. Rooms are large with an outside shower (indoor too), free Wifi and always animals outside the window! A very relaxing stay here!
We booked with Real Africa in UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located close to the lake. The service is good for being Kenya with attentive waiters and receptionists. They have a fitness center but you have to pay to use it, which is not a plus given what we pay to stay here. The pool area is good with cold drinks and good service. Wifi is free and works surprisingly well, which is a plus. We can here without a car and it was impossible to book a safari drive or anything else for that matter. So there is improvement potential in expanding the services offered. Hell's gate is almost next door so access to key sites is easy. Nikuru is about 1 hour drive away. Note that all the pink flamingos are more or less gone. The rooms are fairly large but has not been renovated for a long time. The beds feel like they have seen a thousand guests already before we came.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.