We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice lodge, but with a "hard" feal to it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice lodge, but with a "hard" feal to it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I don't know how to explain it but both me and my fiancé felt this lodge had a cold ambience and feel to it.

We went to several lodges for our safari in Kenya and all of them were warm and inviting, but this one gave us a different feeling.

Perhaps it was the fact that the reception felt like a military sign-up office, the staff uniform looking a bit like military gear, the white straight lines of all the rooms and restaurant or maybe the fact that the rooms were freezing cold. We just didn't feel at home and I know that sounds stupid, but maybe someone finds it useful anyway.

The food was ok, but not great. I did like the fact that one of the chefs seemed to be proud of his cooking, that is great for improving and getting even better.

Service of the security personell was great and one took us to see the hippo at night.

i liked the fact that you could see zebras and water bucks from your room every day.

it was an ok experience staying here, i am unsure wheter we would choose this place again.

We stayed two nights and booked through a travel agent so I don't know how much they paid for the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
34
52
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you want a nice quiet place to get away from the Nairobi hustle and bustle – this is it ! Only an hour drive from Nairobi nestled by Lake Naivasha

The grounds are lovely and gardens perfectly manicured and expansive, the walk around was very pleasant.

We got a triple room which was a wee bit small – we kept getting into each other’s way :-( The beds were small as well :-(

They have a small cozy couch inform of the TV which was pretty cool – split level. And the kettle / coffee / tea bags were set here. Came in handy because it gets really chilly in the night!

The food is good – buffet - with lots of options to choose from. The mousse was divine ! Oh and the waiters are very helpful and attentive. Liep (I think that was his name ) was exceptional ! He seemed to appear when you needed something and offered alternatives when he did not have what you wanted. Good Job !

Power on the other hand, kept going on and off which was a bit irritating

Overall - pretty good :-)

Room Tip: Avoid the triple room it you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed there for just one night. Great place to stay, the double storied buildings are scattered around a large property with well maintained lawns and gardens where waterbucks roam about grazing on the vegetation. Just beyond the electric fence one can see giraffes, zebras and an occasional hippo.

Very peaceful and serene, just beside the lake.
Good, well furnished rooms.
Great service and food too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very comfortable place to stay, great staff who make sure your well looked after. Waterbuck in the grounds with plenty of marabou storks paying a visit, and a kingfisher fishing in the ponds. Giraffe and zebra just beyond the fence which are easy to get close to, with the hippo's coming out at night! Breakfast, lunch and dinner all hot buffet style with food to satisfy all tastes and to a high standard. Rooms are large with an outside shower (indoor too), free Wifi and always animals outside the window! A very relaxing stay here!
We booked with Real Africa in UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is well located close to the lake. The service is good for being Kenya with attentive waiters and receptionists. They have a fitness center but you have to pay to use it, which is not a plus given what we pay to stay here. The pool area is good with cold drinks and good service. Wifi is free and works surprisingly well, which is a plus. We can here without a car and it was impossible to book a safari drive or anything else for that matter. So there is improvement potential in expanding the services offered. Hell's gate is almost next door so access to key sites is easy. Nikuru is about 1 hour drive away. Note that all the pink flamingos are more or less gone. The rooms are fairly large but has not been renovated for a long time. The beds feel like they have seen a thousand guests already before we came.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When travelling to Lake Nakuru you can stay at the Lake Nakuru Lodge. The lodge is easily reachable and you get good value. Rooms are simple and clean. Ask for room with view on Lake.
There is a drinking place for the animals and from the restaurant you have a look on it. Be aware of baboons! Food is simple, staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in Navaisha simba lodge. The rooms were good. The staff in the restaurant was friendly. Food is ok but it is the usual buffet style with limited variation. The nearby hell's gate park was certainly worth a visit. It is also a welcome change that you can cycle in the park. On our second day we did a boat tour to crescent island but did not find this to be really worthwhile. I think one night at Navaisha is sufficient. There are animals (water bucks and giraffes) on the property and the lodge has a swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.