We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is well located close to the lake. The service is good for being Kenya with attentive waiters and receptionists. They have a fitness center but you have to pay to use it, which is not a plus given what we pay to stay here. The pool area is good with cold drinks and good service. Wifi is free and works surprisingly well, which is a plus. We can here without a car and it was impossible to book a safari drive or anything else for that matter. So there is improvement potential in expanding the services offered. Hell's gate is almost next door so access to key sites is easy. Nikuru is about 1 hour drive away. Note that all the pink flamingos are more or less gone. The rooms are fairly large but has not been renovated for a long time. The beds feel like they have seen a thousand guests already before we came.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
35
52
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When travelling to Lake Nakuru you can stay at the Lake Nakuru Lodge. The lodge is easily reachable and you get good value. Rooms are simple and clean. Ask for room with view on Lake.
There is a drinking place for the animals and from the restaurant you have a look on it. Be aware of baboons! Food is simple, staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in Navaisha simba lodge. The rooms were good. The staff in the restaurant was friendly. Food is ok but it is the usual buffet style with limited variation. The nearby hell's gate park was certainly worth a visit. It is also a welcome change that you can cycle in the park. On our second day we did a boat tour to crescent island but did not find this to be really worthwhile. I think one night at Navaisha is sufficient. There are animals (water bucks and giraffes) on the property and the lodge has a swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a family of 5. The rooms were well appointed, each with its own balcony overlooking the grassy areas where waterbuck and zebra decided to pay us a visit.
The buffet meals were of a reasonably good quality, the variety was very good and the service was excellent.
All round a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We did stay here 1 night with the family during our great safari trip with Africa Veterans Safaris .
Compared with the other hotels/ lodges the hospitality and the spontanious pro-activity was at a lower level . Nevertheless our overall expectations were met.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at simba lodge naivasha during easter 2013. I think that the hotel was very nice and service there was excellent. Location is also good if you wish to visit e.g. mount longonot or hell's gate.

More on the negative side I must say that the food at the hotel was not good and the spa is not really a spa but rather a couple of cold rooms with massage tables. The rooms do not have mosquito nets above the beds and since the staff opens the windows everytime they visit the rooms, there are a lot of mosquitos in rooms during night time (and naivasha is malaria area).

All in all, I found simba lodge an ok hotel with excellent staff and good location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent one night here with family and it is a good place for a day trip or overnight stay. Set in large grounds where the Waterbucks are resident and roam freely. Over the little bridge you can then walk (at a distance) with Giraffe's, Zebra's, saw some Buffalo and at night when on the right side of the fence you can see and hear the Hippo's! It is a lovely feeling being so close to these wild animals. The lodge itself is very nice, rooms are a little dated and could do with an upgrade but generally they are all fairly decent. The food and dining areas are also of good quality. There is a pool area, with a pub/bar and a gym. There is also another bar near the dining area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.