We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with ok rooms and good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Naivasha
Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with ok rooms and good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at simba lodge naivasha during easter 2013. I think that the hotel was very nice and service there was excellent. Location is also good if you wish to visit e.g. mount longonot or hell's gate.

More on the negative side I must say that the food at the hotel was not good and the spa is not really a spa but rather a couple of cold rooms with massage tables. The rooms do not have mosquito nets above the beds and since the staff opens the windows everytime they visit the rooms, there are a lot of mosquitos in rooms during night time (and naivasha is malaria area).

All in all, I found simba lodge an ok hotel with excellent staff and good location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    49
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
33
49
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent one night here with family and it is a good place for a day trip or overnight stay. Set in large grounds where the Waterbucks are resident and roam freely. Over the little bridge you can then walk (at a distance) with Giraffe's, Zebra's, saw some Buffalo and at night when on the right side of the fence you can see and hear the Hippo's! It is a lovely feeling being so close to these wild animals. The lodge itself is very nice, rooms are a little dated and could do with an upgrade but generally they are all fairly decent. The food and dining areas are also of good quality. There is a pool area, with a pub/bar and a gym. There is also another bar near the dining area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have to say that I did not expect to have much wifi on the veldt in Africa, but when a hotel says that they will have it, and it was down, I was at a loss for how to contact my family and let them know everything was OK. I suppose that the lack of contact is part of the allure to a vacation like this. At any rate, the room was very comfortable and the Bucks outside our sliders spent the entire night there, almost as though they were guarding our room. Ask someone to take you over the bridge to see the Giraffes. You'll see what I mean. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were surprised to find this hotel rooms over the Easter holiday despite its being ranked as #2 in the Naivasha region. The grounds are beautiful and expansive. The kids play area kept our young one busy.
For the price we paid, it's way over priced. The meals are nothing to look forward to, with little variety.
The staff seems not to make any decisions over the simplest of things such as late check outs.
The rooms are quite cold and with no AC One needs a sweater plus house slippers for the icy floors. There are too many mosquitos and no net in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The two nights we spent in this lodge were extremely comfortable. The rooms are mostly two-tiered buildings spread around beautifully kept spacious gardens. The rooms are excellent both clean and spacious with a nice seating area apart from the sleeping area. We were a little disappointed not to have a balcony but this is just a minor fault. It was super to wake in the morning and watch all the wildlife grazing in the gardens and the bird life was also very plentiful.

The restaurant served excellent food by very friendly and efficient staff. They made you feel very welcome indeed.

We took a boat ride onto the lake and enjoyed it immensely. The boatman had a wonderful party trick where he would get a fish from one of the local fishermen then when out on the lake he would give a piercing whistle, throw the fish out into the lake and the resident Fish Eagle would swoop down from a nearby tree and take the fish from the water. Quite spectacular.

I would highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms are widely spread around the extensive gardens so it depends how near you would like to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sad that you cannot see the lake as they say you can...very disappointing.

Grounds were beautiful and rooms were very spacious and clean. No mosquito nets however.

Hotel security (a Masai gentleman) took us for a lovely walk after dinner into the bush where the giraffes, Dik Diks, zebras and bush bucks got very close to us.

Pool was beautiful and well kept.

Very busy property with many rooms and lots of local conventions going on.

Food left a lot to be desired...yuck!

And the store staff girl was too busy eating in the hotel restaurant to be able to keep the opening hours that were posted so we waited for almost an hour until she showed up with no apology!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this resort for only one night on my way from Smburu and the Ark to Nairobi. I really enjoyed my time there and would like to go back and spend a little more time whenever I am back in Kenya. The rooms are clean and spacious, The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner are of very high quality and is served in a very nice and clean restaurant. The pool is clean and a swim after a day of travel and sightseeing is really refreshing. I also enjoyed the very large area to stroll and see few animals that walk around freely between the hotel ground and the lake. I highly recommend this hotel/resort for a day or longer. I am sure you will enjoy the service and the accomodation as much as I did.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.