We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel that needs better management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Nairobi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel that needs better management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were surprised to find this hotel rooms over the Easter holiday despite its being ranked as #2 in the Naivasha region. The grounds are beautiful and expansive. The kids play area kept our young one busy.
For the price we paid, it's way over priced. The meals are nothing to look forward to, with little variety.
The staff seems not to make any decisions over the simplest of things such as late check outs.
The rooms are quite cold and with no AC One needs a sweater plus house slippers for the icy floors. There are too many mosquitos and no net in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    62
    22
    9
    0
See reviews for
38
54
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The two nights we spent in this lodge were extremely comfortable. The rooms are mostly two-tiered buildings spread around beautifully kept spacious gardens. The rooms are excellent both clean and spacious with a nice seating area apart from the sleeping area. We were a little disappointed not to have a balcony but this is just a minor fault. It was super to wake in the morning and watch all the wildlife grazing in the gardens and the bird life was also very plentiful.

The restaurant served excellent food by very friendly and efficient staff. They made you feel very welcome indeed.

We took a boat ride onto the lake and enjoyed it immensely. The boatman had a wonderful party trick where he would get a fish from one of the local fishermen then when out on the lake he would give a piercing whistle, throw the fish out into the lake and the resident Fish Eagle would swoop down from a nearby tree and take the fish from the water. Quite spectacular.

I would highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms are widely spread around the extensive gardens so it depends how near you would like to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Sad that you cannot see the lake as they say you can...very disappointing.

Grounds were beautiful and rooms were very spacious and clean. No mosquito nets however.

Hotel security (a Masai gentleman) took us for a lovely walk after dinner into the bush where the giraffes, Dik Diks, zebras and bush bucks got very close to us.

Pool was beautiful and well kept.

Very busy property with many rooms and lots of local conventions going on.

Food left a lot to be desired...yuck!

And the store staff girl was too busy eating in the hotel restaurant to be able to keep the opening hours that were posted so we waited for almost an hour until she showed up with no apology!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this resort for only one night on my way from Smburu and the Ark to Nairobi. I really enjoyed my time there and would like to go back and spend a little more time whenever I am back in Kenya. The rooms are clean and spacious, The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner are of very high quality and is served in a very nice and clean restaurant. The pool is clean and a swim after a day of travel and sightseeing is really refreshing. I also enjoyed the very large area to stroll and see few animals that walk around freely between the hotel ground and the lake. I highly recommend this hotel/resort for a day or longer. I am sure you will enjoy the service and the accomodation as much as I did.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Came to Simba lodge for a four day meeting. Excellent place with great ambience.
The conference centers are excellent, with a good food selection.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Very many animals to see, and some come really close to the rooms, though this is not dangerous.
Enjoyed the spa as well, and the pool was also heavenly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Naivasha Simba Lodge for three days over the New Year holiday and we came away happy and satisfied with the experience. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable, lots of pressure in the shower and a balcony to relax in. Top marks go to the kitchen staff, who continously surprised us with an enticing variety of delicious dishes at every buffet meal, so that we never got bored. The pool wasn't heated as claimed online, but that didn't stop guests from enjoying it. Pool staff kept the children busy with plenty of games. It was amazing to have impala, deer and dik dik grazing just outside our balcony. Arrangements for entertainment could have been better for the New Year festivities, but overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one night at Lake Naivasha Simba lodge as part of a tour.

Our room was at the far end of the complex - bring a torch!

The room is tiled which made it very cold - especially as there's no AirCon. There were mosquitos in the bathroom and no net in the room itself.

The food was ok - there was a good choice. There was roast beef which looked promising but it turned out to be very chewy and fatty.

There's wildlife in the grounds - which are very nicely cared for. We saw monkeys and antelope.

Lake Naivasha is fantastic and I'd definitely recommend visiting. This hotel is fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Having viewed the other pictures, the rooms nearer the main complex look better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.