We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and beautiful grounds but no lake view as advertised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and beautiful grounds but no lake view as advertised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Sad that you cannot see the lake as they say you can...very disappointing.

Grounds were beautiful and rooms were very spacious and clean. No mosquito nets however.

Hotel security (a Masai gentleman) took us for a lovely walk after dinner into the bush where the giraffes, Dik Diks, zebras and bush bucks got very close to us.

Pool was beautiful and well kept.

Very busy property with many rooms and lots of local conventions going on.

Food left a lot to be desired...yuck!

And the store staff girl was too busy eating in the hotel restaurant to be able to keep the opening hours that were posted so we waited for almost an hour until she showed up with no apology!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    22
    9
    0
See reviews for
39
54
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this resort for only one night on my way from Smburu and the Ark to Nairobi. I really enjoyed my time there and would like to go back and spend a little more time whenever I am back in Kenya. The rooms are clean and spacious, The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner are of very high quality and is served in a very nice and clean restaurant. The pool is clean and a swim after a day of travel and sightseeing is really refreshing. I also enjoyed the very large area to stroll and see few animals that walk around freely between the hotel ground and the lake. I highly recommend this hotel/resort for a day or longer. I am sure you will enjoy the service and the accomodation as much as I did.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Came to Simba lodge for a four day meeting. Excellent place with great ambience.
The conference centers are excellent, with a good food selection.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Very many animals to see, and some come really close to the rooms, though this is not dangerous.
Enjoyed the spa as well, and the pool was also heavenly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Naivasha Simba Lodge for three days over the New Year holiday and we came away happy and satisfied with the experience. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable, lots of pressure in the shower and a balcony to relax in. Top marks go to the kitchen staff, who continously surprised us with an enticing variety of delicious dishes at every buffet meal, so that we never got bored. The pool wasn't heated as claimed online, but that didn't stop guests from enjoying it. Pool staff kept the children busy with plenty of games. It was amazing to have impala, deer and dik dik grazing just outside our balcony. Arrangements for entertainment could have been better for the New Year festivities, but overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one night at Lake Naivasha Simba lodge as part of a tour.

Our room was at the far end of the complex - bring a torch!

The room is tiled which made it very cold - especially as there's no AirCon. There were mosquitos in the bathroom and no net in the room itself.

The food was ok - there was a good choice. There was roast beef which looked promising but it turned out to be very chewy and fatty.

There's wildlife in the grounds - which are very nicely cared for. We saw monkeys and antelope.

Lake Naivasha is fantastic and I'd definitely recommend visiting. This hotel is fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Having viewed the other pictures, the rooms nearer the main complex look better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was a second stop for my husband and I on an organised Thomas Cook Signature Safari , our honeymoon.
More modern than previous lodge, well appointed rooms with small sunken living areas with TV and fridges. Private bathrooms, all mod cons with a charming outside courtyard which had an open air shower. We could only assume this was to cool you down periodically if you used it as a sun trap. Large beds with hook to hang mosquito net. Toiletries provided.
Only here for one night but there is little to do as the grounds are actually vey limited and you are not allowed to cross over towards the Lake after certain hour and without an escort.
Bar area is very well stocked. Good service at meal times, plenty of variety and a help yourself buffet which worked well.
Swimming pool was full of noisy children when we were there and shuts at 6pm so not much choice if you want a drink and a swim after visiting the lake or a long drive.
Staff at reception a bit stand offish, but in general could not do enough for you.

Room Tip: They all have a balcony or seating area outside and face the lake, I prefer a ground floor but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Compared with the other two places we stayed last week, I cannot really recommend this lodging. Rooms did not have any window and were somewhat "clinical" with no privacy as the only way to prevent people peeping into your room was to close the whole of the door curtain. Mosquitoes in the rooms. Toilet flushing got stucked and water was running constantly for over a minute everytime it is flushed. Shower curtain didn't really work and water was everywhere. Staffs at reception were cold. Food was average.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.