We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Refreshing getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Naivasha Simba Lodge for three days over the New Year holiday and we came away happy and satisfied with the experience. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable, lots of pressure in the shower and a balcony to relax in. Top marks go to the kitchen staff, who continously surprised us with an enticing variety of delicious dishes at every buffet meal, so that we never got bored. The pool wasn't heated as claimed online, but that didn't stop guests from enjoying it. Pool staff kept the children busy with plenty of games. It was amazing to have impala, deer and dik dik grazing just outside our balcony. Arrangements for entertainment could have been better for the New Year festivities, but overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
34
52
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one night at Lake Naivasha Simba lodge as part of a tour.

Our room was at the far end of the complex - bring a torch!

The room is tiled which made it very cold - especially as there's no AirCon. There were mosquitos in the bathroom and no net in the room itself.

The food was ok - there was a good choice. There was roast beef which looked promising but it turned out to be very chewy and fatty.

There's wildlife in the grounds - which are very nicely cared for. We saw monkeys and antelope.

Lake Naivasha is fantastic and I'd definitely recommend visiting. This hotel is fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Having viewed the other pictures, the rooms nearer the main complex look better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was a second stop for my husband and I on an organised Thomas Cook Signature Safari , our honeymoon.
More modern than previous lodge, well appointed rooms with small sunken living areas with TV and fridges. Private bathrooms, all mod cons with a charming outside courtyard which had an open air shower. We could only assume this was to cool you down periodically if you used it as a sun trap. Large beds with hook to hang mosquito net. Toiletries provided.
Only here for one night but there is little to do as the grounds are actually vey limited and you are not allowed to cross over towards the Lake after certain hour and without an escort.
Bar area is very well stocked. Good service at meal times, plenty of variety and a help yourself buffet which worked well.
Swimming pool was full of noisy children when we were there and shuts at 6pm so not much choice if you want a drink and a swim after visiting the lake or a long drive.
Staff at reception a bit stand offish, but in general could not do enough for you.

Room Tip: They all have a balcony or seating area outside and face the lake, I prefer a ground floor but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Compared with the other two places we stayed last week, I cannot really recommend this lodging. Rooms did not have any window and were somewhat "clinical" with no privacy as the only way to prevent people peeping into your room was to close the whole of the door curtain. Mosquitoes in the rooms. Toilet flushing got stucked and water was running constantly for over a minute everytime it is flushed. Shower curtain didn't really work and water was everywhere. Staffs at reception were cold. Food was average.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Was in Naivasha for 2 days with my family for a final trip before returning to New York. All I can say is I wish we stayed in Naivasha longer. This place has so much to offer! The lodge is very quiet and perfect for relaxation. The rooms are clean and I like the small living area overlooking the wild....The water bucks came up to a stone throw away from our balcony. Morning walks to the lake were a great start. Not to forget the friendly monkey that paused for pictures on our last day there. Meals at the lodge were excellent and staff very friendly. I recommend a trip to Hell's Gate - it's a challenge but worth every moment, plus very cheap...Lots of animals to see, zebras, giraffes, etc. My kids enjoyed this trip very much and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in thie hotel for one night. A beautiful hotel witn amazing view, located on the lake. You just take a walk around a the hotel grounds and around the lake and see Giraffes and other amazing animals.

Room Tip: The rooms were beautiful and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel close to Nairobi and very refreshing place. Good food and clean Rooms how can I forget their power showers .clean swimming pools with steam sauna and fully equipped gym.A lovely playground for our kids with all amenities and tennis courts.Best part of this hotel is you can see animals like waterbuck,impalas,dickdick and Giraffes right from your room window.Their boat ride to crescent island is most memorable .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.