We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with amazing view on the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel with amazing view on the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in thie hotel for one night. A beautiful hotel witn amazing view, located on the lake. You just take a walk around a the hotel grounds and around the lake and see Giraffes and other amazing animals.

Room Tip: The rooms were beautiful and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    67
    23
    10
    1
See reviews for
43
57
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nice hotel close to Nairobi and very refreshing place. Good food and clean Rooms how can I forget their power showers .clean swimming pools with steam sauna and fully equipped gym.A lovely playground for our kids with all amenities and tennis courts.Best part of this hotel is you can see animals like waterbuck,impalas,dickdick and Giraffes right from your room window.Their boat ride to crescent island is most memorable .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Accommodation consists of attractive blocks of rooms clustered around a large lawned area on which waterbuck graze. The rooms are spacious and have a small sitting area with TV as well as veranda on which to watch the game.

The lodge also offers a lovely looking swimming pool, which unfortunately, we did not use, a tennis court, which appeared to be in need of some minor tidying up, sauna and steamroom. The men’s steamroom has some pretty dodgy looking electrics – the lighting consists of a halogen bulb screwed into a normal domestic socket without any protection against damp or water! Massage is also on offer and if there had been time, we would have made use of it. It was not expensive.

Meals are taken in the restaurant which consists of a central buffet/live cooking area with three large rooms radiating off it housing the dining tables. Food on the whole was OK.

We found the reception staff to be the least friendly of any of the places stayed at in Kenya, although their colleagues in the bar, restaurant etc. were much better. Many appeared to be trainees and this might have had something to do with the move from the norm.

The main bar is in a large, almost barnlike building, which is dominated by a log fire in the centre. It is a lovely building and in many ways a great shame that it was almost deserted the evening we were there.

We took the hotel’s lake trip. The area was still very flooded – the hotel’s normal mooring point and viewing deck was some 30 foot out into the lake. It was bizarre to see the line of waist high lights that marked the path to the mooring point, continue slowly until submerged by the water. However, we saw hippo, kingfishers, ibis, cormorants among the game on view and were also pleased that the boat operator was very knowledgeable of the animals and birds in the area.

We also visited Hells Gate whilst staying at the lodge. Although not much game was seen other than some Maasai giraffe and a few other birds and animals, the surroundings were beautiful. One can also see from points in the park the steam rising from the thermal pools, which form part of three geothermal power plants. Man's use of resource and the naturalness of the park do not sit entirely comfortably together - large pipes line one of the approach roads and when there we saw a very wide road being cut through the virgin forest. I suspect that when built this will take the power plant lorries and other traffic. The other unusual aspect of the park is that outdoor activities are allowed - so rock climbing, cycling, hiking etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This Lodge is awesome for those who love nature! Located right on Lake Naivasha it has an excellent view, with water bucks and giraffes coming right next to the window! We enjoyed the boat rides viewing hippos and buffalos. the rooms are wonderful, quiet environment and enjoyable ambience. I highly recommend this Lodge for families, leisure, business and couples, it is all round! The service is excellent and staff very warm!

Room Tip: the upper floor rooms have a better view than the ground ones. rooms have no mosquito nets, carry re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelonabiker
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Simba Lodge has beautifully manicured grounds with waterbucks and other wildlife roaming the property. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with small sitting nooks and TVs. For some reason, they do not have mosquito nets over the beds, and there are mosquitos, so the nets really should be added! We had very attentive service for our meals and friendly staff overall. The walking safari at nearby Crescent Island in Lake Naivasha is fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been to Simba lodge 4 times and I have not been disappointed. The hotel grounds are beautiful; all green with water-buck, zebra and giraffes all around. Hippos are also not too far off.
The service I received was good, the food served was excellent. I have a really sweet tooth and the chef did not disappoint in his desert. The variety of food was impressive.
The rooms are very spacious. The floors however could do with a change. They do get very cold especially in the evening owing to the cold weather.
Overall, I enjoyed my visits to Simba Lodge.

Room Tip: Gets pretty cold & windy in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our stay, mid-May 2012, was simply an overnight stop after visiting 'Lake Nakuru' but it turned out to be the one place we both agreed deserved another visit. Best room of our trip, great close quarter animal viewing - we actually saw a Genet on our way back from the 'evening meal'.
An 'accompanied walk' in the evening and again in the very early morning revealed some of the magic of the place.
Yes we would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Our room, 24, was groundfloor with a great view of the wildlife roaming the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naivasha
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
0.0 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#17 of 33 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.