We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly 5-start in the Wild!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazingly 5-start in the Wild!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This Lodge is awesome for those who love nature! Located right on Lake Naivasha it has an excellent view, with water bucks and giraffes coming right next to the window! We enjoyed the boat rides viewing hippos and buffalos. the rooms are wonderful, quiet environment and enjoyable ambience. I highly recommend this Lodge for families, leisure, business and couples, it is all round! The service is excellent and staff very warm!

Room Tip: the upper floor rooms have a better view than the ground ones. rooms have no mosquito nets, carry re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    58
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
35
53
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barcelonabiker
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Simba Lodge has beautifully manicured grounds with waterbucks and other wildlife roaming the property. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with small sitting nooks and TVs. For some reason, they do not have mosquito nets over the beds, and there are mosquitos, so the nets really should be added! We had very attentive service for our meals and friendly staff overall. The walking safari at nearby Crescent Island in Lake Naivasha is fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been to Simba lodge 4 times and I have not been disappointed. The hotel grounds are beautiful; all green with water-buck, zebra and giraffes all around. Hippos are also not too far off.
The service I received was good, the food served was excellent. I have a really sweet tooth and the chef did not disappoint in his desert. The variety of food was impressive.
The rooms are very spacious. The floors however could do with a change. They do get very cold especially in the evening owing to the cold weather.
Overall, I enjoyed my visits to Simba Lodge.

Room Tip: Gets pretty cold & windy in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our stay, mid-May 2012, was simply an overnight stop after visiting 'Lake Nakuru' but it turned out to be the one place we both agreed deserved another visit. Best room of our trip, great close quarter animal viewing - we actually saw a Genet on our way back from the 'evening meal'.
An 'accompanied walk' in the evening and again in the very early morning revealed some of the magic of the place.
Yes we would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Our room, 24, was groundfloor with a great view of the wildlife roaming the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is a 1st class luxury hotel. Very nice grounds. The room is great. Lots of wildlife in your backyard. Be sure to take a walk down to the lake to see giraffes and hippos. The bar is just stunning. The nicest hotel bar we saw during our 9 day trip in Kenya. The food in the restaurant is superb. Wifi will cost you 500 shillings (about $6) for 15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The amazing beasties you see here just outside your balcony is amazing.
Monkeys, tick tick water buck, giraffe, zebra and more by the lake.
The accommodation is nice and clean and staff friendly.
Worth a couple of days stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor, so face to face with beasties, ask for a lodge away from the pool/bar. room 22 upwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirovohrad, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent one night in April 12 as a part of the Safari package. The property is well located on the Lake Naivasha. There are plenty on animals around. Some of them came really close to the rooms. The guided walking tour to the lake (app 400 meters) was another great opportunity to see Giraffe, Hippos, Buffalo, antelopes, etc. as well as number of birds including pelicans. The short distance from Nairobi (app. 1 hour drive time on well-maintained road) makes the place a nice option for out-of-city week-end.

The negative side is some noise from neighboring rooms, but it seems to be the general problem with most of Kenya Lodges and Hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.