We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf in real Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Eburu Escarpment | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Golf in real Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a week at the hotel in early February with a group of golfers,the course was good with lots of wildlife as you played, The surroundings catered particularly for bird life and we saw lots of birds we had never seen before. The hotel is 8 kms up avery rough road hence the isolation,Staff were very friendly,and helpful. The buffet meals were good in the garden restaurant. Our only criticism was the slow service in the restaurant. The Kenyan Shiraz 2010 was well worth trying both for price and quality. Enjoyed the whole experience well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Lodges are all similar quite safari like and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Guest,
Thanks for staying at GRVL and for posting feedback. Comment on slow service noted and on my screen.
So glad you visited.
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    98
    23
    12
    8
See reviews for
52
58
11
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I travelled to the lodge from Yala (5 1/2 hr mostly off road drive) so on arrival I was happy & relieved to be warmly welcomed by the staff. I was travelling alone & stayed there for 3 nights- couldn't of asked for a better weekend. My room was gorgeous & private (reasonably well secluded from the other cottages) had a beautiful view (lovely shower - which coming from 'bucket showers' was a little piece of luxury!), the grounds of the lodge were beautifully kept, the pool was also a welcome break. Only thing I would say is be prepared for the gravel road which leads to the lodge - 11Km along gravel in a car wasn't the most enjoyable experience! Food was good - I would recommend the buffet, only downside was the amount of business people they get through there on conferences etc. At times it was a little over crowding - but to be expected as that is what the lodge obviously caters for. They had everything on offer that I was hoping to do while I was there, but what topped my weekend was having my own personal 'safari guide'!! John Sinia. Right from the word go he made me feel welcome, he was hospitable & kind natured and gave me the support I needed while travelling by myself. He had a wealth of knowledge which became evident when cycling through Hells Gate, walking through the gorge and driving through Lake Nakuru National Park. Thank you for an awesome weekend (and thanks also to Jack!)!! I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone that wants to explore the Lake Naivasha area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the GRVL. You are invited to come again with Friends and Relations. We shall remember you.
Kind Regards,
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Rented a furnished 2 bed apartment on the golf course for the weekend. The dirt road to get to the place is atrocious and needs to be worked on by the owners of this lodge as it nearly destroyed my suspension going very slowly for most of the way.
The apartment was comfortable with a great view of the course. Bird life is prolific in this area with Zebra, Dik Dik and Impala on the course throughout the day.
Noisy neighbors kept me up every night as they were on their balcony next door and sound carries in the quiet night.
Attentive staff and a nice pool area for kids too.
Played several rounds of golf and loved the layout of the course. The greens are very good with a team of people employed to repair the hoof marks across the fairways and greens too.
After a game of golf we had drinks at the clubhouse. A local beer cost KES280 and a double Amarula on ice was KES600! This spoiled things as I didn't want to chill at the clubhouse and have a drink afterwards as I hate being ripped off, and this is daylight robbery.
I enjoyed my time there but it was somehow spoiled by the prices being charged, even for food and dinner at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet overlooking the lake if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Guest,
W acknowledge receipt of your comments and do appreciate. We note your overall happy but you think the Pricing needs adjustments. We shall look at it.
We are glad you came.
Kind regards,
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed two 2 nights at the lodged in mid January 2013. I went there to work, to finalise reports for my job. It was a perfect place to get work done, take breaks sitting on the balcony of my room overlooking the valley and the green forrest. Enjoying the sun rise and the stunned by the silence of the nights, interrupted only by the sounds of a bird ... Amazing ... Food was great, staff were extremely friendly and professional, took a nature walk the last morning, the guide was so knowledgable and told interesting stories, we say zebras, antelopes, birds, and a nest where eggs were about to hatch, GREAT ... I will most certainly be back ... Thanks

Room Tip: I prefer the older villa rooms as they have great views and more character, but they do not have TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hello Guest,
Thank you so much for this review. It is truly appreciated
Kind Regards,
The GRVL Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The lodge is in a great place, not to far from Nairobi (about 1-1 and a half hours) drive. The road to the place is ok, its gravel so if you've got a small or low car you'll need to slow down for the last 11km (as well as have a spare Tyre in case of anything).

The lodge itself is beautiful, the rooms are well spaced out from each other. They are clean and have a good setting. The WIFI is terrific for a lodge out of town! the only catch is you need to sit in the lounge to get a fast connection, you get a connection from your room but it becomes a little slow (I guess it depends on where you room is located).

The food is great, they do great BBQs, there is a nice pool for the kids and heaps of other activities. This is a good place for someone who wants to spend the day playing golf as golf course is a stone throw away.

The staff are friendly......

However from others feedback and my own experiences, the lodge seems to be popular for seminars and conferences. This can be a good or bad thing for some people, however during my stay there seemed to be a number of conferences going but the staff managed everything well.

Cheers

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hello Guest,
Thanks for your review of GRVL. It is true we have Conference and Seminars. However this place is expansive and one can do anything he/wants without feeling encroached upon.
1. We have private A la Carte Dinners if you do not want to go for Buffets.
2. You can choose between taking Villas, Bandas or Chalets. These are different categories of offer with various advantages that can take care of your needs.
3. You can do so many activities which are organized by the Unit. (Golf, Jogging, Walks, Visiting Lake Nakuru Park, Boating, Horsing
We can help you plan your visit so you achieve what you want.
So glad you came and shared your opinion
Kind Regards,
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a great stay at Great Rift Valley Lodge and Golf Resort. We were welcomed by Ruth with a cool drink- much appreciated. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a wonderful view across to Lake Naivasha. The pool is a great asset set amongst the immaculate gardens.
All the staff we met were extremely courteous and helpful- nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast and lunch are served in the Buffet Restaurant which is a delightful place to sit and observe the myriad of birds which are fed nearby. A highlight was the Nature walk with John who is very knowlegable and entertaining-he was determined to find the zebras for us before dinner! Also has a good gift shop. Fabulous golf course. Sensational sunrise photos from our balcony.

Mary Anne and Richard. Australia.

Room Tip: Ask for a top room- best views. Some rooms are a long walk from main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Guests,
We thank you for staying in GRVL and most important for giving us your feedback. This is so important for us as we strive to achieve excellence.
We have taken note of the good comments on John and these have been posted on the "Wall of Fame"
We all look forward to hosting you again. We will appreciate if you recommend us to your Family and Friends too.
Kind Regards,
The Great Rift Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Was here for a conference the arrangements for which I am told were very competently handled. The resort is in a lovely location with good views and it is great to be able to run with the zebra and other wildlife around the golf course.
There is no standardisation of rooms as the resort is made up of groups of buildings built at different times with different designs and specifications. I had no problems with mine but colleagues did complain of noise from adjacent rooms. No internet in the rooms and very limited TV. A nice bar if a little small in the main complex. You do have to be prepared to walk a bit as the rooms are very spread out by the way with all the ammentities in or near the main building where the reception is located. The buffet meals as part of the conference package were good but it really was a bit like army messing with everyone arriving on mass. The conference rooms were nice and had good internet connectivity as did the lobby. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting this review. Your comments are noted and will be acted on. So glad you liked the Unit.
We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort

Address: Eburu Escarpment | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort enjoys one of the most spectacular views in all of Africa. The lodge sits at about 7,000 feet, from which elevation it enjoys magnificent views to the west and east. The Vistas stretch from the sparkling waters of Lake Naivasha to jogged volcanic crater of Mount Longonot and, beyond, the sloping shoulders of the Aberdare Mountains - Kenya's most important watershed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Rift Valley Lodge And Golf Resort
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Hotel Naivasha
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort Naivasha, Kenya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.