We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you have energy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hell's Gate National Park

Hell's Gate National Park
Lake Road South, Naivasha, Kenya
+254 20-2433037
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$169*
and up
Hell’s Gate National Park Walking Tour with...
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Make sure you have energy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Nice place, not a lot of game but amazing walk in the gorge. Takes about an hour, is physically tough but truly amazing. Must do!

Helpful?
4 Thank KulaRaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    80
    32
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hells gate, indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

be prepared for trekking, wear good trekking shoes. The climbs are tough. Worth every effort - what views, people... Combine with Lake Naivasha. Pay a visite to Lake Naivasha Country Club - non-members welcome for a fee, time machine back to 1930

Helpful?
3 Thank travelcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

very scenic and still lots of grazing animals to see .the 1 hour walk through the gorge was very good but only for those able to get about very hot getting out of the gorge and walking back.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank juliekarl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Leisure walks or biking ,take ur pick for Hells Gate National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We visited on 12 Feb 2012 .Its quite close from Nairobi.Around 50kms or so ,not sure of actual distance though...It took about one hour since we left at 7 am in morning and the traffic was less.It is close to Lake Naivasha.The fees was less compared to other parks.We took our car inside the park.You can either take a walk or hire a cycle at the gate.You can take the car only till some distance of 8km to 9 km then you need to walk or cycle .We were a bit tired that day so we preferred car.But trust me cycling is the best option there.It will actually give u a feel of being part of the nature.Rock climbing was being done at Buffalo circuit road inside the park.We saw zebras,giraffes,Warthog,Thomson's Gazelles,African Buffaloes,baboons.I regret that I did not cycle.You can spend a day there that should be enough but an overnight stay will also be good .Its perfect getaway close to Nairobi.When I traveled from Nairobi to Hell gate the landscape was a visual treat to eyes.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Raj7282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Thrilling Open-Air Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had a free Sunday during a business trip to Nairobi, and were able to hire a safari van with driver to take us the one and a half hours north of the city to Hell's Gate NP. We combined our visit with a morning visit to Lake Naivasha National Park, which was absolutely ideal. At Lake Naivasha, we boarded a small motorboat for a shoreside safari (hippos, shorebirds, and raptors abound), and then climbed ashore on an edge-of-the-lake island for a "walking safari" where we strolled with our guide among herds and families of giraffe, wildebeest, zebras, and other game animals. We then had a wonderful lunch at a shoreside resort hotel (there are several on the south shore of Lake Naivasha) and motored on to Hell's Gate NP, where we drove the length of the park to enjoy an astonishing diversity of wild game from our open-top safari van. When the park closed at 6 PM, we headed back to Nairobi and were home by 8 PM or so. All in all, it was the best imaginable use of a precious day of free time and an unforgettable experience overall. Oh, and you'll LOVE the scenery between Nairobi and the parks -- you'll drive directly down into the African rift valley with stunning vistas and beautiful skies above!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank RogerInNVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hell's Gate National Park also viewed

Naivasha, Rift Valley Province
Naivasha, Rift Valley Province
 
Naivasha, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Hell's Gate National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing