We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Eagle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fish Eagle Inn to your Saves list
Fish Eagle Inn
Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Naivasha B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed on business and this hotel was booked by my Kenyan based colleagues.

The hotel was tired but clean I staye in an executive room which needed a bit of TLC.

The staff were very friendly even down to security. They were also attentive without being intrusive and made you feel very welcome.

The food was not the greatest but was ok, suggest eating in the Fishermans next door

The location is amazing close to the Hells Gate Park which I had the privilidge to work in. the actual location of the hotel is very good with a short walk to Lake Naivasha. The are are Storks, Ibis, vast numbers of colourful birds and Hippos (behind a security fence at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived in a group of about 40 late afternoon and were welcomed with some juice at the reception. Room allocation was quick.
Unfortunately what they call the standard room was quite disappointing, very tiny, dark and not very well ventilated. Also the walls need a coat or two of paint. The shower cannot be regulated and most times the water was scalding.
Honestly for the amount they were charging one can get a better deal down at the coast during low season.
I took a walk to the campsite just to stretch my legs. Twas interesting watching the campers setting up tents and lighting the fires.
Back at FEI Poolside barbeque was good and the drinks were flowing with a friendly barman, music was good too. Next day breakfast was good and then went on a boat ride . For me that was the best part of the trip.
One particular receptionist was rather rude and asked us to drop and pick our bags in the room behind the receptionists counter....very weird ....we thot that some areas were for staff only. Anyway he was a young man and looked quite bothered.
So now you see why I said it is ok for a wkend/one night getaway?

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest room if you are staying for more than one night. You would rather pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

i have been to the fish eagle more than fourty times in the past four years so i have decided to write about it.
it is not your posh hotel but a campers paradise it is..has both camp site and rooms and i have had the joy of being in both, the restaurant is excellent, the food is not seven star but it is not bad either...the peace and quiet is what drives me there alot..a good haven for bird watchers and if you make friends with the night guards, they will call you when the hippos come out of the lake to feed...you should try it

Room Tip: good for campers, if you have young kids i recommend you carry your own mattresses and additional bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friend and I stayed in a basic double which was very tiny, but manageable for one night. It had a nice tv with a few channels. The shower had very hot water, but you couldn't regulate it, so it was either scalding hot or tepid.
The receptionist wasn't overly friendly when we arrived, but the rest of the staff was alright.
The food was mediocre but reasonably priced. I would recommend doing a la carte, as the buffet (which you get with full board) was overpriced and nothing great. They had a well-stocked bar and the drink prices were great. However, they would bring us multiple receipts for a single meal without a total, which I find really annoying and unprofessional.
We took a boat ride (3000K/ 1 hour) which was relaxing and nice. The pool table was tiny, dirty, and missing a few balls.
It's very conveniently located to Hell's Gate (a few km past entrance).
Overall, a decent place to stay for a night or two, though still seems a little over-priced for quality and service provided.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are tiny, be sure to see rooms before paying so you know what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is next to a camping area and a boat launch, so the evening can include the sounds of laughter from the camp fire rings and hippo's grunting from the lake shore. Our room was in the Jumbo House, and included a nice porch oveerlooking a court side area. Restaurant service is very good, the food is average, however, dinner time is very busy. There is a full bar for your convenience.You can catch a skiff at the boat landing for a great boat safari, and dock at Elsamere and hear the story about Born Free, enjoy high tea outside int the gardens overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Fish Eagle Inn has a great location just by the shore of Lake Navaisha.The price was ok compared to most other places surrounding the lake, but expensive compared to what I would pay for a similar standard in Sweden. We very much enjoyed the peace and quiet and the excellent relaxing facilities. Our room was clean and large and had a nice front porch.The garden in front of the hotel was full of mokeys and exotic birds. Nice! The hotel is very close to the entrance to the Hell´s Gate National Park, which proved to be well worth a visit. Especially if you like geology and scenic nature.

On the negative side, hotel area was covered with a bad odour of burnt plastic during part of the day.Trash was burnt in a hole in the ground nearby. And it did not feel nice that the staff was throwing rocks at the monkeys to scare them away. A warning also goes out to those who consider ordering full board. Don´t! Breakfast buffet is good. But lunch buffet and dinner buffet were both a disappointment, and in my opinion definitely not worth the price. Not even a glas of water is included in the price and we also discovered that ordering lunch and dinner from the A la carte menu was cheaper. Only if we ordered the most expensive course on the menu, did we benefit from choosing the full board option.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Not being a camp type person, my colleague and I decided to stay in a room at Fish Eagle Inn. The rates were very reasonable. It is not posh, but it is certainly adequate. The beds were comfortable, showers were clean and had hot water. The pool was lovely and we got to watch all the birds in the trees nearby while we swam. It is situated right on the lake, but there are so many water lilies, it is difficult to get to the lake. The food at the restaurant was good. The buffet breakfast was also quite nice. It was good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fish Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Eagle Inn

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fish Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Eagle Inn Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Eagle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.