We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve
Save
You added Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve to your Saves list
Kongoni Lodge & Game Valley | Moi South Lake Road | (Before Kongoni Road Side Village), Naivasha 20117, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Super happy about this place! We couldnt complain about anything and the food, guest, experience and evertyhitng else was wonderful. I would recommend anybopdy to stay here without thinking twice about it

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
7
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

To be lost in a nostalgic, magical realm of all one’s fantasies of old Africa in a by gone age, is to stay in Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve. It has the atmosphere of a personal home, one feeling a character in its sepia world. The welcoming warmth of all the staff offers a sense of family intimacy, which allows one close connectivity to the lodge, its land and all its magnificent beasts, which companionably hang around the house grazing on the back lawns with mountainous skylines as a backdrop. An other worldly balm slips over one and when you leave, if not for your wonderful photographs, you could have thought it all a dream.
This experience to be relived and revisited in ones memory again & again is utterly priceless. Thank you to the ARR Reserve, Kongoni Lodge and all the staff for giving me something to treasure forever.

Room Tip: stayed in courtyard room, it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

This is my second time back to Kongoni Lodge on the ARR reserve and as before I was not disappointed.
Another wonderful week in a beautiful colonial period setting with all the wildlife imaginable crossing and grazing the lawn just feet away and beyond them far reaching views down to Lake Oliedon and Lake Naivasha beyond that.
The staff could not be be more friendly and helpful, nothing here is too much trouble.
The food was also excellent, creative and of a very high standard.
Safari drives, Safari breakfast, trips in the boat around lake Olieden and Sundowners completed another week never to be forgotten. I will be back again.
I cannot rate Kongoni Lodge high enough. Thank you Kongoni!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kananga, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

If you are looking for a comfortable place to relax and enjoy nature, we highly recommend Kongoni Lodge! The lodge was wonderful – room was spacious and comfortable, and there is lots of space in the house and on the lawn for relaxing, talking, etc. We really were amazed at the variety of wildlife that comes right onto the lawn – zebras, warthogs, impala, giraffes, monkeys, and others, as well as a beautiful variety of birds. We really enjoyed the ARR reserve – took a bike ride, a boat trip, and a short drive around the lower reserve. There is a lot to do that is right there on the reserve, but it is also a great place to lay low and relax. The food also was incredible – they emphasize quality over quantity, and we thoroughly appreciated it!

This is an incredible place- we recommend staying at least a few days to enjoy the reserve and the grounds. Our taxi driver from Naivasha did get confused about the location, so we recommend clarifying that it is the Kongoni lodge on the ARR reserve, or know what the logo looks like and look for it on the left side of the road when you get around the right spot. We look forward to going back sometime in the future!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongoni L, General Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear Kristi
Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to host you and your husband and we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Helen Hartley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We stayed one night at Kongoni Lodge and loved it. Wish we had spent an additional night or two. The grounds were tranqual and inviting; the food was absolutely wonderful; and the staff were all great. Had an excellent hike around the land surrounding the Lodge and two really interesting game drives in the reserve. By far the best part of our experience was the amazing views we had while watching the sunset - with the campfire and full-service bar. Magical!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongoni L, General Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of Kongoni Lodge on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by us all here
Helen Hartley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanderborg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We stayed at Kongoni Lodge in july 2014, and had the most wonderful holiday. The starff are very friendly and the surroundings are amazing. You feel like entering the movie" out of Africa", and going back in time, still With modern facilities you need. The animals just Walk around the place, and the trees and green vegetation are just beautiful. We felt very safe and taken good care of. Also the food is very good, varied, and healthy balanced. We have been to Africa before, but never experienced such a wonderful place. We Will definately go back to stay at Kongoni Lodge again.

Room Tip: There are 2 lodges Called Kongoni Lodge- This review is for Kongoni Lodge ARR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongoni L, General Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. It is much appreciated by us all and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Helen Hartley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We stayed here over one night, trying to be away from busy and noisy Nairobi.
The lodge is perfect with many rooms with beautiful interior. I liked the room with antique furniture taste and clean/modern bathroom. We love the panorama view towards the lake from the sitting room (we saw many warthogs) and had very relaxed time and tranquil environment. Foods were all excellent too. We also enjoyed night safari and bush breakfast. This is one of the best places I stayed in my life and we love to visit here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongoni L, General Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Tamara
Thank you very much for your review on Kongoni Lodge. It is very much appreciated by myself and all the staff .We look forward to welcoming you back here again.
Helen Hartley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve

Address: Kongoni Lodge & Game Valley | Moi South Lake Road | (Before Kongoni Road Side Village), Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location & Transport: Kongoni Lodge is located on a 2,000-acre estate run by the Animal Rights Reserved Foundation (ARR), populated with vast wildlife, ranging from leopards, hyenas and migratory lions to buffalo and giraffe. It sits in the rift valley, overlooking the shores of Lake Oloiden, adjacent to Lake Naivasha. The lakes are surrounded by Acacia trees and are home to a large hippo population, as well as over 400 bird species, including Lesser Flamingoes. Due to the high altitude of 1884m/6180ft above sea level, mosquitos are very rare and malaria is virtually nonexistent. In peak season, daily Safarilink flights operate to and from Wilson airport in Nairobi, which only take 15 minutes, and flights to and from the Masai Mara are approximately 40 minutes. Alternatively, guests are welcome to book helicopter transport straight from our doorstep to any desired location. Car transport is possible, with Nairobi and Nakuru being two and three hours away, respectively. Accommodation & Communication: With over a century of history behind it, Kongoni is now a private house that opens up for guests offering privacy and exclusivity in a tradition colonial setting. The main house offers five en-suite bedrooms, all off a central courtyard designed to accommodate the late countess. All rooms feature newly renovated bathrooms with 24hr solar hot water. The Lodge is equipped with wireless internet, DVD library, satellite television and 24hr electricity. Further to the main house, just across the gardens, is the Pili Pili & Chui guest cottages both with 3 en-suite bedrooms, a private living room, dining room, kitchen and veranda. The cottages are available as extra guest bedrooms or to rent as a whole for a self-catered experience. We can offer a chef and nannies for families at an extra cost. The Kitchen: Our cuisine has developed as a blend of various cultures. Our house chef Samuel Ngige & Purity Nyaruai Wanjau (formerly of Hogmead, Nairobi) both come from families with a passion for cooking and have over 40 years between them in Mediterranean, European, North African, Indian, Swahili and many other cuisines. We cook healthy, locally sourced dishes that everyone can enjoy.We use locally farmed organic produce. Fruit and vegetables, free range eggs, yogurt and fresh cream come from local dairy farms. Fresh fish and seafood is bought in from the coast or Lake Victoria, and spices from Zanzibar provide the perfect seasoning. The veranda, gardens & pool: A major feature of the house design is the long veranda that overlooks the front lawns and gardens. The view is populated with Acacia trees all the way down to the Lake and towards the distant volcanic peaks. The overall impression is one of privacy, quiet and nature's abundance. The gardens are open to wildlife; one can sit peacefully on the veranda and watch zebra, warthog and giraffe that are frequent visitors and come remarkably close. Another attraction is the pool that provides a way to cool down, particularly in the hot and dry season. Wildlife conservancy & Animal Rights Reserved Foundation (ARR): Kongoni Lodge is situated within a wildlife conservancy named ARR Reserve. Guests have the option to go on a game drive where they can see our resident leopards, elands, giraffes, buffalos, warthogs, hyenas, impalas, jackals and many more. You can drive through the hills of Kongoni Estate and enjoy a sundowner around a bonfire or alternatively choose Mundui Estate where flat plains allow you to see Thomson's gazelles and bat eared foxes in their natural habitat. Animal Rights Reserved Foundation's aim is to aid wildlife and support local communities in order to create conservation awareness. From the base, which is located a 5 minute walk from the main house, they operate a mobile vet unit and veterinary centre and rescue animals from all around Kenya. A percentage of every guest bill will be donated on your behalf to ARR. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kongoni Lodge On The ARR Reserve Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.