We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend party place with nice restaurant/bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fisherman's Camp
Save
You added Fisherman's Camp to your Saves list
Naivasha, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Weekend party place with nice restaurant/bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Considering the price of accomodation in Kenya generally speaking, this is good value for money. In January a banda in the top camp was 1000 shillings p.p. and the small hut has 2 beds and is adequately clean. The restaurant and bar offers good food in a great setting, watching monkeys and peacocks run around in the greenery just meters away.

This IS a party place though, in weekends at least. My friend stayed in lake camp and reported several different parties ongoing until 3ish, in the top camp where I stayed was the same. Bring earplugs if you are here for any other reason than to drink late, and even so its nothing for light sleepers. I'm told its different during the week.

All in all, very well priced and nicely located (they rent good bikes for the hells gate view) but loud and lacking in sleep quality. Recommendation for management to offer breakfast packages earlier for those who wish to do the hells gate bike before its too hot.

Room Tip: Top camp is 10 min walk away and you climb narrow forest paths in pitch blackness after dinner, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
10
15
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you enjoy camping and the outdoors, Fisherman's Camp is a nice place. You will face primitive showers and "long-drops" (if you don't know what it is you probably shouldn't stay here), but often times that comes as a part of camping. I stayed at top camp and it was nice, lots of bird life and a great sunrise in the morning!
Down by the lake the bird biodiversity was excellent and you could even see bushbabies and hippos at night! The bar is also a pretty good time.
Overall it's a basic camp, but the surroundings make it all worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Its a very nice, green place with trees and monkeys and everything. the banda we stayed in was dirty, taps were dry, toilets dirty, smelly, beds uncomfortable, bedding terrible. the food from the restaurant was mediocre.
but i must say the staff were really friendly, helpful and nice. the boat ride was good. the restaurant has a perfect lake view, during the day or when having breakfast but at night it can get really cold. the restaurant/bar area is a good place to hang out, quiet and cool.
improve the Bandas, make them comfy and clean. we had no electricity for 3 days during the day, buy a generator for substitution.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went last week and chose the basic tent for two, we really enjoyed everything thought it is very basic, but I would advise to bring your own pillow and above all sleeping bag because it is really freaking cold in the night and the cover they gave me was not enough at all (is what I hated most).

There in the camping all the birds and animals are really calm and peaceful used to the humans and one day in the morning we even listened the snoring sound of one hippo.

Besides you can hire a bike for a cheap 500 ksh for all the day and visit the small lake full of flamengos, crater lake, hells gate and mt Longonot (for longonot you need a matatu instead to go by bike, but well the guy who attend us tell how to reach everything).

Finally close to the office there is a quite nice restaurant where we really enjoyed of delicious breakfasts and supper.

Room Tip: If you chose the basic tent bring your own covers or sleeping bag (and maybe pillow)
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katie648
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fisherman's camp top camp offered us a great, basic cabin to stay for a long weekend! The place had a lovely view and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to cook. The room we wound up in was great, though the bed wasn't quite as large as a normal standard. The restaurant downstairs also had good food and a nice atmosphere as well.

The value for the money was good for these basic cabins! And, you can't beat the nearby attractions from Mt Longonot to Hell's Gate.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely mellow campsite. We rented a cottage here for one night. Fairly basic and yes, our mosquito net did have a few holes as per another review but we swapped it for the one on the spare bed, which was fine. But perfectly comfortable, and the wood-fired hot water system is really sorted here - very good hot showers. Kitchen seemed adequately equipped but did we not need to use it.

Staff offered to make us a fire but as we spent the evening in the very nice, relaxed restaurant (and had a lovely meal), we declined. We also had a really good breakfast in the restaurant - pancakes and a delicious fruit salad with youghurt and honey - yum!

Staff were very friendly and helpful, for example I really liked the music playing in the resturant so they wrote down the names of all the tracks so I could buy the CD for myself!

Our kids are teenagers and were fine in the second room, but as both bedrooms opened separately onto the veranda, rather than being "inside" the same building, this might be an issue for families with smaller children.

Great birdwatching down by the lake - pelicans, kingfishers etc - and some colobus monkeys live in the trees here too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had been in F.C. abt 4 years ago. We decided to return back and it's been impossible to book. Apparently there are also 2 fisherman's camps, 1 is called 'down' and the other is called 'topt'. Both with different phone numbers.
After mailing several times from Europe, tot none of which we got a reply, i called them once i arrived in Kenya and than the simply stated they were fully booked.
Referred met to call ''top'' camp instead of solving their problem themselves.

Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fisherman's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Camp

Address: Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jambo, welcome to fischers camp Naivasha, situated on the Moi Southlake Road, Naivasha, 500 mtrs off the Maai-Mahiu-Naivasha Highway. Fischers is the gateway destination we have been waiting for; as the name suggests Fischers is a place of comfort complete with ultra modern facilities. Amenities: accommodation, conferences halls and boardrooms, bar and restaurant, gardens for outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Camp Hotel Naivasha
Fisherman's Camp Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.