We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in search of flamingoes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Carnelley's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Carnelley's
Save
You added Camp Carnelley's to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 20151, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delhi, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“in search of flamingoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stumbled upon Carnelley's while walking the road to fisherman's lodge (where I was supposed to stay initially). I ate my lunch there and decided to stay for a night. The place is wonderful, large open area, spread with large yellow acacia trees, birds flying in and out, nesting and fluttering. In all a very beautiful and nice place to stay.
I stayed in the double room which was very basic, the bathrooms are out in the open so a morning shower is better than a late night one. They have mosquito nets so one doesn't need to carry their own.
Food is good but a cheaper option would be this small bar right across the street run by a very frindly lady, have a few kenyan beers and some beef curry. All cheap, good and full of laughter!

Ps. Flamingos are not around in March. they go to India.

Room Tip: The cluster rooms are better as there will be people around you. The cottages are a little far off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    41
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night only. The camp territory is very nice, you feel like being on a camping trip on nature. It has a restaurant and a lounge area where it is very nice to spend time in the evening.
They also organise a boat tours for 3000 Ksh per boat for up to 7 people.

We had a twin room accomodation that was very simple and looked ok. There are toilets and showers shared among several rooms and it had hot water. But for the price we paid it was good value for money comparing to other places around.

The place is based 5km from Hell's gate national park. You can rent a bike from here and drive there, or take a matatu and rent a bike next to where matatu will drop you off. I would recommend rent bike from here or on the way to the hell's gate, but don't rent from the park as those bike are in a horrible state.

I would definitely come back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here with a group for the weekend and then camped for another few days during the beginning of the week and loved the atmosphere of this place. Camping area is on a nice open grass plot under shady tree cover leading right up to the edge of the lake. Plenty of beautiful birds all over the grounds to enjoy. Amazing food at the bar, especially the pizzas, and the bartender Benson and staff were very friendly and helpful with planning out upcoming travel in Kenya. Plus the design of the whole place is pretty cool and made from all local materials. Fun atmosphere on the weekends with the bonfire set up. Plenty to do around the area including day trips like Hells Gate Park, Hiking on the volcanic crater of Mt Longonot, and boat rides out on the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were there for 2 nights after some nights full of luxery in the Masai Mara. Were enjoying the simple place to be and relax. Clean, safe bandas! Best place to stay in the region! A lot of birds around the bandas and hippos in the night close to them (but it's safe, there's an electric fence). Best restaurant in the region!

Close to the Hells Gate park, which is also a great place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Bandas are excellent accommodation for couples with en suite bathrooms, privacy, beautiful surrounds, a wonderful bar/restaurant area with good food. Close to game parks. There are about 7 of these bandas so it works well for moderate sized groups. The birds are plentiful- there is even a resident fish eagle. The hippos come out of the lake at night- a good torch gives geat views!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

After a day spent exploring Hell's Gate National Park (only 20 minutes away) I pitched a tent at Carnelley's for the night. For myself and my three kids the cost added up to just over $20 - not bad, considering the prices at some of the other lodges around Naivasha. With little kids, you don't want to have to rough it too much when camping. Luckily, Carnelley's provides clean toilets and hot showers right on the camp ground. And what a camp ground it is - sitting right on the shore of the lake. In the afternoon sunlight the scene was absolutely gorgeous. We had arrived somewhat late and the thought of getting the fire going just to cook some beans and sausages was too depressing to face, so we headed over to the restaurant. Great, sort of backpacker-ish vibe, and there were even swings for the kids to pay on while I had a beer. Pizza came out within 10 minutes and was delicious. After that we went back, had hot chocolate around the fire, and passed out exhausted in the tent. One down side: I was woken up at around one in the morning by some loud club music. Couldn't tell where it was coming from exactly, but others have complained about this so just be prepared if you decide to stay at Carnelley's. In the morning we took a boat to Crescent Island and for a glimpse of hippos. Sure, it was a little pricey but not outrageous. All in all, this was a terrific spot to go camping and I would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: The bandas and lodges look quite nice from the outside, but I didn't stay in one so can't co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice scenic spot, good for camping as they have facilities such as picnic tables, garbage bins, hot showers and flushing toilets. They also have a full bar and restaurant which is nice if you want to mix and match between BBQ and restaurant food. Restaurant is generally a nice atmosphere and attracts people, albeit a little slow service and a little pricey perhaps.. Stayed there this past weekend during the Rift Valley Music Festival which was held next door. Great to be so near the festival, but still camp away from the festival scene of bottles and litter. Naturally the all night music was very loud even at Carnelley's but by Saturday night we got used to the thumping and slept well despite the noise. It was all part of being at a music festival. A fabulous weekend all in all.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camp Carnelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Carnelley's

Address: Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 20151, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Camp Carnelley`s Hotel Naivasha
Camp Carnelley's Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Carnelley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.