We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky spot on Lake Naivasha” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Carnelley's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Carnelley's
Save
You added Camp Carnelley's to your Saves list
Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 20151, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Maun, Botswana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Funky spot on Lake Naivasha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a great spot to stay if you are visiting Hell's Gate Park. It's close to Elsa's gate and far enough out of Naivasha that you get the feeling you are in your own little piece of the bush. We stayed in a Banda and it was great. Arriving at the place can be confusing if there is no one at the "reception". Being part of this continent means one learns quickly. Get out and look around for someone especially around lunch time ;-) Don't go to the bar as they will send you back to reception. You have to leave your key at reception if you want your room serviced. They did a decent job and the place was clean the entire time we stayed there. The boat trip on Lake Naivasha is a bit disappointing but it does give an overall view of how the lake level can change and the surrounding countryside. The main attraction in the area though is Hell's Gate Park. Food wise, they serve pretty good fare. I enjoyed sampling different dishes and all of them were good. It's a place I would definitely stay at again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Banda 3. Close enough to the bar but far enough to be out the way. Its also on the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
18
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a place to stay. I could live here.
The best food i have had in Africa. The design of the bar/restaurant is just amazing, its like the builder just came up with it on the spot and done a great job. The new bandas that have been built since the last time i was there are really cool. They are reasonably priced and the beds are very comfortable. The askari at the gate is very helpful and can arrange any activities or transpor. The staff are very friendly and are great to chat too, they definitely deserved the tip i gave them. You can go out on a boat for sightseeing on the lake and the whole camp has a wide variety of animals.
I whole heartedly advise a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had stayed once before on Lake Naivasha at the Fish Eagle Inn which is pretty much next door. Camp Carnelly's was way cheaper and so much nicer in so many ways - I would stay again. It's convenient for Hell's Gate and the camp itself is delightful. We spent a lot of time just chilling out here and soaking it up, watching the (many) birds and walking down to the lake and watching the monkeys. Absolutely delightful.
We stayed in one of the old bandas which was good value and very comfortable although without the charm of the very attractive new ones. That said, the weather wasn't that warm while we were staying so we were pleased to have windows that could close which most of the accommodation doesn't have (including the new bandas). But that was only because it was cold - I'm sure this is not the case most of the time!
The restaurant and bar area are lovely and the food was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful and we were sad to leave.
I would stay here again if I visited Lake Naivasha again and would recommend it.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice setting, very peaceful. Hard to get to and the local Matatu's were not regular.
The reception was confusing and the way the rooms are labeled and layed out was stressful.
The room we stayed in was horrible, overpriced, unclean, mosquito net with holes, stains on the sheets, holes in the roof. I would have opted for another room, but we are talking Nairobi City 4*+ prices for a new banda! I would never pay such a price again. I have stayed in 500kes a night places that were above this. Staff mostly rude, even when it was quiet. Boats, food, beers, activities - a joke price catering to take advantage of white tourists. Never again, and I have traveled every inch of Kenya! When asked why things were so expensive (300kes for UGALI?) we were told the prices inc. when they renovated the bandas....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived at around 6 p.m. and so we couldn't see much as it was dark. We had booked the twin rooms for 3,500 Kenya shillings and stayed one night. The room was ok, had one large bed and a dressing table. the toilets and showers were outside and the hot water only available in the mornings and evenings. The night was very quiet and pleasant and the room had mosquito nets. We enjoyed our night here but they could improve by having duvets here instead of the old blankets they had in the twin rooms. The next night we spent at the new bandas, banda 7 to be precise. It had a toilet and bathroom inside and had 1 large bed and 2 small beds, perfect for a family. It also has a porch outside with nice comfortable sitting area with large cushions and a great view of the lake. All the beds in the bandas had separate mosquito nets. The night was quiet too and we were woken up by the sweet chirping of various bird species. The room included breakfast which was good. We had toast, sausages, eggs, bacon, tea or coffee, 3 types of fruits, eggs and fruit juice. We then hired bikes for 500 Kenya shillings each and cycled to Hell's gate National park, about 6 kilometres from Camp Carnelley's. This was fun however you have to be VERY cautious of the matatus and lorries and other cars on the road as there are no proper cycling paths. Hell's gate is a MUST see if you are int he area, if you don't have time, you can opt for the 1 hour trek, but if you have time the 3 hour trek would be great! We did the 1 hour which was just a good! Once back at the camp in the evening we saw a hippo at the lake and it was quite close to the fence, this was the highlight of the evening as it was so awesome to see such a massive animal at such close range in its natural ecosystem. We would definitely go back here and recommend it for couples, families, campers and anyone who wants to have some serene weekend get away!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

After a technical argument with our Sat Nav, we finally arrived at the entrance, which doesn't look to welcoming...but once you got onto site, the charm takes hold of you. Located right on the lake, the place is stunning.
We stayed in our own tent for a few nights and the price was 600KSH per night, the guy at the entrance did try and charge us more but we had already emailed forward to get a price, nice try....
Location: great, right on the shores of Lake Naivasha.
Food: very impressive, great choice, good prices.
Bar: well stocked with a load of beers and spirits, all at good prices. The seats are awesome, you can just relax after eating loads and enjoy the place.
Night life: there is a no loud music policy here which is great, however the camp door were not under the same guidelines as us and had a rave going on till past 3 in the morning.....not happy at all.
Things to do: Loads to do, but do your home work first. Hells Gate, 2 minutes away, great day out. Hippo viewing by boat on the lake, at a very reasonable 3000KSH for 8 people. Born Free (Else the Lion) house, 2 minutes away. On site have table tennis area, keeps the kids busy.
Facilities: the showers are a novelly, with no roof on, so when it rained I used an umbrella....but they were nice and hot, but very very basic.
In summary, great place to relax in the evening as long as next door kept the noise down and loads to do out and about. We will be going back.
PS, watch out for the large ants, they get everywhere and they can give you a good nip, they seem to be everywhere on the camp site.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My sister and I arrived at night and checked into one of the old bandas. At first we were a bit apprehensive. They're very basic, a little rundown and there was a gecko on the wall. If you can afford it, go with a new one; they looked super cute. We plopped our stuff down and headed to the restaurant and were just delighted by the decor -- an open layout, colorful pillows everywhere, cool bamboo (?) lampshades and a fireplace going. Food was great, too. The next morning, we were woken up bright and early by a morning chorus of birds going bonkers! There were tons of birds, particularly splendid starlings. So wonderful! Then we headed down to the lake, which was absolutely stunning in the morning mist. A very peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camp Carnelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Carnelley's

Address: Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 20151, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Camp Carnelley`s Hotel Naivasha
Camp Carnelley's Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Carnelley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.