We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable holiday experience - thanks largely to the beach boys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kikambala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club
Save
You added Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club to your Saves list
kanamai rd, Kikambala, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kikambala
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An unforgettable holiday experience - thanks largely to the beach boys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Reserve from 23 October - 5 November 2011. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were excellent – always helpful and friendly. Two of us had birthdays while we were there, and our thanks must go to Elias and the restaurant staff, who put on a fantastic ‘cake ceremony’ for each of us.

We didn’t book any excursions through the hotel because we had already booked our safari in the UK with Julius T Safaris. Julius offers a terrific service for a reasonable price. We saw four of the “big five” at Tsavo East and West and stayed in first class accommodation. Our guide and driver, Sisto, was accommodating and informative. His driving skills in getting us back through the Mombasa rush hour traffic had to be seen to be believed. At the end we were even provided with gifts. A very good deal, but best booked in advance.

Before travelling to the resort we had read positive reviews on TripAdvisor about the service offered by the beach boys. So the day we arrived we went onto the beach to look for some. We hooked up with 4 guys who were absolutely brilliant – Moses, Gerald, DJ and Isaac. We ended up spending a lot of our two weeks together and became friends. They organised all sorts of activities for us: whatever we fancied doing, fine, nothing was too much trouble. As well as the very reasonably priced excursions, there were lots of extra things – beach walks, a birthday beach party, visits to a village and a primary school, even treatments for sunburn and colds. We learned something about their lives and culture which we would not have done if we had simply stayed around the hotel. We would definitely recommend you do business with the beach boys rather than take the hotel trips. As other reviewers have said, the boys work as a cooperative, are police-checked, licensed and insured. They live in the surrounding villages, and doing business with them makes you feel you are contributing something to the local community.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    68
    27
    5
    9
See reviews for
55
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a marvellous holiday at the Royal Reserve, Kikambala, where we really did have the most wonderful time. The apartment was nothing out of the ordinary (the air conditioning was particularly noisy) but that apart, the food was exceptional and the service from the waiters and bar staff, the pool attendants and the cleaners could not be faulted. Well done Julius, Said, Elias, all the chefs (who entered into the spirit of things when there were birthdays), Abisae, Raphael, Ronald et al. But the icing on the cake was the beach boys who could not do enough for us. Unlike the hotel tour representatives who pounced on us immediately we arrived and pestered us on several occasions, the beach boys were polite and respectful and represented excellent value. Not only were they far less expensive than the hotel but they did everything to ensure our excursions went smoothly and were tailor-made to meet our requirements. And there was no question about their honesty. We learned that they have their own rules and regulations and a strict code of practice. They even provided a beach barbecue, took us to various villages and accompanied us on a number of shopping expeditions for very little payment. The alternative was the hotel's packed bus ride to the supermarket and back and routine staged visits. Thank you so much to Hassan, Holy Moses, Banga, Carlos, Samuel and the boys. Our recommendation: Enjoy the hotel's amenities and services but use the beach boys for all your excursions. You won't regret it, I promise you.

Room Tip: The only disturbance was from the noisy air conditioning units, so ask if you can have a refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks at Royal Reserve and amazed at how friendly every single member of the staff was. It was easy to learn their names and they certainly remembered ours.
From the arrival all the way through it was a pleasure to spend time in the Resort.
Try the Fish Restaurant on the Beach. We were magnificently catered for by the chef Sisi who created beautiful fresh food to order every time.Other great people were William, Edward, Tom, Elias, Kiki and Ronald.
The guys on the beach are friendly - they have a living to make. Look out for Isaac, Marco Polo and Moses. Some of themhelped us save a turtle that was stranded and took us to the Maridadi Nursery School which was very moving.
For trips look out for Kenyan Smiles and their driver Fred.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed at the Royal Reserve for two weeks in September and had a great time. The staff was so friendly and helpful in every area. We enjoyed the evening dinners at the restaurant with each night having a buffet style dinner. The food was well prepared, different each night and the price was very reasonable. Each night after dinner there was different entertainment with customary dance and music of different tribes, acrobats and a magician all very entertaining. We really enjoyed the location of this resort. As advertised it is located in an area considered rural, unspoilt Kenya and that it is. The locals in the villages are very friendly and happy which makes one feel safe. Met Victor and Bob on the beach and they helped us to have a very memorable experience. They would arrange about anything we wanted. Victor was very honest and truthful in all his dealings and can be fully trusted. We highly recommend doing business with him. Took a four day, three night safari with JT Safaris(Julius Tact Safaris) Julius K Nzumbi and went to Tsavo East, Tsavo West. and Amboseli and had an excellent wild life safari. JT Safaris is truly the best safari operator with top of the line service. We have been to many resorts, but this resort is unique and provides a great opportunity to experience the best of Kenya. Gene and Jeanie V from USA Nebraska

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Fantastic pool, lovely beach side villas, friendly staff, adventurous games, nice shows at night, good kitchen and balcony..... In a nutshell a brilliant choice... :)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband, daughter and I stayed here in the last week of August this year. Everyone was very friendly. Our apartment was big, but in need of some decoration and the kitchen is not designed for anyone to cook in as the hob was falling apart! Our favourite place to eat there was down by the beach which specialises in fish, that was very nice. We only booked 2 trips through the hotel which we found out afterwards was overpriced, should have booked through the beach boys, never mind. We weren't very impressed that we weren't asked for any feedback regarding our trips afterwards, we felt as if they just wanted our money and preferred cash to cards. Anyway, even though there were some negatives for us, we enjoyed our week there but wouldn't have wanted to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

we spent a wonderful week in Mombassa enjoying the hospitality, friendship and service of the staff at this Hotel; nothing was too much trouble, all food was provided and guaranteed processed with bottled water so no tummy upsets; the staff who prepared our rooms each day left messages written in flowers and flax leaves. We also took a safari through Natural World Safaris with our personal driver and guide John who managed to have his eyes on the animal activity all around us; his knowledge and eye for picking animals out of the bush was tremendous and we have many photos to prove it. The overnight accommodation without fences certainly bought the reality home when we experienced up close and personal the wildlife of Kenya.
We would recommend a private safari as opposed to a group one as you will have the added personal touch of your driver.
It was not mentioned to us at the onset of our stay in Kenya, but be careful taking photos of the local people because some have the idea that you will compromise their spiritual beliefs.
Very clean,well presented, happy and contented people with little material wealth; showing us that money doesn't buy happiness and showing just how to be contented with ones lot in life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club

Address: kanamai rd, Kikambala, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kikambala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kikambala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Royal Reserve Safari And Beach Club Hotel Kikambala
Royal Reserve Safari And Beach Club Kenya/Kikambala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.