We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Sad If Sun and Sand is closing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun n' Sand Beach

Save Saved
You added Sun n' Sand Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun n' Sand Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Malindi Road, Kikambala, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Kikambala
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“So Sad If Sun and Sand is closing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If the rumours are true that Sun and Sand is being demolished to make way for Apartments then it will be sad. It wasn't the best hotel in the area but I rated it as excellent because when we stayed the food was great and The Staff were truely awesome. I had a massage and after, the Beauty Therepist took me to meet her family, they didn't ask me for anything but we shared some Chi and lots of laughter.Sorry and Sad.

Room Tip: If they are closing there is no point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    195
    77
    47
    41
See reviews for
149
311
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was booked in for 3 nights at this hotel, but i had to be moved to a new hotel after seeing the condition it was in. The hotel is going to be demolished and changed into beach apartments, therefore the hotel is not being well maintained anymore. Most of the rooms are empty, they have started closing some bars (like the pool bar) and some swimming pools. It makes the place feel like a ghost town with dirty pools, dirty walls, stripped down bars with nothing but dust and sand in them. In all i think this used to be a great hotel, probably one of the biggest ever built in Mombasa, 7 amazing pools, like 3 restaurants and about 3 large bars. However most of them are not running due to the re-construction.

The rooms are not well maintained as some things are broken and old. The toilets were the most shocking with the tap rusting and mold growing all over. Even if a hotel is closing down there should be some things running properly. The toilet would not flush properly and there was a lot of ants walking all over the toilet. (maybe they are not cleaning properly)

This place is also to isolated, so if your looking for a place with a quiet beach then this place is great. (am not to critical but the beach is not so beautiful with to much rocks). Otherwise if your looking for a place with lots to do outside the hotel then its better to go closer to Mombasa town.

Overall I believe this place was great but due to the reconstruction they haven't maintained it so much. I would suggest maybe waiting till the reconstruction is done, or at least if your going here have a car so that you can go outside the hotel.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Sun N Sand was simply an awesome experience,

The highlight of this magical resort that is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city life was the interconnected pools running all through the expansive beach resort .The restaurants are exclusive and the different themed dinners all through the week made us eager for great evenings - The musical band,dance crew and acrobat teams made the experience quite memorable. The rooms are exquisite complete with a balcony which gave a panoramic view of the ocean and the rest of the resort whose architecture is worth taking in-it is a great place to relax and take in the ocean breeze.
I highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a great view of the
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Truly amazing, friendly staff, clean rooms. Staff can't do enough to help you. I would love to go back here as my sister got married here. Defiantly recommend.
Thing to do while your there a safari defiantly it is unreal and you get to see a lioness metres away from you feeding at one of the lodges you stop at. Visit haller park which is a taxi ride away you will be gutted if you don't google it if you want to know more on it but it is defiantly worth a trip. Have a great holiday I know I did :-)

Travelled in 2010 for 2 weeks not 2012 like it says it wouldn't let me change it

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the moment i walked into the hotel, i knew i had made the right decision due to the ambience and aura of the hotel.
The hotel was awesome in design and the staff were very friendly.
This is one place i ould highly recommend if you have a family (children involved).
The main area of improvement is on the rooms that require polishing up even though there is a greater plan for the same.
I look forward to another holiday in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe rooms when you have children. The beds are adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel has some of the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever come across. Though I got there late at night, they still waited to serve me a meal- it was past meal times, and were on hand to attend to me without any hint of impatience. The rooms are neat and even though one can see the hotel is old, the rooms have been well kept, with a sea theme as the painting once inside the room.

The grounds need some landscaping- I hope its one of the things to be done on the renovation phase , especially since they flow to the ocean. The ocean breeze is great and one does not need to go to beach to experience it.

With a manager as friendly as George is, it is not a wonder I look forward to my next visit there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a great time to go, Christmas. And do these guys know how to throw a party, there we were, ''Lets get away from it all'', NO CHANCE. They never let us forget what time of year it was, and it was great.. You have to remember though, that a change in cuisine can be perilous (make sure you get used to quickest way to toilets, and fast).
The pools lovely, beaches amazing, but make sure you get yourself a local guide for the 'reef walk' so you know what you can't stand on safely.
All in all a great place.

Room Tip: Remember, rooms close to pools are not always quiet if young children like a nap in the afternoon, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun n' Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun n' Sand Beach

Address: Malindi Road, Kikambala, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kikambala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Kikambala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun n' Sand Beach 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sun n' Sand Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun n` Sand Beach Hotel Kikambala
Sun n Sand Beach Kikambala
Sun n Sand Beach Resort
Sun N' Sand Beach Kenya/Kikambala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun n' Sand Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.