We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful lake retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Ranch

The Green Ranch
Lake Bosomtwe, Kumasi, Ghana
+233 20 291 7058
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Kumasi
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Green Ranch offers horse-back rides to all levels of riders by appointment. Rides start from one hour. The most adventurous riders can arrange to ride the 10-hour Big Loop around the whole Bosomtwe Lake!The Green Ranch also provides accommodations in two self-contained bedrooms unique for their outstanding view over the lake and mountains. Breakfast is included with the room. Lunch and dinner are also available.The Green Ranch caters to a vegetarian palette with fresh fruit and produce, both locally and home-grown, and a variety of delicious grains, as well as freshly homemade juices, ice cold beers and South African wine.Come and experience the delights of the Green Ranch, enjoy a cool after-ride drink on the veranda with its stunning view of the lake and peaceful animals while Elodie prepares an incomparable 3-course-meal.
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful lake retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Green Ranch was an amazing paradise at Lake Bosomtwe! The rooms were clean and cozy, the food was absolutely delicious, and Elodie and her staff are terrific hosts. The horse riding around the lake was beautiful and it was wonderful to travel through the villages surrounding the lake. The Green Ranch is definitely recommended for anyone traveling to Ghana!

Visited May 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The perfect place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Green Ranch is the perfect place to relax! A beautiful environment, clean and cosy rooms, delicious food and drinks, a warm welcome and lovely people around : this is The Green Ranch! We went horseriding for the first time with our family and it was a great experience. No mosquitos there, quite reassuring...
A beautiful lake and authentic villages surrounding it. Well worth a visit!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely haven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I visited the Green Ranch twice during my time in Ghana and it was by far my favourite place. On my second visit I did the full ride around the lake with my mother and auntie who were visiting. The group was made up of people with different experience levels of riding and Elodie (the ranch owner, along with her husband) was able to cater to everyone. The horses were exceptionally well behaved as well. The food was consistently great and a nice change from the typical cuisine you find at most other restaurants in the area. Service was always wonderful too. Elodie truly makes you feel at home, as she is such a kind and friendly person. I have nothing but positive things to say about my time at the Green Ranch and give it my highest recommendations!!

Visited April 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Green ranch is an amazing getaway. Elodie and her family run a beautiful bed and breakfast on a serene lake. Perfect for families, couples, friends- anyone! Make sure to leave time to take a dip in the lake!

Visited April 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumasi, Ghana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful spots in Ghana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you visit Ghana, don't miss the Lake Bosomtwe near Kumasi. It is one of the most beautiful spots in the country! The best place to stay is definitely the Green Ranch: horse-riding, excellent service, a spectacular view on the lake, excellent food, beautiful rooms and a fantastic hostess!
If you want to rest in a beautiful quiet place, this is where you need to go!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Ranch also viewed

 

Been to The Green Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.