We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skinny J's

Skinny J's
205 South Main St, Jonesboro, AR
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 173 Restaurants in Jonesboro
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent steaks and sides all perfectly prepared . So much fun for a group of old Friends to get together!
Service is always fast and pleasant .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food excellent but getting it is slow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I love Skinny J's! Try the quesadilla, salmon and crab dip--those r favorites! Folks are right about service--slow. We never go on weekend nights cause full of college kids and yoo loud ańd too loud for us old folks!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extroverts will love this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The food was well done and promptly served. The place was a bit noisy for us--we like very quiet restaurants--but everyone was accommodating and polite.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, weak service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The general consensus of our 4 person group was that the food was good. My wife and I had the "half rib eye". The other couple had burgers. We arrived about 4:30 and the place was not crowded and we got our drinks on time. We waited about 30 minutes for the food. My steak, baked potato, and mushrooms were luke warm, especially the mushrooms. It appeared that the food had been prepared in a timely manner, but was allowed to sit for a while before being delivered. The steak was very good, other than being only warm.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Laid back atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love going to Skinny J's on the weekends for dinner and drinks. My man Cleon works the door and has taken care of me each and every time I have been up there. He never forgot my, or my wifes name, since our first visit and I truely consider him to be a friend. The drinks are never watered down and the bartenders are hilarious. They have live music on the weekends and I have never heard a bad band play there yet. The food is great . The atmosphere is more mature, as in not a lot of young kids acting a fool. It is ideal for the people who know how to have a good time, enjoy music, and have a more refined taste in the company that they want to keep. This is by far my favorite place to go on the weekends in Jonesboro.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skinny J's also viewed

 

Been to Skinny J's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skinny J's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.