We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is about the value of the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belegez Pension

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gonder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belegez Pension
Save
You added Belegez Pension to your Saves list
| P.O. Box: 881, Gonder, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Gonder B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“This is about the value of the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I am shocked from what other people have said about this place.
The guide books states that these rooms are 3/4 beds. If people want to use it as a double than for the £6.25 you are paying a night what do you expect.
We went for a room each (yes chucking our money away) the rooms are small but again look at the amount you are spending.
The water was always hot.
I would suggest that people look at the rooms first.
Most nights this place is at least 3/4 full. We came back twice to this place. We looked at four places in gondar and this was the best.
I would say if you want cheap that is what you will get if you want luxury, then pay the money.
We were never pushed any tours, mind you we did say that we were going to find our own on the first night.
The location is great right behind the places and near the best two places to eat. what more can you ask for

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Belegez Pension was definitely cheap. We paid 175 birr for a 'double' room. However, the definition 'double room' was stretching it. The room was tiny - we barely had enough room for ourselves and our duffel bags. My friend and I had only booked one room because we thought it really was a double, and found ourselves sharing a tiny bed because the rest of the hotel was booked and it was too late at night to find decent accommodations. We did manage to get hot water for one shower, but had no soap or toilet paper. One of our friends staying in another room had multiple cockroaches. Two pluses are the proximity to the Royal Enclosure (within 2 minutes walking) and the decent restaurant across the street.

In short, if you have time to look for another hotel in Gonder, do so. It may be worth paying slightly more to avoid these discomforts. Another tip - go to the Goha Hotel for free wifi, good food, and an AMAZING view of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Yes - the rooms are disgusting - and SO SMALL!!

The bathrooms inoperable
- toilet leaks, shower has almost no water

Very abrupt & pushy young manager tried to sell us 4WD tours out of town with hugely inflated prices...
Lonely Planet guidebook here is very, very wrong!

We planned to stay 3 nights - but left after just 1.

AVOID!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

To be honest, other people have stayed here and not had a problem. And I have to give them props for allowing us to stay here with 3 dogs- that was really nice of them, as most Ethiopians hate and are afraid of dogs. However, as far as service and cleanliness, I give them a C- grade. Our shower was broken- the hot water had to be turned off by jamming a large bolt into the valve, and the drain was majorly clogged, so our entire room flooded. When we complained, the management acted like it was our fault. I am well aware of the lack of customer service in Ethiopia, but this was absurd. They were just plain rude about it. We had to ask them twice to help us clean up the water, and they "solved" the problem by handing my husband a broom. Not a mop, a broom. He asked for a mop (in Amharic, mind you), and the manager came back with a rag. Then, right then, he asked us to pay for the room. Not cool. The best thing about this place is it's close to the castle compound and the great Four Sisters Restaurant. Also, the price is pretty cheap.

Room Tip: The rooms without a private bathroom are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belegez Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belegez Pension

Address: | P.O. Box: 881, Gonder, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Gonder
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gonder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belegez Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.