We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80$ for this!?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Taye Belay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Taye Belay Hotel to your Saves list
Taye Belay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gonder, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Gonder
Mallorca
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“80$ for this!?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed only one night in a suite room. The toilet was bad maintained and was very noisy at night because its location, which is really good for main attractions in the city. When it rains the water come inside the room and the bed it is no so comfortable. Definitely I won't come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taye B, Manager at Taye Belay Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Vaijeromallorca , please accept my sincerest apologies for the difficulties you encountered during your stay with us. I truly appreciate you taking the time to respond to this review and voice your concerns and issues regarding your stay at our hotel. The comfort of our guests and the cleanliness of our facilities are our top priorities and I was disappointed to hear that we let you down in this regard. Rest assured that I have reviewed your specific comments in detail with the appropriate staff members and departments. We do take all our guests' comments seriously.
On a positive note, we will be undergoing an extensive renovation in the near future. I do hope that you will return after we complete the renovation to give us a chance to redeem ourselves and experience our new product.
Sincerely
Michael Hailu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
30
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night, and I really enjoyed it. It's very close to everywhere in Gondor especially the castle, only 5 mins walking distance. And it's close to several wonderful restaurants. Below are the pro and cons.

Pro:
1. Perfect location. Easy access to every attraction in Gordor. 5 mins walking to the castle.
2. Room and restroom is clean.
3. Wifi in the lobby.
4. It's a relatively high building in Gondor, so that you can see the street view from the windows.
5. Staff are professional.

Con:
1. Expect power outages. But I guess it's quite common in Gondor.
2. Old fashioned rooms.

Overall I was satisfied, and I will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taye B, Manager at Taye Belay Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Greetings from Taye Belay Hotel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay in Taye Hotel. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Our Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that your room with lived up to your expectations.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future. Kindly please know that we will take all necessary action on the power outages though it seems a little common in our town.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Taye Hotel.
Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Michael Hailu
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was an adequate albeit basic hotel in a reasonably modern/new building. The rooms were old and the bathrooms were also old and cracked etc. Internet was only available in the lobby and during our stay we had a powere cut which lasted an hour or so.
The hotel is cheap though at $60 per night for a single.
The breakfast was horrible with a selection of chafing dishes with unrecognizable food in them. One of the dishes looked like baked egg but it was grey and tasted horrible.
It would have been nice just to have simple food like Ethiopian bread and honey, fruit and coffee and perhaps a boiled egg or omelette.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Taye hotel is my home away from home every time I come to Gondar on business. It is definitely my number one choice because of its cleanliness and the professionalism of the employees. As a woman solo traveler, safety is most important to me. I feel very secure at Taye hotel, because access is controlled by diligent security staff at all times. The other great advantage is its location. It is very close to most of the landmarks and the city center.
I would recommend Taye hotel to anyone coming to Gondar.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taye B, Manager at Taye Belay Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Mannybe,
The team at Taye Hotel Gondar are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
I am so pleased to read that you „could not have been more satisfied with the accommodations“– this is such a great feedback and I will make sure this is passed on to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Taye Hotel in the near future!
All the best and take care.
Michael & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Taye Hotel is a busy hotel, and they allow many non-guests to hangout in the lobby to use the wifi - so you are always looking over your shoulder and keeping an eye on your things. The room was adequate, but there was no safe (there was, however, a full dinner plate with a hamburger and fries stashed inside the dresser!). The food was OK, but the dining room tables could have been cleaner.

Beware of the touts that hang out in the lobby. They will arrange transportation or tours, but they are expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taye B, Manager at Taye Belay Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Greetings from Taye Belay Hotel!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we have passed on your comments to the relevant departments.

Thank you again for staying at Taye Belay Hotel and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

Michael Hailu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonder, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 months. The Manager, Michael, is excellent and will help to solve any small problems. All the staff are good and to their best to help clients. The rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard. The meals are fine although it would be helpful to change the menus from time to time. I would never hesitate to return to this hotel. There is free WiFi, except when there are power cuts! A reasonable breakfast is included in the price. The hotel is in the Piazza and it is in a commanding position in the centre of the town. The Royal Enclosure, Debre Selassie Church and the large market are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool, although one is being built. There was no fitness centre. There is no A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taye B, Manager at Taye Belay Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear C Peter,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your four month stay at Taye Hotel. It was a pleasure to read about your comments here on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to perceive, that overall you enjoyed your stay and considered our staff warm and polite and the property in the sense of style modern and clean. Also I am very glad to inform you that we have finished designing a new menu and soon will be implemented to our bar and restaurants.

We really look forward welcoming you back to Gondar and perhaps back to the Taye Hotel!

Kind regards,

Michael Hailu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Based on our research, this seemed to be the best option in Gondar for us. It is just outside of the Royal Enclosure. The staff were friendly. Seemed like our room was closed enough to the lobby that we got wifi in the room on the first day we stayed here. The bed was good, and the sheets were clean. No flea during our stay. But it was difficult to shower since it had very low pressure and very little water came out close to the wall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taye Belay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taye Belay Hotel

Address: Gonder, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Gonder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Gonder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taye Belay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Taye Belay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taye Belay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.