We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It may still be the best option in town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taye Belay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taye Belay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taye Belay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gonder, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Gonder
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It may still be the best option in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Based on our research, this seemed to be the best option in Gondar for us. It is just outside of the Royal Enclosure. The staff were friendly. Seemed like our room was closed enough to the lobby that we got wifi in the room on the first day we stayed here. The bed was good, and the sheets were clean. No flea during our stay. But it was difficult to shower since it had very low pressure and very little water came out close to the wall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
28
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is nothing to rave about but the linen was clean and the people were attentive. It is very basic and can be considered as a good hostel rather than a good hotel. Food is basic, service is basic but it is very close to the places that you want to go and see in Gonder. It is a pity that the street vendors in the area are all out to rip you off - rather go and buy anything you want in Lalibela - much better value for money. Also, give this hotel's dinner a miss and walk the few 100m to have dinner at the Four Sister's Restaurant - definitely worth the bit of effort !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hard to believe this is the best place in town. They say it’s 2 years old. Looks like 20. We had electricity for only a couple of hours in the evening. That’s it! The guy came by at 9PM with candles and matches and said “power off at 10”. The beds were extremely hard and bright light poured in from the hallway lights through a window over the door. No different than having a very bright light on in your room all night. Good luck finding toilet paper in any of the public restrooms. If your physically challenged this is not the hotel for you as it’s up 3 floors just to the lobby. Your room will likely be even higher and NO ELEVATOR. The pleasant porters will take your bags up for you. The food in restaurant is mediocre. The service is slow. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor unless you want to walk lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taye B, General Manager at Taye Belay Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Greeting from Taye Belay Hotel!Thank you for being with us on your recent journey to Gondar, glad to hear that our stuff was friendly and accommodating.
I do offer my personal apology for the incident regarding the electricity which was a problem in the entire city for that night. This and all the recommendation you given us was brought to the attention of the appropriate managers for further review.
Again, thank you for being with us.

Regards,

Michael Hailu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

While the service was appropriate, room #208 was absolutely discusting. Floors were dirty and sticky. There was mildew in the shower and it smelled like the sewer was passing through the hotel. The furniture was stained. The rooms facing the main street are extremely noisy until early in the morning.
This hotel is at best a 2-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our experience of the Taye Hotel was great! We booked through Blue Sky Ethiopia Tours (highly recommended), and so didn't have to deal with check-in and reception as our guide did all of that. But the staff seemed friendly and willing to help. We were given a room on the top floor, with a great balcony overlooking the city and Royal Enclosure to the left. The rooms and bathrooms were neat and clean, and our stay for 2 nights was very comfortable. The hotel is well situated, close to the Royal Enclosure, and we had dinner at a fantastic restaurant down the road called the Four Sisters.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although the public areas are spacious and well appointed, we seemed to get a room well below par. It was at the back of the hotel, at street level, with pedestrians opposite walking straight towards our small window at face level - this made it impossible to leave the curtains open and as it was hot and stuffy we were unable to leave the window ajar for privacy and security reasons. The room was not up the standard of the foyer, we had no views (except for people in transit) and the balcony spoken of by others was at the front, not directly accessible.
We were planning to eat dinner in the restaurant (which looked good) but there was a large and boisterous function taking place so we decided to go out - very fortunate as we went to the brilliant Four Sisters' Restaurant within a short walk.

Room Tip: Avoid room 312 at any price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good location, a pleasant 15-20 minute up the hill to the Gebre Selassie church and 5 minute (max) walk to the castles. Rooms were reasonable, bathrooms clean and the bar was a nice place to sit with a tea or a beer. Breakfast was fine and they organised our transport to/from the airport. Little disorganised at reception but all sorted out with a smile.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taye B, General Manager at Taye Belay Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear, Guest
Thank you very much for the wonderful review.
As you have seen, our Hotel is very centrally located, just have to down the stairs and you are catapulted into the heart of the city, all the main attractions, as well as all the major shops, markets and restaurants are just steps away.
Also during the year the major events, festivals, etc.. take place in the Piazza , and often the balconies of our rooms become privileged places to watch the parades.
Our staff is always happy to help guests and make their stay unforgettable, helping in the choice of restaurant, tour and of course with your luggage, as some of our rooms doesn't have lift.
We hope to host you again in the future

Greetings

Michael Hailu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taye Belay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taye Belay Hotel

Address: Gonder, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Gonder
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Gonder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taye Belay Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Taye Belay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taye Belay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.