We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are by far better places” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Taitu Pension

Queen Taitu Pension
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gonder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen Taitu Pension
Save
You added Queen Taitu Pension to your Saves list
Gonder, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Gonder B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“There are by far better places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

It was one of the cheapest places in Gonder that's why we picked Queen Taitus Pension. We did not expect a lot and actually liked the place for the first night... but besides a not really working toilet (but that is not unusual in the cheaper hotels) there must have been flees in one of the beds... That's why we decided to spend the last night in a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel after it was suggested by the guy organising our Simien trek. The room was tiny, barely bigger than the bed but was clean. We specifically asked for hot water and indeed the water was very hot but unfortunately there was no cold water so we were unable to have a shower in the scalding water. Also, it looked like somebody had made holes in the bottom of the plastic shower cubicle with a red hot poker so the water would drain better. However, there was stagnant water under the plastic so when you stood on it that came back up through the holes. Hotel is in a convenient location one street up from the tourist office and opposite the most expensive hotel in town. We didn't notice any potentially dodgy activities as the previous reviewer mentioned and found the guy on the front desk helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

When booking this place in Gonder I should have guessed by the fact no-one had reviewed it in half a year that something was up. When we arrived we were checked in by a lovely, smiley guy who showed us to the room, proved the water was working then left us to wash up and rest before registering and paying. We then ventured out for the day and returned after dinner to find the room next to us, I'm 99% sure, was being used as a pay by the hour room, if you catch my drift!

The following morning we had to catch a minibus at 6am to Debark so we were up at 4:30am to find the bathroom light did not work, the toilet seat was loose and there was no water, hot or cold. I was fuming so I went marching downstairs to the night receptionist who was one of the rudest men I've encountered and most definitely had no sense of customer service. After a long argument he refunded us 50 Birr and thrust our laundry back to us that he had offered to get washed for us at a cost of 150 Birr.

On our return to Gonder after the Simien Mountains we stayed elsewhere for one night (a great place called Lodge Fasil) who charged us 68 Birr to do our laundry and who had hot water running all day and night long. We realised the guy at Queen Taitu had doubled the laundry price to his benefit.

Finally, I know that people reading this will think what I sometimes think when reading a review such as this, that I'm uptight, I've never had to rough-it and the place is probably fine. I've backpacked for three years around South America, South East Asia and Africa and I've experienced far worse places than this (some of those were also brothels), but for what you'd be paying and seeing as there are nicer places in Gonder, I would strongly suggest not staying here!

Room Tip: My tip would be to pay a little more and stay elsewhere! If you're on a budget there are other b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Pretty good for budget accommodation in Gonder. Room with one double bed is 200 birr, and it's usually fairly clean and quiet. The male receptionists/managers can be a little creepy. But the location is good. The Crown Pension next door is pretty good too, but more expensive.

Room Tip: 2nd floor! We stayed in the 1st floor room right next to the staircase and were awoken at 5 am by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Perfect budget stay. No frills, but a comfy bed and clean bright room. Nice staff and great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Clean, basic rooms -- frankly, what more do you need. what i liked was that the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We enjoyed our time in this hotel, specially because of the receptionist (Alex) who was very nice and helpful. The rooms are ok for the price (100 birr = 6 dolars the night in a single room with shared bathroom outside the room, or 150 with bathroom). I suggest specially the rooms with bathroom because of the water issue: in Gonder water comes and goes randomly. Now you have water, two minutes afterwards you don't. To avoid undesirable surprises and smells in the toilet, you should take a room with it's own toilet so you can avoid this situation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Taitu Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Taitu Pension

Address: Gonder, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Gonder
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gonder
Number of rooms: 19

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Taitu Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.