We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than a truck stop” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelos Flame Grilled Chicken

Barcelos Flame Grilled Chicken
Ngami centre, Maun, Botswana
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 13 Restaurants in Maun
Cuisines: African
Description: A notch above fast food in terms of fare quality, super-clean, very good service, and great free Internet, a gem in this town. Not cheap but very good value for the money.
Restaurant details
Description: A notch above fast food in terms of fare quality, super-clean, very good service, and great free Internet, a gem in this town. Not cheap but very good value for the money.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worse than a truck stop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

How you can do such a bad job at hamburgers and chicken is beyond me. Food was undercooked,service was bad even for botswana . Came back because I forget something and wait staff was taking left over food and packing it up in take way boxes so they could take it home for themselves.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I'd rather have Nando's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Barcelos is closely located to the airport which is great but the food isn't the best I've experienced from a Barcelos franchise. the food took ages to get done and it was dry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A convenient chicken place right in the middle of Maun. Barcelos has reliable wifi and a variety of adapters that take a computer plugs from the UK, Europe and South Africa. The menu is like Nandos but probably a little better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not sure about the food, but it's one of the few places to get wifi. So, order a Grapetastic and enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
“Chicken Bacelos in Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I and my family has been lived in Lagos for almost 10 years and we has test the chicken Bacelos
when they open the branch in GRA , Lagos , It's really the test is very delicious , not too hot but
still Africa style . Now I'm back to my country and they don't have the branch here , I think if I can
open the branch in my country which they can test , I believed they will like it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelos Flame Grilled Chicken also viewed

Maun, North-West District
Maun, North-West District
 
Maun, North-West District
Maun, North-West District
 

Been to Barcelos Flame Grilled Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelos Flame Grilled Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.