We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel with poor customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cresta Marang And Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cresta Marang And Residency to your Saves list
Cresta Marang And Residency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Gaborone Road, Francistown 00000, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Francistown
Lugano
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel with poor customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located but a bit out of town. The complimentary internet offered at check in however does not work. The room guide further says that there is internet in the room but this is not true. The manager said its not yet ready. The dont offer what the promise and thererfore the price is not worth the value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
12
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The en suite rondavels in the garden area are very spacious - basically the rondavel is cut in half so you have two rooms per unit. Very clean although the bathroom is a little on the tight side. The a la carte dinner & drinks are pricey and I found the restaurant staff to be very disinterested. The hotel in general is well maintained and clean.

Room Tip: There are many different types of rooms so be sure to ask about all the options. I prefer the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have just spent 2 nights in the hotel room accommodation, not thatched rooms, and what a relaxing ambience this property has. Very clean room, bigger than expected, aircon worked a treat, good size bathroom and helpful staff. Swimming pool was fabulously sparkling and a swim at the end of a very hot day was definitely needed. Lots of families here but with large park/lawn area and playground, you could hardly hear the children at all. Good value for money. Meals a la carte in restaurant were good, didn't try the buffet. Only drawback, they don't put fridges in rooms as standard, however I did request this upon booking and we had a fridge in the room upon arrival.

Room Tip: if you have children, request thatched rooms by playground and lawn area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

as a regular traveller crossing from zimbabwe, botswana and namibia (and back), i find botswana to be generally very expensive for staying in hotels. so when my journey takes me through francistown i camp at marang hotel. it has a well-maintained grassy and shady campsite with decent ablutions and a couple of water points (unsuitable for drinking water though). camping is 70p per person and electricity is a further 26p extra per night. the entire premises is secure with the added touch of a guard dog and handler patrolling at night.

the pool bar is a great spot for a relaxing drink and to catch up on sporting events. the only down side at the weekend is a nearby rival hotel playing really loud music in the early hours, over and above the legal time. otherwise, i always enjoy camping here, the staff are friendly and helpful and there is a free wireless connection in reception. if you don't have your own laptop/phone, you can use their computer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We have been staying at this hotel many times over the past years while on tour towards the Okavango Delta. This hotel has always been expensive for nothing but with the 2010 rates the Cresta management got greedy. At Pula plus 1,000 (about US$ 170) you'll get a standard room only, no breakfast included. One feels ripped off badly, as there is no value offered for the price charged. The rooms are clean, staff members very friendly, and the food quality and taste seems an ongoing challenge. We will not stay here anymore. Should you, don't attempt to make a phone call from your room - they will charge you for a phone call even if you didn't get an answer from the number called.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I would endorse the earlier review about location and peacefulness, we spent a very good night here.

The food was good. Due to previous review comments on the restaurant we kept to the steaks and they were superb.: undoubtedly the best of several good steaks on out Botswana trip, and among the best I have had anywhere; wonderful flavour from the matured beef, cooked just as ordered, and melt in the mouth tenderness

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

The stilted chalets are wonderful, tucked away and overlooking the river (which was dry when we were there, but still nice!) The restaurant was teh only thing that let us down, the food was poor adn they were clearly experimenting with a new menu, which they didn't appear to have many of the ingredients for. Still it was a very relaxing stay. We are even taking my parents tehre when they come and visit from the UK.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cresta Marang And Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Marang And Residency

Address: Old Gaborone Road, Francistown 00000, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-East District > Francistown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Francistown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Marang And Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Cresta Marang And Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cresta Marang And Residency Hotel Francistown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cresta Marang And Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.