We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, stunning beachside setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paradis D'Ouvea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouvea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paradis D'Ouvea
Save
You added Hotel Paradis D'Ouvea to your Saves list
Ouvea, New Caledonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, stunning beachside setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This definitely Ouvea’s best accommodation, possibly the best in the Loyalty Islands. Yes, it is a bit on the expensive side, however we don’t regret paying a bit extra to stay here. The setting is truly marvelous and our stay here remains one of my best memories of the islands.

The location couldn’t be much better, on a narrow strip of land sandwiched between the spectacular 25km long white sand beach on one side and the tranquil Lekine lagoon on the other side. Really a magical spot for both sunrise and sunset. It is about 20 minutes drive from the airport and about 10-15 minutes from the main town area. To really explore the island, you’ll need a car or scooter, and these can be arranged for you by the hotel staff. The hotel also rents out decent mountain bikes (US$20/day) which will get you around the southern part of the island no problem.

The room was a free standing bungalow, large and airy inside, and very smartly furnished and decorated. The king size bed was really comfortable and we got some very restful sleeping done. The amenities included AC, small fridge, and hot water jug. The bathroom was also nice, very roomy with a sunken bathtub and an awesome hot shower. The place was spotlessly clean and there was a daily cleaning and linen service. The veranda, overlooking the beach, has a couple of very comfy loungers to relax in.

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, assisting us as needed, organizing bike rentals, car rentals, transfers, etc. A continental buffet breakfast was included in the room price and it was fairly basic but very good – lots of fruit and juice, bread, croissants, cereals, etc. The best part of breakfast was eating it in the open air beachfront restaurant as the sun rose.

We don’t really have too many complaints – except the price. At US$180/night, I don’t think it represents the best of value. Also the restaurant was very expensive, as was the minibar. Rather than subjecting ourselves to the inflated hotel prices, we just walked 100m down the road to Snack Fassy where we got tasty chicken, rice, and salad dinners for about US$6 – quite a bargain. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers to Ouvea and would very happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    50
    18
    15
    16
See reviews for
32
85
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poprad, Slovakia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
1,044 helpful votes 1,044 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Hotel is well situated, and rooms are quiet nice,but this is it! Breakfast is just a joke, you receive a piece of bread,1 piece of jam and 3 butters, you get also some fruits, and an awfull coffee....AND THAT IT! the bread is awfull, the lunch is tastless...Also, you have to know that (of course you don' t really need in this kind of beautifull place) there is no tv and no wifi inside the room.At the end, waitresses doesn't smile ot talk to customers,they just doesn't care.Swimming pool was closed for technical reasons...... The thing is, this is the only hotel on this beautifull island....and the mangement know it!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

This is a great place to relax for a couple of days. Great bungalows at the beach, no person and sound to disturb your stay. It is also located on the west to the island, protected from the winds. If you come to relax and spend a quite time then this place will treat you well.
Do not expect the 4 stars treatment in service, food and towels. You pay for the location and this is worth it. The rest is good or nice. It is owned by Japanese but run locally. They mean well and are very friendly and helpful.
If you want the location but can do without the great beach bungalow with all its luxury terrace shower air-contitioner and all the other hotel stuff like Internet ec. - then you should probably go to the tribal accommodations on Ouvea. I have not stayed there but from the look of it the 2 in Mouli at the southern tip are nice. For sure there will be no traffic to disturb you peace and the huts might be nicer than houses, especially cooler.
One thing if you do not like air-contioning - bring your mosquito-net because they do not provide one - here at the hotel that is.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Absolutely great hotel in Ouvea. The beach's sand is as soft as flour and the water has a magical changing-colour. This hotel is the only 'hotel' on the island of Ouvea, and is very expensive. Luckily for us when we went Destination Iles Loyalte had a special promotion on where we only paid 3200XPF each for two nights (as compared to the regular 36000 xpf/night!). We really enjoyed our time there. The restaurant is just okay for me, but if you want to bring your own bottle of champaign or wine it's cool...which was great. Great pool, service, and bar drinks (though also on the pricy side...like everything in New Caledonia). The island tour is a bit of a rip-off, as the "guide" don't even speak to you. He just takes you around to a few places (that he feels like driving to) and drops you there for a few photos...then it's back in the van driving 100kms/hr on a small windy road!

Really not much to do in Ouvea other than swim and lounge, but it probabily the best place on earth to do just that!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noumea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We were happily surprised to discover that the bad comments made last March by one of the members didn't correspond to our impression.In fact it seems the bad review was taken into account by the new team in charge of the hotel who seemed to make sure all the clients would be enchanted with the place : complimentary drink at the arrival, very pleasant , stressless check in, help with the luggage, clean bedroom, , plenty of new towels . The continental breakfast included crispy baguette, fresh fruit, home made jam and Lavazza coffee prepared with distilled water !The meals were served on the beachdeck area in a quiet relaxed atmosphere .We wouldn't recommend the "entrées" which lacked character but "le plat principal" was tasty ,especially the "bec de cane" sauce au gingembre ". Make sure you ask for 'un pichet d'eau" and not for a small bottle of water which is charged the equivalent of 5 US dollars ;
Of course the sand , the sun and the sea would make the trip worth it even in worse conditions but knowing the tarifs of the bedrooms, we advise you to check in Nouméa for a package deal with Agence Nouvelle-Calédonie Tours in Galerie Palm Beach ,Anse Vata.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

I knew this spot from a short trip back in 2002, and decided to spend a couple of days there for our honeymoon.

After having been in all kind of turquoise water resorts, I really think this is something else. Imagine one 50km long blue lagoon with only one hotel, this one, and the beach is all yours.

Get a bungalow right on the beach, the design is so zen style that it is perfect for the lifestyle of the island.

Have one dinner on the beach in the gazebo, and make plenty of pictures!

The service, well, it is when you don't notice it that it is best.

When we left, we were very sorry not to have booked more nights as we were feeling so well.


  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — To be able to stay longer...
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2006

If all you want to do is go for long walks along deserted beaches, do some swimming, snorkelling, sit on your verandah overlooking a perfect azure lagoon, get through all those books you meant to read, and just be together with your partner for some quality time, then Hotel Paradis d'Ouvea must be one of the nicest places on the planet at which to do all that. This hotel is set in an idyllic location, has more than adequate creature comforts, albeit not at 5-star level, and the weather, at least during our 5 days there in early October, was pretty good too. Not too hot, not too cool.
This property is the only "up-market" place to stay in all of the Loyalty Islands, the group of 4 outlying islands north of New Caledonia's Grand Terre. It is therefore a tempting destination: off the beaten track, more or less, but not far from NZ and Australian east coast cities.
The property has 15 cottages/villas. 10 of these are designed for couples only, and are all beachfront. The other 5 are designed to be occupied by two couples, either as two separate rooms, or for groups of 4 who are happy to share their space. By far the cheapest option at this hotel is to select the half-cottage option ("deluxe room", from memory), but only one these cottages (rooms 2019 and 2020) are beachfront. The other 4 are set back behind the smaller cottages. We were lucky to score room 2020, so enjoyed the beachfront location at the 'entry-level' price. We loved it. Even our half-cottage was spacious and nicely appointed, though the furnishings are starting to show the first signs of wear and tear.
Not all is well in paradise however: some words of caution are in order. The main problem concerns food and drink. There is no room service, a rather minimal mini-bar, and getting food and drink outside of set mealtimes or the daily happy hour appears to be impossible. (Although, if you could find someone to ask, I imagine they would oblige.) Bringing in your own food and drink is near-impossible too: there are no shops in easy walking distance. From what we could gather, most people only stay 2-3 days, so I guess most people just put up with it.
The on-site restaurant itself is not bad, does most things well, but is not going to win any awards. We enjoyed the food (sample menus can be found on the hotel website), but the menu is small (e.g. selection of 4 main courses on the dinner menu), so by our 5th night, things were getting somewhat boring. When the hotel is full, which was the case one evening, the restaurant appeared to go into meltdown, and some tables waited 90 minutes for their food.
There is only one other "restaurant" within walking distance: "Snack Fassy", where you can get a quick and tasty rice/chicken/salad meal for less than one quarter of the price of lunch at the hotel.
The guest mix is intriguing: during the week it appears to be almost exclusively Japanese honeymoon couples (the hotel's brochure and website are only available in Japanese ... reading the google translation of the website will provide endless amusement). On the weekend there is an influx of French couples from Noumea as well.
The hotel does not provide a very comprehensive array of activities, either internally or externally. You would have to make your own arrangements if you really want to explore Ouvea, and the Lonely Planet guide to New Caledonia has a lot of useful information. We hired a car one day, and were very taken by the informality of the process: the car was dropped off at the hotel, and we were handed the keys. No need to show any ID, etc.
The only facility at the hotel is a swimming pool, and given its location under the abundant foliage, it was always in need of cleaning. We hardly ever noticed anyone next to the pool, let alone actually swimming in it. (The hotel grounds and gardens are beautifully maintained.)
We enjoyed our stay there, but given the limitations, and the fairly expensive tariff, we wouldn't rush back. But if you like peace and quiet on an idyllic tropical lagoon, and "location, location, location" does it for you, it's definitely worth considering.

  • Liked — Location, ambience, and low number of guests
  • Disliked — Limited F&B service
  • Tips/Secrets — Nothing comes to mind.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paradis D'Ouvea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradis D'Ouvea

Address: Ouvea, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Loyalty Islands > Ouvea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ouvea
Number of rooms: 34

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paradis D'Ouvea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.